We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal south-west coast base at Cork”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cork
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #6 of 58 Cork B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Ideal south-west coast base at Cork”
Reviewed 21 November 2011

This quaint attic-style B&B is ideally and picturesquely situated on the outskirts of, but conveniently close enough to, the city of Cork, with the attraction of nearby water views, a car ferry to the historic town of Cobh (being the main port for Irish immigration in the century after 1848 and Titanic’s last port of call) and easy road access to the south-west coast or around the city to Blarney Castle and the magnificent Ring of Kerry. John and Helen, our hosts, ensured that guests enjoyed an ample Irish breakfast and John was extremely helpful in guiding us with his excellent knowledge of the area’s tourism highlights and good value places to eat, and generally ensuring that our stay was as relaxing and comfortable as he could make it. Very tall or stout guests may find one of the en-suites a little cramped and would be advised to mention their stature when booking, but highly recommended!

Room Tip: The en-suite in one attic room is not suitable for tall or stout guests, but others will find it qua...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LivingAlwaysLearning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    38
    13
    2
    0
See reviews for
84
141
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This B&B was truly a gem. Loved the gardens, brekafst, the room and the hospitality.
Keep up the good work!
Bob.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nantes, France
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We stayed with John & Helen for a few days in Cork. The house was lovely and our hosts made us feel immediately at home. John is very knowledgeable about local tourist spots and gave us lots of good advice. We visited the fascinating old Norman Barry’s Castle on his advice which for some reason our guide book didn’t reference. The room was lovely and spacious with lots of unique woodwork which my husband loved, being into carpentry. John was also kind enough to show him around his workshop. The kids had a great time running around Helen’s beautiful garden playing hide & seek between the flowerbeds. There were plenty of toys for them to play with which gave us a well needed break after a long plane trip.
The bed was extremely comfy with laundered linen sheets & John cooked us up an Irish breakfast and brewed coffee every morning, which kept us going most days well into the afternoon which was perfect for sight seeing. Cork itself is a very interesting city with lots of old period buildings. We particularly enjoyed the English Market which is in a beautiful old Victorian warehouse full of small traders. The kids also loved the Fota Wildlife park which was a short ferry crossing away on the other side of the harbour. The B&B is not in the city centre but is pretty close by car and we found it handy for touring the countryside as we could mostly bypass the local traffic. All in all we had a fabulous time & hopefully will be back again. We would highly recommend Glencairn to anyone looking for a unique experience in a beautiful setting with fantastic service and charming hosts.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2011

THE GOOD: John and Helen were nice hosts. We got lost, and John guided us by phone until we arrived. They were off for the night, but gave us good recommedations for dinner.
The next day, John was a gracious host for breakfast, and again gave us good advice for the days travels.
THE BAD: We were upstairs, I think Room 2. The room was OK, but the bathroom was very, VERY tiny. Think CRUISE SHIP inside cabin size, and then downsize. To use the toilet, you had to "back in" and sit ( male and female ) due to the ceiling in the bathroom being slanted.
This should have been noted on their web site........a very negative if we were staying more than one night.

Room Tip: double check on the bathroom before you book
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank harveysharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Unfortunately, we were only able to stay in Cork for one night, but lucky for us - it was at the Glencairn Bed & Breakfast. Upon our arrival at this lovely little cottage-style house, we found a note taped to the door for us, with instructions on how to access our room, plus very detailed information on internet usage, restaurants in the area and breakfast in the am.
When we booked, we snagged the last room available, and were warned by John that it was quite small. However, we were only expecting to sleep in the room, so we were not concerned. The room was, indeed, tiny, but we loved it! It barely fit the two twin beds, but the space was so well utilized that it didn't bother us. We did end up leaving our suitcases in the car, but there would have been room under the beds for our bags, if necessary. The beds/linens were incredibly comfortable and the wifi internet access was reliable and fast.
Breakfast in the morning was also lovely. The sunroom is a beautiful setting, with views of the garden, and opera music playing. The hosts, John and Helen, were also really lovely and conversational, introducing all the guests to one another, and suggesting sites and towns to visit in the area.
We ended our stay with a wander in Helen's garden - the perfect ending to our short stay!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ejstar79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cork hotels
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,421 reviews
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Douglas
Maryborough Hotel & Spa
Lancaster Lodge
#8 of 23 in Cork
719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glencairn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glencairn Bed and Breakfast

Property: Glencairn Bed and Breakfast
Address: Underwood | Rochestown, Cork Ireland, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Cork
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 58 B&Bs / Inns in Cork
Price range (per night): ₹ 1,807 - ₹ 2,892
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ours is an intimate family home. We pride ourselves on making our guests feel relaxed and strive to cater for every need and taste. There are beautiful gardens in a wooded setting overlooking Cork Harbor, activities such as; golfing, sailing, horse-riding within 5 miles, a bus into city, parking, a full Irish breakfast. We are ten minutes from City/Airport. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Glencairn b&b
Glencairn Hotel Cork

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing