We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I won't be come back, for sure!”
Review of Bru Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bru Hostel
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Reviewed 29 November 2011

We stayed in a 6 bed room where only 3 people could stand on their feet at the same time.
No hot water at 7am.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Alexandra N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (279)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 189 of 279 reviews

Reviewed 26 November 2011

A group of me and 5 friends stayed here for St Patty's last year. Its a little bit out of the way from a lot of the night life which was a little bit of a disappointment due to the holiday was the whole reason we were there but aside from that the lobby was nice and open and then walking from there leads you to a reasonably sized kitchen with tables. The lounge room was small for seating and didn't really have the most inviting atmosphere. The six bunk room that we stayed in was very cramped and there was nearly no ventilation. The bathrooms seemed rather dingy and were in dire need of a remodeling. I've stayed in far worse places but I would advise that if there are other options, go with them.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hawkeye1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruhostel, Manager at Bru Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

We are the most central of Cork's hostels to the city centre. We are only a 2 minute walk to St Patrick's St and a 5 to 8 minute through the exciting bustle of the main street to where a majority of the night life is.

With 8 pubs/bars on our street MacCurtain St and the ajoining Coburg St, all within 200m of our front door, the hostel is situated amongst a great hub for live music, especially over the St Patrick's Day and week celebrations. In our bar alone we had live music from the Wed to the Sun with a couple of bands playing on St Patrick's Day.

We have our own public bar with plenty of space to both relax and party in where both hostel guests and locals are more than welcomed.

We paint the entire hostel regularly and the cleanliness of the rooms and bathrooms is a priority of the cleaning staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2011

The rooms are like prison cells and the door to the bathroom hardly has room to open the door!
We thought it was a bonus that they had a washing service, only to realise at our next stop that they had lost and ruined a lot of our clothes.
The kitchen is reasonable, as is the common room, but wouldn't be going back again.

Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
Thank Gvine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruhostel, Manager at Bru Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2011

We do have 4 bed dorms as an alternative with slightly more room for only a couple of euro more. Each room is ensuite and bathrooms are only shared by those in the room so we're sorry this was not satisfactory.

We apologise for any damage caused to clothing you had laundered. We wash and dry all clothes on a moderate temperature to reduce the likelihood of damage. If we were informed at the time we may have been able to assist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

i stayed in a double private bedroom with ensuite, and i love love loved it! very clean, very friendly, PERFECT location, good fun bar downstairs, now i know its not as great as the central european hostels, but it was clean and nice so all in all, jst what u need! the 24hour key card is fantastic too!!!!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy_mCork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruhostel, Manager at Bru Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

We're delighted that you found your stay with us enjoyable. Being so central and only a 2 min walk from the main street makes life easy when you're looking to go into wotn or head home after a long day out.

With NO CURFEW our security access cards allow for 24 hour access which many guests tend to require as seems you may have. Thanks again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2011

when I read the flyer I was impressed: one of the best rated hostels....
but after checking in not so much.... The 6 bed room was so small I had to sleep next to somebody elses feet. I am not picky about hostel bathrooms used by many people but after the housekeeper went thru, our bath was still the same, only used by 6 persons but more hair on the floor than on my head. I have seen cleaner bathrooms in an Istanbul hostel which was used by 30 persons.
'When I complained in the reception he was "not amused".
The Bar with the live music is really cool.That's the plus.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karola S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruhostel, Manager at Bru Hostel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 November 2011

Our cleaning staff have been made aware of the issue you had with hairs and bathrooms not being up to standard. It's helpful to have your feedback which assists us to improve our service so that future guests don't experience similar conditions. Thank you for this.

All of our bar, reception and cleaning staff have good channels of communication so we apologise for not attending to the cleanliness matter immediately and that the assistance you recieved was not satisfactory.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,655 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,735 reviews
Shandon
Commons Inn
Commons Inn
#19 of 23 in Cork
450 reviews
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
949 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bru Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bru Hostel

Address: 57 MacCurtain Street, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork > Montenotte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 21 Speciality Lodging in Cork
Price Range: ₹ 1,594 - ₹ 4,174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At Brú Hostel, we pride ourselves on ensuring that a consistently high standard is maintained. A team of housekeepers ensure that every inch of the hostel is maintained in a pristine condition. The least any hostel can provide is a comfortable bed and clean sheets but in addition, we also provide: * FREE high-speed Internet access/ WiFi * FREE breakfast * FREE bicycle storage * FREE luggage storage * Laundry service for €5! (Cheapest in Ireland) * Card phones * TV / DVD room * 10% discounts at various restaurants * 10% discounts at the major tourist attractions with Bru room key! * Discounted entry into Cork's top nightclubs. We also have a full Bar/Pub. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing