We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very strong recommendation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The River Lee

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The River Lee
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Putnam Valley, New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very strong recommendation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

We had a seamless stay at the River Lee Hotel in Cork. Most important....the front desk staff was endlessly patient with directions, advice, recommendations, etc. that was sorely needed on our first visit to Ireland...Great, great, great. Our room had a beautiful view and was clean and neat. The daily room cleaning was well done and unintrusive. I would guess it is rated a 4-star hotel. The car port is included in the hotel cost which is a nice touch. Here's a BIG clue if you come to Ireland and rent a car....get the smallest one that you can fit in. The streets and parking spaces are all made for compact cars. If you don't have a car, you can take the 10 minute walk to the main street in town. I didn't use cabs or buses so I cannot speak about those options. Elevators in the hotel were always swift and prompt. The complimentary breakfast was diverse with all sorts of options in a large spread. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1TheSmith1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear 1The Smith1,

Thank you for taking the post to post your review on tripadvisor and indeed for staying with us at the River Lee Hotel. I was delighted to read that you thought so highly of the service food and facilities. I hope we can continue to exceed your expectations for all future stays.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

3,319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,466
    679
    102
    46
    26
See reviews for
748
1,301
100
562
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (636)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilkenny
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

3rd stay at River Lee. For my money the best all round for a weekend in Cork given its location, facilities and truly professional staff who were again, without exception, friendly and efficient. It's getting harder to get a good deal - given the hotel's popularity - but persevere, it will be worth it!

Room Tip: Ask for a front facing room - lovely night time views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kram3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 27 February 2012
Dear Kram3,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on tripadvisor and your continued support of the River Lee Hotel. I was delighted to read your review and have shared all your feedback with my staff and management.

I hope we can continue to welcome you back to the River lee Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford, Ireland
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

hot towels at reception on arrival to freshen up, helpful friendly staff, modern spacious room with safety deposit box that you dont have to pay for :-) flat screen tv, cd palyer, mini bar separate bath & shower (and this was just a standard room) Great location for bars & restaurants, FREE PARKING!!! Gorgeous leaisure centre, gym was so modern and up to date, By far the best breakfast ive had in a hotel, Huge choice of cereals, breads, scones, pastries, fruits, nuts, seeds, juices etc and the full irish to top it all off, complimentary water on check out, honestly go above and beyond most other hotels and really set the bar.

Room Tip: ask for a room overlooking the river (lovely view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank karynyellow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Karynyellow,

Thank you for taking the time to post your positive review on tripadvisor. I was delighted to read your review and have shared all your feedback with my staff and management.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Best Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location with clean comfortable rooms and a pleasant riverside bar.

Some negatives are the car park which is underground and is poorly laid out with narrow spaces. Also the hotel pool seems to be shared with the gym and therefore was quite busy with annual members. Finally the food was good but could be improved with some simple extras. However we did only eat in the bar so presumably the reataurant offers more.

On a positive note the hotel is in a fantastic location, the view from our room was really nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culainn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 23 February 2012
Dear Culainn,

Thank you for taking the time to post your tripadvisor review. Please be assured that we take all feedback on board and I will certainly be following up on the gym management and my Maintenance team in regards to the carpark. I am delighted that overall you enjoyed your time at the River Lee Hotel.

I do hope I can welocme you back soon.

Kind Regards,
Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
51 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

My wife and I paid out first visit to Cork on Saturday night when we stayed at this hotel. We were attracted by the fact that we were lost and this well-lit hotel was easy to see from a distance. It is 5 storeys, reasonably expensive (260 Euros for a room with King sized bed). It is a modern hotel right on the river with impressive views of the town of Cork. However, possibly due to the lack of other places of similar standard in the area it was almost booked out for a conference, there were many other people dining there so the restaurant had no vacancies and we even had to wait about half an hour for a table in the bar. The bar meals were fine, we never got to see the restaurant menu. Breakfast was quite good, full Irish breakfast but once again almost every table was occupied. The room was comfortable and clean and the staff were very pleasant despite being overworked. It is probably is less crowded on weeknights, when residents might even be able to dine in the restaurant. Overall we enjoyed our experience.

Room Tip: You can access all floors by lift (elevator) from the basement. The lifts have glass viewing windows...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank See-Tai-Fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MichelleSpillane, General Manager at The River Lee, responded to this review, 16 February 2012
Dear See-Tai-Fan,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and for your kind comments on the hotel and staff. I would like to assure you that all customer feedback is taken on board and investigated as this can only assist us in improving our service and standards for all our guests and with this in mind I have spoken with all my management time in regards to the difficulties you encountered when trying to book dinner in the hotel to make sure this does not occur again.

I do hope to welcome you back soon to the River Lee Hotel.

Kind Regards,

Ruairi O’Connor
General Manager
The River Lee Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,055 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The River Lee? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The River Lee

Property: The River Lee
Address: Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Cork
#2 Spa Hotel in Cork
#2 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#2 Family Hotel in Cork
#2 Luxury Hotel in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 9,765 - ₹ 17,604
Hotel Class:4 star — The River Lee 4*
Number of rooms: 182
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The River Lee is the perfect vantage point in the historic quarter and from which to savour all that the city has to offer. The hotel is a superb four-star hotel with a range of facilities and amenities that are second to none. From our superb NRG fitness centre and magnificent Vanilla Browns Spa to the culinary delights of our Weir Bistro and the conviviality of our friendly, local bar, you'll find it all at The River Lee. Truly, The River Lee is the ultimate choice for all that is Cork. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your The River Lee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jurys Hotel Cork
Cork Jurys Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing