We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Garnish House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Garnish House
Ranked #3 of 61 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very accommodating”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Greeted so warmly and was treated to a much welcome table of scones and various pastries and tea after a very long day of travel. Rooms very clean and comfortable. We were a family of 9 and they were very accommodating to make sure we were all able to sit together at breakfast. They gave us our own private room with the most fabulous breakfast. The baked goods were delicious!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BostonJava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    849
    329
    99
    44
    16
See reviews for
287
487
79
85
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

The hospitality here is second to none and the breakfast was better than any evening meal. We were stuffed leaving here. There was so many different types of eggs and hot breakfasts. It was amazing!!! You wouldn't get this breakfast in a 5 star hotel. One of our party was a celiac and the hostess made her gluten free pancakes, porridge and bread. The hostess was just so friendly. I couldn't recommend this place highly enough.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank conanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waymart
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Our family of 5 had a wonderful stay at the Garnish House. Rooms were absolutely spacious. Bathrooms were fine, everything was sparkling clean. The house is set up in wings, so we didn't feel like we had to whisper so as to not disturb other people. We were welcomed with a wonder tea spread in their front room, and had a chance to re-energize before we got on with our day. Enjoyed what can not be overstated as the best brownies and fruitbread ever! Breakfast was also fantastic, although not as fast as some other b&bs. Would gladly come back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kathy E E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
58 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2012

We were welcomed with tea and scones, even if it was after 5 pm, so we thought "What a great place!", but we found that our room was in the annex, 100 meters far; we were at ground floor, in the back of a private house. It was like a mini-apartment, but very small and the sofa-bed in the kitchen was so uncomfortable that it wasn't possible to have a good sleep. The breakfast was one of the best we had, with a lot of different choices, everything of high quality.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank albus09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bowdoin Center, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2012

We got a free upgrade to one of the small apartments, which was super for having a kitchen for my highly allergic husband. The people here are sooooo kind - and understanding when frazzled tourists arrive - they put you in the lounge and bring you tea (and/or coffee) and scones, and the world is suddenly better. The breakfasts - amazing. Porridge with the usual - or with Bailey's or whiskey, followed by omelets or the Full Irish Breakfast, followed by pancakes or waffles... And tea/coffee. When you leave here, you are ready to take on Ireland! On our last day, we got a 4 am wakeup call, they called a taxi, AND they gave me tea and scones before we left. This was the best of a great bunch of B&Bs we stayed in on our trip.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Helen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,314 reviews
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,434 reviews
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,050 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Garnish House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Garnish House

Property: Garnish House
Address: Garnish House Western Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Mardyke
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 61 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,445 - ₹ 9,724
Hotel Class:3 star — Garnish House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy our welcoming tea with home-made scones and cakes upon check-in and our by now famous gourmet breakfast, in Cork City premier guesthouse accommodation...GARNISH HOUSE... AA & RAC rated 4-star luxury guesthouse offering superb B&B accommodation in the heart of Cork. Located on the Western Road, Garnish House's neighbors include the picturesque campus of University College Cork, the tranquil riverside walks of Fitzgerald's Park and the historic Cork Gaol -- with a city's worth of exciting dining, entertaining and shopping options only ten minutes' walk away.The ideal base for exploring Cork City's historic attractions such as the English Market, St. Finbarre's Cathedral and the Shandon area, Garnish also provides easy access to Blarney Castle, fishing and foodie heaven Kinsale and Cobh (pronounced 'cove'), home to the Titanic Experience and famously the last stop of the doomed liner. Guests of Garnish enjoy amenities such as 24-hour reception, ample parking, a wide variety of room types (including self-catering apartments and a 3 to 7-bedroom townhouses), complimentary WiFi & the very best of Irish B&B hospitality, starting with complimentary tea on arrival. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HostelWorld so you can book your Garnish House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Garnish House Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing