We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,945)
Filter reviews
3,945 results
Traveller rating
2,936
802
127
52
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,936
802
127
52
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungeweir bargreat hotelcity centrefifth floormodern hotelenglish markettop classhotel barbar foodwould highly recommend this hotelchecking outcar parkbreakfast was excellentenjoyable stayyogurtscones
Filter
Updating list...
580 - 585 of 3,945 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2017

The hotel and the staff were fantastic. I would highly recommend the hotel to anyone looking for a relaxing weekend in Cork. The hotel is located perfectly for an easy walk into town or to jump in the car and explore further afield. The food at breakfast was great and there was a wonderful selection.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mjc148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear mjc148,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at The River Lee.
Yes, indeed the location of the hotel is ideal for the leisure guest, with many of Cork's must-see sights just a short walk away, and an adjacent transport hub for quick and easy access across the city, not to mention the plethora of shops and theatres on hand.
We are delighted you had the opportunity to experience so many of the fine facilities the hotel has to offer.
We very much appreciate your kind recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Weekend visit for the girls to see the city and do a bit of shopping. Great hotel with lovely staff and amazing service. Breakfast was really delicious and if you have to get something for lunch get the steak sandwich. It's to die for. The hotel location is brilliant and a short walk from town. If I was to have a gripe and it's only a little one it's being charged 2.50 for a swimmming hat only to see the men without them in the pool. One rule for all I say. I really look forward to coming back to this hotel as it's luxury at its best.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brilynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear brilynn,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The River Lee, and for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit shopping trip to Cork. I am absolutely delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so thoroughly, and I’d like to thank you very much for your wonderful recommendation. It is very much appreciated.
Thank you again. I would be honored to welcome you back to The River Lee very soon.
Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

It would have been 5 stars but they fell short on a 4 star rating from a couple of daft little things.

First Impressions - Roomy, sleek, well managed

Check in was a breeze, our disabled room for my other friends was adjoining our room and the staff were beyond helpful. Free Parking which was a bonus too

Disabled room's electric curtains didn't work and we had no idea what the huge disabled door button did but it wasn't too much of a hassle as there were 4 of us in 2 adjoining rooms.

My friends requested a bath chair from the maid, she brought bath soaps and when she realised they meant bath chair she snatched them back......... very odd

We had mid afternoon drinks in their little outdoor conservatory which was devine and everything went well. We needed to print out new boarding cards for our flights and the staff at the hotel went out of their way to get them printed for us.

After dinner in Cork, we retired back to the hotel bar and ordered drinks and snacks. Drinks arrived, snacks didn't. I had retired and gone to bed and so my co-travellers requested the bill. The bill included the snacks. They asked for them to be removed from the bill, instead they brought the snacks and then questioned why we didn't want them any more............ we ordered them 45 minutes earlier for heavens sake. They eventually took them back and removed them from the bill. It took another half hour to do so !!!!

Next morning was Easter Sunday, however it could have been any other day. We've stayed in hotels over Easter and retired to our room to find mini eggs on the pillow and even a fluffy Easter Bunny toy on one occasions.....nope The River Lee didn't seem to realise it was Easter. Such a missed opportunity that would have cost them very little and put a smile on their guests faces.

The little snags dropped them a star because it was otherwise an enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jazmincleo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2017

Dear Jazmincleo,

Thank you for choosing The River Lee and for taking the time to review your experience with us.
I am thrilled to read that you had an enjoyable stay and I sincerely appreciate you highlighting areas that we can certainly address immediately.
It was a real pleasure to have you in residence, the team and I very much look forward to hopefully welcoming you back very soon for many more trips to Cork City.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Stayed at River Lee Hotel for two nights recently. Checked in by Philip who was very pleasant, efficient & very informative about local area. Our room was on the 5th floor, spotlessly clean, spacious & comfortable. Fab view over the city especially at night. Ate in Hotel Bar, service very good, food of excellent quality & cooked to perfection. Had breakfast in restaurant both mornings, great choice of food, beautifully displayed & very fresh. All staff very pleasant, checked out by Ciara, a lovely young lady both herself & Philip a great asset to hotel. Would highly recommend River Lee Hotel & look forward to returning again sometime. Location is perfect, about a fifteen minute pleasant walk to city.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Philisity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear Philisity,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review The River Lee, I am absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your time with us.
We would want all our guests to feel totally spoiled from the moment they arrive to the moment we have to say goodbye and I am simply thrilled that you felt truly at ease in our hospitality. I will pass on you very kind words to Philip & Ciara at Front Desk.
We all very much enjoyed reading your succinct review that so beautifully summed up all that is best about The River Lee.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2017

Great location on the west side on the south branch of the river near the U of Cork campus. All the modern conveniences with great views through the large windows throughout. Easy walk to all the night life and restaurants and breweries you could want within 15-20 minutes of anywhere. Well stocked bar and nice variety of local craft brews. All seasons porch / terrace to enhance the feeling of getting away and relaxing. We did not drive or park, nor did we use the onsite fitness center or pool. Wonderful spot for first timers to Ireland as we were.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 352stevenu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ruairi O, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2017

Dear 352stevenu,

Thank you for posting a lovely review of your stay at The River Lee.
Indeed, the location of the hotel is ideal for the leisure traveler, with many of Cork's must-see sights just a short walk away, and an adjacent transport hub for quick and easy access across the city, not to mention the plethora of shops and theatres on hand.

We are delighted you had the opportunity to experience so many of the fine facilities the hotel has to offer, finishing your day in the beautiful setting of our Terrace on the Weir.

We very much appreciate you choosing to stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again very soon.

Kind regards,
Ruairi O'Connor
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews