We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad but not great”
Review of Sheilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sheilas
Ranked #17 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Hobart, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Not bad but not great”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

This is a pretty run of the mill hostel. It's within walking distance to the city centre though certainly not in it. The rooms are OK. The staff are very friendly. The bathrooms are a bit ordinary though. The dining and living area is OK too. All in all there's nothing really bad to say about it but nothing fantastic either. It's a good safe option if you are looking for a cheap stay in Cork.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank spiderfernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

284 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    40
    72
    87
    47
    38
See reviews for
17
57
65
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 August 2011

It's a very big hostel, with a decent size well equipped kitchen. Very close to city centre, lots of pubs in the vicinity and a carpark just in front of the hostel. Bunkbeds in dorms are amazingly sturdy and you don't actually feel when a person on the top/bottom bunk is turning and moving, which is quite rare. These were the advantages.
As we stayed in a non-ensuite dorm the disadvantages we discovered are - 1. the rooms are overcrowded, where there should be 3 bunkbeds they squeese 4, and if one of the guests decides to close the window, there will be no air left in the morning. 2. The biggest disadvantage - the toilets and showers. There isn't a sufficient number of toilets, sinks and showers per floor. For all these huge numbers of guests on a floor we managed to find only two sinks (one in gents washroom, one in ladies' washroom), so people were queueing to wash their teeth in the morning. And we found only four loos per floor, all toilets were getting badly blocked. We found only one toilet downstairs and it wasn't very clean. 3. Breakfast - they charge €3 extra for something what will be a complimentary (read nominal) breakfast in some other hostels in Ireland. Overall impression - we wanted to leave the place as soon as we could.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank henryterrier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had been travelling around Ireland, staying at B&Bs and thought of a hostel in Cork as I was only going to be there for one night, and coming in late at that. Had read good reviews, but overall, I now remember why I don't stay in hostels anymore. As hostels go, it is fine. I had paid for a 4 bedder rate, but shown into a 6-bedder, which the receptionist said 2 bunks were 'not in service', so there would only be 4 pax that night. The room that I stayed in was on the ground floor. Clean bunks, and ensuite was also clean, but the room was somehow near the kitchen, so could smell fried sausages for most of the time. The reception staff are very friendly though...and I really appreciated the 1 euro luggage storage. The hostel itself is up on a hill, so you have to be prepared for the climb. Its near some pubs as well, so easy to walk back at night.

Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank jantsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Shela's. The staff is helpful and welcoming.

The room we had was a bit small, but clean. We vere there during the weekend and was noisy due to guests partitying. We had to use earplug.

The Sheila's is a chort walk from central bus station or train station. However, a bit far from main street.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LucQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I spent two nights at that hostel, occupying a private room though. It was clean, quiet, and not too small. Free WiFi was very helpful, as well as their arrangement with a local pizza takeaway with 1/2 price on all pizzas. The stuff was friendly, and I really have nothing to complain. Well, ok, the shower was a bit too hot and there was no way to adjust the temperature, but maybe I am just used to colder showers in the mornings! Oh, and it's on the side of the city which is close to buses/trains, but for nightlife one has to walk a bit, which might bother some people (was fine by me!).

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shuffle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,544 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#12 of 23 in Cork
901 reviews
Montenotte
Bru Bar and Hostel
Bru Bar and Hostel
#2 of 19 in Cork
270 reviews
Shandon
Kinlay House Hostel
Kinlay House Hostel
#14 of 19 in Cork
340 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheilas

Property: Sheilas
Address: 4 Belgrave Place | Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,189 - ₹ 4,088
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Sheilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing