We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B & B”
Review of Kent House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kent House B&B
Ranked #12 of 59 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Spotless rooms, great bathroom/shower, comfy bed, loads of space and great location. no private parking but plenty of free on street parking right outside. I would defo stay here again, got a lovely welcome and good food. I was looking for somewhere cheap to stay, couldn't afford a hotel this is the next best thing. Would recommened it to anyone.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
We hope the birthday went well.

Thanks

Lorraine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

112 - 116 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 6 December 2011

Spent a night there with my mom. It was great. I forgot some clothes there, and the owners went through great effort to mail my belongings back to me. Great location and walking distance to all of Cork. Loved Breakfast. The woman was nice and genuine

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2012

Hi,

Thank you for your kind review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
Glad you enjoyed the music,

Thanks

Lorraine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2011

We arrived to Kent House in early November for a 2 night stay, since they accepted the travel vouchers we had from B&B Ireland. I found a summary of the place in my Rough Guide Ireland book and the description seemed interesting enough to look into. It wrote that this was a Victorian era guesthouse with a warm, receptive couple in charge. This was a spot-on description. We did enjoy staying here because of how great John and Lorraine were. Yes, the house is old. Yes, some steps going up are slightly crooked. But really, how absurdly obsessive does a person have to be to take away from the rating of an establishment that's otherwise flawless? The bathroom was large, the room was large and the location was incredibly convenient! It was 10 minutes to the center of the city with a standard pace , and 5-7 minutes walking to Coburg/McCurtain Street for gems like Corner House pub and Isaacs Restaurant. Parking was plentiful and they provide a disc, and breakfast is delicious.

Every aspect of what makes a good B&B is there. In Cork, there's nowhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yuriy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Kent House is not only ideally located to explore Cork city but the owners, Lorraine and John, open their home and make your stay really special. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and the morning breakfast delicious. Proximity to the town, train and bus station was a wonderful benefit. Looking forward to a return journey. Lorraine and John, thank you so much!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bocaloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate all your comments. Thanks Lorraine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Lorraine&John run a beautiful home away from home in Cork& I have been trying to get onto your site for days to commend them!They're spotless,kind,friendly &helpful& feel like family. Wonderful to be so close to town, train&bus.It's quiet too.We'll always be back!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JDineen, Owner at Kent House B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for your review.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.
We appreciate all your comments.
Thanks
Lorraine & John

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
811 reviews
Montenotte
The Metropole Hotel
Jurys Inn Cork
#9 of 23 in Cork
1,736 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
Ambassador Hotel & Health Club Cork
Hotel Isaacs Cork
#10 of 23 in Cork
949 reviews
Mardyke
Garnish House
Garnish House
#3 of 59 in Cork
1,421 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kent House B&B? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kent House B&B

Address: Kent House 47 Lower Glanmire Road, Cork, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 59 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price Range: ₹ 5,960 - ₹ 7,947 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kent House B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lorraine and John Dineen welcome you to our home, Kent House Bed and Breakfast. Our house is a beautiful end of terrace Victorian Townhouse, built in the 1850's originally as a Merchants Townhouse. It has gone through many changes since then , and is now our home. Kent house is a family run, family friendly Bed and Breakfast. The Bed and Breakfast consists of five comfortable spacious and tastefully decorated guest bedrooms, all en-suite.While staying at Kent House, you are ideally located to tour Cork City, the capital of the south of Ireland, and the surrounding area. We are adjacent to the Railway Station, the Bus Station is 5 to 6 minutes walk and the City Centre is within 10 minutes walk. It's also convenient for the ferry port and the airport. Cork City is renowned for it's top class shopping, excellent pubs, restaurants and theatres.Lonely Planet 2011/12 :Cork City has been named among the top 10 in the best cities to visit in the Lonely Planet guide's 'Best in Travel 2012'. The guide praises the city saying 'Cork is at the top of its game right now: sophisticated, vibrant and diverse, while still retaining its friendliness, relaxed charm and quick-fire wit.'Whether your stay is long or short or you are on business or pleasure, you will certainly enjoy your stay with us. Lorraine and John Dineen ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Booking.com so you can book your Kent House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing