We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newgrange and Hill of Tara”
Review of Mary Gibbons Tours

Mary Gibbons Tours
Ranked #28 of 300 Tours in County Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Reviewed 10 August 2018

We booked the tour prior to arriving in Dublin, this was fairly straightforward just had to email our details and arrange which pick up point we would be at. On the day the coach arrived in plenty of time and we paid and were soon on our way. Mary was our guide on the coach......well she was amazing and a font of knowledge about all things historical and Irish. She gave a very good potted history of Ireland through the ages. Arriving at both sites Mary gave excellent advice of where to go, what to look out for etc. The coach itself was clean and comfortable. The trip was easily the highlight of our time in Dublin.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank submariner12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (792)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"newgrange tour"
in 51 reviews
"passage tomb"
in 39 reviews
"boyne valley"
in 49 reviews
"the bus"
in 191 reviews
"winter solstice"
in 18 reviews
"tara hill"
in 16 reviews
"bru na boinne"
in 14 reviews
"ancient sites"
in 15 reviews
"visitor center"
in 27 reviews
"slane castle"
in 9 reviews
"ancient irish history"
in 9 reviews
"wealth of knowledge"
in 32 reviews
"banoffee pie"
in 8 reviews
"comfortable bus"
in 14 reviews
"day trip"
in 48 reviews
"great tour"
in 55 reviews
"booked this tour"
in 20 reviews
Filter

38 - 42 of 792 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2018 via mobile

We enjoyed Mary's Newgrange trip a lot. The guide was well informed, told exciting stories and pointed out interesting facts about Ireland's past as well as the history of the places we visited. Newgrange itself is definately worth the visit. Considering that the tomb/temple is over 5,000 years old (older than the Pyramids of Gizeh) and was built as an astronomycal observatory one is simply amazed. A mystical atmosphere was created when the guide switched off all lights and imitated a solstice.
The farm stop was quite long but we used the time to visit the cute animals and kids could enjoy the hide and seek straw area.

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank TravLena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

I was able to reserve a space just the day before at one of the Dublin tour offices with a small deposit and then paid the balance on boarding the bus. There is a choice of pick up and drop off spots around Dublin. Our tour guide was a retired archeology professor who studies the neolithic period and consults on current excavations in the area. He made the tour very informative. Given the logistical complexities of visiting Newgrange, this tour was very well organized. Everything went smoothly. We visited Hill of Tara, Negrange farm (for lunch), and Newgrange (visitor center and burial site). I am usually not a big fan of large bus tours, but this was definitely worth it.

I see in other reviews that some of the Gibbons tours also visited Dowth which mine didn't. Not clear whether there is a choice.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank anyothername
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2018 via mobile

A fabulous Friday was spent with our fantastic guide (whoops, forgot his name!) and groovy driver Francie. Our guide was also accompanied by his young daughter who herself is an inspiring historian.
I never before had such an insightful, knowledgable and entertaining guide. He never stopped talking but also never rambled or became boring. Well done!
And the tour itself is great fun - the hill of Tara and Newgrange plus a lunch stop at a lovely animal farm.

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank taz_bubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 19 July 2018

My wife and I were in Ireland for 10 days and did 6 different tours and while many of them were quite good none of them could hold a candle to what we experienced on this tour. Mary's brother, Félim Gibbons, was our guide for the day and his knowledge was deep and broad on any topic you could imagine the tour covering. Not surprising when you realize he worked at the national museum for four years. His encyclopedic knowledge of neolithic, medieval, and more recent history, religion and culture made this tour the highlight of our trip.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Douglas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Mary Gibbons Tours also viewed

County Meath, Province of Leinster
Drogheda, County Louth
 
Donore, County Meath
 

Been to Mary Gibbons Tours? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing