We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great tour guide for this.”
Review of Mary Gibbons Tours

Mary Gibbons Tours
Ranked #28 of 300 Tours in County Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 16 August 2018

My wife and I took this tour. Between us, we both enjoyed it.. Our guide was exceptionally knowledgeable and answered everyone's question with expertise.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank cljgerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"newgrange tour"
in 51 reviews
"passage tomb"
in 39 reviews
"boyne valley"
in 49 reviews
"the bus"
in 191 reviews
"winter solstice"
in 18 reviews
"tara hill"
in 16 reviews
"bru na boinne"
in 14 reviews
"ancient sites"
in 15 reviews
"visitor center"
in 27 reviews
"slane castle"
in 9 reviews
"ancient irish history"
in 9 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 32 reviews
"banoffee pie"
in 8 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 48 reviews
"great tour"
in 55 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 20 reviews
Filter

33 - 37 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This tour is a 'must do' if you are short of time and haven't booked ahead to get INTO the passage tomb at Newgrange. Highly efficient booking and quick responses to emails. Bus picks up at different places in Dublin between 9.30am and 10.00am, then the fun begins. Mary Gibbons is a font of knowledge of Irish history and as the bus heads to the Boyne Valley, she gives a wonderful, colourful background to Irish history and pre-history. By the time the bus draws up to Tara Hill (the first site to visit) we all had a good idea of the Irish pre-historic era and how it fits into world history. We had time to walk around the site and appreciate what we were seeing. Then on to the bus, past Newgrange to Newgrange Farm for a soup and sandwich lunch (not included in the tour price). The tour bus then dropped us at Newgrange where a local guide took us into the tomb in smaller groups of 10. It was good to have had Mary's historical overview because the guide was not a specialist, but she was brilliantly enthusiastic. Once we had squeezed through the narrow passage, lined with monolithic stones, we were in the tomb chamber itself. Awestruck by its beautiful construction and pitted decoration on some of the stones. The roof towers up over your head with huge slabs of stone in ever decreasing circles, filled in with smaller ones. It hasn't leaked in over five thousand years! The guide turned out the lights to show us how the sun shines in to the chamber on the winter solstice. Magical moment that has been witnessed by humans over centuries. The idea of the energy of the sun, bringing life back to the earth is common to so many pre Christian beliefs. We had these thoughts in our minds as we stood there. When we squeezed out of the tomb, we took the Newgrange bus to the visitor center where Mary greeted us. We had an hour or so to see the very good interactive exhibitions. Then it was back on the bus to Dublin with more commentary by Mary. She has the gift of humour, wit and knowledge of both pre-historic and contemporary Irish history. What a gem! Thank you Mary.

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Lizzy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This was the best tour we had in Ireland, and we are at the end of our trip so that says a lot! Mary led the tour herself and was remarkably knowledge about the history of Ireland. We felt like we were in a classroom rather than a tourist group. Ample time was given at the Hill of Tara and Newgrange to walk around, as well as the delightful surprise of animals (some babies!) on the open farm at which we ate lunch. We despise the corny jokes and rambunctious energy of some tours, and Mary's tour has NONE of that! It was a calm, informative, well-organized ordeal from end to end. Loved it. Professional in every way.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank AliceJ943
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2018 via mobile

Won a trip to Ireland and as part of the package we were given a tour to Newgrange. TBH I'm not a great lover of organised tours, so was only semi looking forward to the day.

Then we met Mary....

This wonderful woman was amazing. She knew everything about everything, but in a fascinating, unscripted way. Her knowledge of Dublin, the history of Ireland, as well as Newgrange and Tara has to be unsurpassed in the country. Little asides about her life in the West of the country, and quirky reminiscences were just icing on the cake.

A truly amazing and outstanding day. Without doubt the best guided tour I've ever had. By far.....

At the end we did think about kidnapping Mary and taking her home with us just so we could listen to her all day long, but thought that might be going a bit far???

Thank you for a brilliant day!!

Date of experience: August 2018
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 August 2018

Previous positive reviews tell it all. We were privileged to have Dr. Muiris O’Sullivan, professor emeritus from University College Dublin, as our guide. He not only shared general cultural and historical knowledge in an interesting way, but also gave us an "eyewitness account" of the excavation of the Mound of Hostages. I would recommend picnicking at Newgrange Farm, lots of tables in a large yard with a grand horse chestnut in the center.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank kriskh2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Gibbons Tours also viewed

County Meath, Province of Leinster
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Donore, County Meath
 

Been to Mary Gibbons Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing