We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lancaster Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lancaster Lodge
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Cork
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2012 via mobile

Had three nights here over Easter and found the place first class. Location couldn't have been better. The breakfasts were wholesome and filling with plenty of choice. The staff were pleasant and helpful, informative about the area and pubs, restaurants, etc. felt well looked after in clean and more than adequate accommodation. Would recommend anytime and will stay again if in Cork.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnashBolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

710 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    323
    285
    85
    13
    4
See reviews for
101
329
52
89
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

We stayed here for one night to get a taste of the city of Cork. The location was convenient for walking to the center of the city, plus they had plenty of free car parking for guests. The rooms were basic, but updated, clean, and nice. Vending machines in the stairwell.

We did not try their breakfast, but there are plenty of great cafes and pubs just a few blocks away.

TIP: if you would like to use the hotel's free wireless, you need to get a little ticket from reception with a password. If you need to access it with multiple devices, you need a separate ticket for each device.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amyamylynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

We were very pleased with our one night stay in this B&B- In fact it is beter than several small hotels we have stayed in. It is just like a hotel set-up but without the bar & restaurant.
The room was exactly like the pictures on the website. Unfortunately we had a room to the back - overlooking a car park but we weren't there for the view so I didn't mind too much.
Check in was easy & pleasant. Very nice staff, offered map etc - no problem when we asked for more towels.
We booked on Hotel.com with a 10% voucher so got the room for €67.50 without breakfast
Breakfast at €10 for the full menu & €6 for the continetal (inclusive of all the cereals incl porridge ) was well worth it. My better half had the omlette with everything incl salmon & he was very pleased with it, I must confess to being a bit disappointed that my pancakes were a bit rubbry & ntastless but nthey were served with a good portion of bacon.
Generally the guest house is very clean, and well decorated. Large TV lounge with ample couches etc and 2 large flat screen tvs. Large room where the breakfast was served too. Small area with computer & printer. Free wifi in the rooms with code from the front desk - good signal. Good decor and plenty of free parking. Great location - easy walk to all spots.

Room Tip: Front overlooking the river would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank demented
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

We stayed here for one night. It was very clean and basic rooms. Parking was good and its very close to Cork City. I thought it was a bit expensive but everywhere in Cork is.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msibiza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tralee, Ireland
Level Contributor
73 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

Lancaster Lodge is a guest house so facilities are limited to rooms, lounge and dining room for breakfast. It is a perfect spot for a family or anyone who wants to be within a few minutes walk of the Uni and the city centre. Continental breakfasts are €6 and excellent value. The full Irish is €10 which is reasonable. There was no problem arranging a late check out, no charge. The car park is spacious and because the Lodge is within shouting distance of the centre, can be safely lest there.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank spiceloft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,431 reviews
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,049 reviews
Centre
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#11 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,942 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lancaster Lodge? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lancaster Lodge

Property: Lancaster Lodge
Address: 21A Western Road | Lancaster Quay, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Cork
#6 Romantic Hotel in Cork
#8 Luxury Hotel in Cork
#11 Family Hotel in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,547 - ₹ 9,918
Hotel Class:4 star — Lancaster Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Lancaster Lodge, a purpose built 4 Star Guesthouse with 48 hotel style contemporary bedrooms in a superb location with free car parking in Cork city centre. In December 2014 we completed a bedroom refurbishment and offer stylish modern bedrooms with warm colours, fabrics and armchairs, and 32" Flatscreen TV's. Lancaster Lodge offers good value for money, free high speed Wi-Fi, comfortable spacious bedrooms with all the modern conveniences of a Cork city hotel but with a personal touch. From the moment you arrive our friendly staff will make your stay a pleasant one. You will be immediately struck by our unique design and our attention to detail. We are ideally located in Cork city centre overlooking the river Lee, and just a few minutes' walk from The English Market, The Opera House, University College Cork, Fitzgerald's Park and St Finbarre's Cathedral, and with ample free car parking included for our guests from early on the day of your arrival until 6pm on day of departure, you don't have to worry about where to park your car. So whether your stay is for business or leisure, few Cork city hotels can match our ideal location and we will make your stay in Cork a memorable one. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lancaster Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lancaster Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing