We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its a hostel”
Review of Sheilas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sheilas
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 1 August 2011

I had been travelling around Ireland, staying at B&Bs and thought of a hostel in Cork as I was only going to be there for one night, and coming in late at that. Had read good reviews, but overall, I now remember why I don't stay in hostels anymore. As hostels go, it is fine. I had paid for a 4 bedder rate, but shown into a 6-bedder, which the receptionist said 2 bunks were 'not in service', so there would only be 4 pax that night. The room that I stayed in was on the ground floor. Clean bunks, and ensuite was also clean, but the room was somehow near the kitchen, so could smell fried sausages for most of the time. The reception staff are very friendly though...and I really appreciated the 1 euro luggage storage. The hostel itself is up on a hill, so you have to be prepared for the climb. Its near some pubs as well, so easy to walk back at night.

Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
Thank jantsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (306)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

160 - 164 of 306 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2011

We stayed 2 nights at Shela's. The staff is helpful and welcoming.

The room we had was a bit small, but clean. We vere there during the weekend and was noisy due to guests partitying. We had to use earplug.

The Sheila's is a chort walk from central bus station or train station. However, a bit far from main street.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LucQuebec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2011

I spent two nights at that hostel, occupying a private room though. It was clean, quiet, and not too small. Free WiFi was very helpful, as well as their arrangement with a local pizza takeaway with 1/2 price on all pizzas. The stuff was friendly, and I really have nothing to complain. Well, ok, the shower was a bit too hot and there was no way to adjust the temperature, but maybe I am just used to colder showers in the mornings! Oh, and it's on the side of the city which is close to buses/trains, but for nightlife one has to walk a bit, which might bother some people (was fine by me!).

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shuffle81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Stayed at Sheilas for a couple of days. very close to the city-centre, nice, friendly and very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nostradamus1302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2011

Sheila's was a very positive experience for me. The location and accommodations were clean and comfortable, and the staff service was great. The host, Paddy, was especially friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: January 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tcalnon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
445 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Shandon
Kinlay House Hostel
Kinlay House Hostel
#12 of 21 in Cork
360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheilas? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheilas

Address: 4 Belgrave Place | Wellington Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: ₹ 1,145 - ₹ 3,970 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 165
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Sheilas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing