We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for”
Review of Sheilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sheilas
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Overall had a good time in this hostel. The private room we stayed in was very basic and the sheets didn't seem clean but they room was cheap. They have a great kitchen, with good cooking facilities and plenty of room for food. The location is good, however a very steep climb, especially for those carrying backpacks. Staff were polite and toilets were clean. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank McSnazzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

156 - 160 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 15 December 2011

Stayed one night and the staff were sooo Irish being friendly and helpful!!! Its location and price are ideal for students/travellors! Plus the Sauna is cool! Only bad thing is the parking!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Swimfan93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a pretty run of the mill hostel. It's within walking distance to the city centre though certainly not in it. The rooms are OK. The staff are very friendly. The bathrooms are a bit ordinary though. The dining and living area is OK too. All in all there's nothing really bad to say about it but nothing fantastic either. It's a good safe option if you are looking for a cheap stay in Cork.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

It's a very big hostel, with a decent size well equipped kitchen. Very close to city centre, lots of pubs in the vicinity and a carpark just in front of the hostel. Bunkbeds in dorms are amazingly sturdy and you don't actually feel when a person on the top/bottom bunk is turning and moving, which is quite rare. These were the advantages.
As we stayed in a non-ensuite dorm the disadvantages we discovered are - 1. the rooms are overcrowded, where there should be 3 bunkbeds they squeese 4, and if one of the guests decides to close the window, there will be no air left in the morning. 2. The biggest disadvantage - the toilets and showers. There isn't a sufficient number of toilets, sinks and showers per floor. For all these huge numbers of guests on a floor we managed to find only two sinks (one in gents washroom, one in ladies' washroom), so people were queueing to wash their teeth in the morning. And we found only four loos per floor, all toilets were getting badly blocked. We found only one toilet downstairs and it wasn't very clean. 3. Breakfast - they charge €3 extra for something what will be a complimentary (read nominal) breakfast in some other hostels in Ireland. Overall impression - we wanted to leave the place as soon as we could.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank henryterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had been travelling around Ireland, staying at B&Bs and thought of a hostel in Cork as I was only going to be there for one night, and coming in late at that. Had read good reviews, but overall, I now remember why I don't stay in hostels anymore. As hostels go, it is fine. I had paid for a 4 bedder rate, but shown into a 6-bedder, which the receptionist said 2 bunks were 'not in service', so there would only be 4 pax that night. The room that I stayed in was on the ground floor. Clean bunks, and ensuite was also clean, but the room was somehow near the kitchen, so could smell fried sausages for most of the time. The reception staff are very friendly though...and I really appreciated the 1 euro luggage storage. The hostel itself is up on a hill, so you have to be prepared for the climb. Its near some pubs as well, so easy to walk back at night.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank jantsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
445 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheilas

Address: 4 Belgrave Place | Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: ₹ 1,149 - ₹ 3,984 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Sheilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing