We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,078)
Filter reviews
1,078 results
Traveller rating
393
425
170
56
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
393
425
170
56
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews greenes restaurant beautiful waterfall city centre maccurtain street no lift car park train station night porter light sleeper bars and restaurants reception staff hotel is in a great location few minutes walk room was large stayed here for one night blarney castle apartment
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 1,078 reviews
Reviewed 21 June 2018 via mobile

Here on a recent trip with my family.

Pros:
Spacious with plenty of room—living area, kitchenette (big plus), two bedrooms and a bathroom.

They gave complimentary drinks at the bar. I don’t drink alcohol, so they gave us free hot chocolate.

Cons: funky entrance—to get to my hotel room, I had to walk through a restaurant to get to the main lobby. Then I had to go through another restaurant to get to the alley that held the door that led to the rooms in the same vicinity as my room. Once entering that door, I walked through a hall and started up the two flights to my room—no lift.

The set of rooms are a bit rundown and the radiator is noisy while sleeping.

Their resturant, the Green, is very expensive. Eat at the Isaac restaurant next doir (supposedly no relation to Hotel)

I was surprised that they didn’t straighten up our rooms—beds not made, bathroom not tidied. They gave new towels, but didn’t do much else.

This was a lot of money. Don’t think I’d stay again.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank UggaMugga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for posting, I have taken your comments on board and will review how we might better communicate and look after our guests.

You and your party stayed in the hotels apartments which will be upgraded after the current season.

Isaacs Restaurant was once owned by the Hotel however was sold a long time ago, they do a good job.

Our own restaurant Greenes is focused on high-end fine-dining and may not suit every pocket or taste.

Apartment servicing is on a request basis as noted in the guest folder and we happily refresh towels and apartment rooms whenever requested. Hotel rooms are serviced daily.

Regards

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2018

Stayed one night here. Very pleasant experience, cheerful check-in, complimentary glass of Prosecco. beautiful room, fabulous breakfast. The Cask cocktail bar is very atmospheric.
Lovely staff throughout.
only downside is noise if one would like to open the window for fresh air breeze.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maribellisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for posting!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018

We loved this place, but it was being renovated when we stayed and there was no lift. Four flights of stairs with baggage was a mission and the staff were not exactly 'jumping' to our assistance.
Restaurant looked wonderful but was not open for lunch when we wanted to meet with friends on a weekend. Lovely natural waterfall in the hotel grounds and clean facilities. Recommend it for the location and old style comfort. Nice.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank cathydel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for taking time to post!

Our new glass and steel lift is now up and running serving all floors.

Some house-keeping notes in case someone reads your review:

Greenes Restaurant overlooking the waterfall serves Lunch from 12:30 Thursday to Sunday.
Cask Cocktail bar serves lunch at the weekends.
Both serve evening meals all week.
Both website have more information to help with planning and reservations.

Thanks again!

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

We spent twelve nights at the hotel and were able to walk to shops, restaurants, pubs, public transport, and other spots of interest. It was only a few blocks away from the meeting spot for Paddywagon Tours which was a plus for us. Our room overlooked McCurtain Street so it could be a bit noisy, though it did not prevent us from getting a good night’s sleep (and we preferred this view over a room with an interior view). The staff was very friendly, the room was comfortable and clean.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank toandjo2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for posting guys!

We look forward to seeing you again!

Book direct for best rates!

Regards

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018

The location is fantastic. Walk to all the cool parts of Cork. The hotel itself is fine. The rooms are generously sized and spotless. Staff are friendly. The only problem is that the hotel is situated between two restaurants. So many of the room face the alleys which are either used for outdoor dining or service entrances for kitchens. The rooms to not have air conditioning or ventilation. So on nice days, if you choose to sleep with open windows for lovely fresh air, you can expect noise all night long from dining guests talking (or singing), the clatter of tables being cleared, bottles being thrown in recycle bins, tables and chairs being moved, sweeping and cleaning, and finally the 5am morning deliveries.

Nonetheless, I would probably stay here again. It's very convenient. There's a friendly "mom & pop" car rental shop just two doors down and Tara's Tea Shop is AMAZING.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms overlooking the noisy alley. Otherwise, bring ear plugs.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arthur L, General Manager at Hotel Isaacs Cork, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2018

Thanks for your detailed and thoughtful review!

Air-con coming to all rooms later in 2018!

Regards

Arthur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews