We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“A shocking experience!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A shocking experience!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2012

During the evening, of our one night stay, while I was in the bath & my husband was sleeping, a woman unlocked the door of our room & came in without warning, said she was checking & left. The next morning we discovered she was the owner. When confronted about this appalling behaviour she was apologetic but adamant she'd had to do it because her computer was down & it was the only way to find which rooms were vacant for new arrivals!! What about phoning the rooms or checking which keys were missing before committing such an invasion of privacy!? We said this was unacceptable & were not happy. Due to being upset & angry we hardly ate anything of the 'famed' breakfast.When we settled our bill no reduction what so ever was offered to compensate for our shocking experience!

Room Tip: room was ok, it was the uninvited visitor that gave us a nasty shock!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Carol C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,306 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    827
    321
    98
    43
    17
See reviews for
275
478
77
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (207)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Incredibly nice staff!!! We accidentally booked our stay here for the wrong night and they made sure we still had a place to stay. They called other places for us to find a room and after finding everything was booked offered us the pull out couch in their sitting room. One of the staff even mentioned the next day if the sitting room would not work she had been preparing a room in her home for us! Nicest people you will meet! Also very nice accomodations and very clean. The breakfast was also incredible!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Emilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

We were over in Ireland to see Tom Petty and never been to Cork before so we hugely relieved to find such a warm welcome at the Garnish. Lucy (the owner) met us and offered us just the best tea - and not just 'tea' but a fab selection of scones, breads cake and jams.
We stayed in an appartment and the bed was very large and extremely comfortable. We almost by-passed the breakfast considering our diets but succumbed to porridge and a small breakfast. We were offered baileys or whisky on the porridge which was a real novelty.
The breakfast was delicious and all with such genuine service.
We will definitely be recommending this find to our friends and family - thank you Lucy

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nso186273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
85 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2012

Garnish House is truly one of the loveliest places anyone could stay when visiting Cork City. It's very centrally located on the Western Road which is an easy short walk of perhaps 10-15mins to the centre of the city. The house offers a selection of rooms to fit all budgets and each room is beautifully decorated. I think I enjoyed one of the best night's sleep in a very long time such was the quality of the bed itself and the quality of the linen. A jacuzzi bath was also a nice added extra and this was in one of the standard rooms! The room and in fact the whole house were immaculately clean which I would expect at a minimum any place I stay, but sadly this isn't always the case. Marcel and his team offer a sterling service from the moment one arrives, with complimentary tea/coffee, scones and cake. Breakfast is optional and is well worth trying with a variety of 32 freshly prepared dishes to choose from. I must say as a Corkonian myself who pops back and forth to Cork quite frequently I am really looking forward to staying here again.

Room Tip: There are rooms that overlook the park which I believe are just stunning, but unfortunately I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sylvrina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

We arrived at Garnish House in Cork in the late afternoon, pretty hungry from our travels. Johanna was waiting for us with a most wonderful afternoon tea set for us. Scones and small cakes and other yummy treats, and a wonderful tea. It could not have been nicer. We took two rooms for our party of 4, one Suite and one King bed room. Both were great, and the beds were very comfortable, and the hotel was very clean. The property is about a 10 minute walk from most the the action in town. We departed the next day after an equally nice breakfast. I would definitely recommend this guest house!

Room Tip: The suite had a double and single bed and a small sofa. Very roomy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,214 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#7 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
Jurys Inn Cork
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
Clayton Hotel Cork City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 4,233 - ₹ 8,534
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing