We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel... but not for families!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Blarney Castle Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Certificate of Excellence
Lexington, Kentucky
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Nice hotel... but not for families!”
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Hotel was nice, people were friendly, food was good. Breakfast was made to order and included in the room rate. Two minutes walk from Blarney Castle so the location couldn't have been more perfect. The pub and restaurant seem to be the most lively in town. The crowd was singing and rowdy all evening. Smokers stood right under our window (out the front door of the pub) and with no a/c we couldn't close them or it would be too hot in the room. There was a lot of smoke and noise from them outside. I was dealing with all this ok until 10:30 when the rock band started. This was not Irish music, but US 80's and 90's rock. It was so loud that the kids commented that everything in our room was shaking. I tried to call the front desk several times to inquire when the music would end but received no answer. The music continued into the early morning hours. Really disappointing. Just wish when I made the reservation with 3 kids they would have informed me about the bar and the potential noise issue.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chellye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
blarneycastlehotel, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2012
Dear Guest. I thank you so much for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor. We find it an excellent way go getting feedback from customers. I must apologise if you did not enjoy your stay. On the particular night in question there was a final of a local soccer tourament which has been running in the village for 45 years. This year is the first year that the Blarney Castle Hotel's team won and all the locals came down to enjoy the celebrations. The music was playing till about 12.15am which I must apologise for. Thank you once again for your response. Una Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

354 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    88
    18
    4
    10
See reviews for
96
123
15
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
yorkshire
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

This hotel is a perfect spot for exploring Blarney. Just across the road is the Castle , overlooking a lovely villlage green. Just at the back of the hotel is the woolen mill and Shops. The welcome you get at the hotel is fabulous, The food is delicious and also some good irish entertainment. Would certainly return.

Room Tip: We had a very large room looking over the village green.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jacobjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hayes, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2012

I and my brother have stayed at this hotel many times, as we come to Cork frequently to visit relations. Every time we stay, we always have an excellent time. We stayed for three days from the 6th July 2012 to 12th July 2012. As usual both our rooms were very large, spotlessly clean with comfy beds, an excellent bathroom with power shower, lots of fluffy white bath towels and plenty of assorted toiletries. Both rooms also had full teamaking facilities, an iron and ironing board, bottled water, a safe, T.V. and radio. The breakfasts are out of this world, with a great choice from a very large cooked full breakfast to various types of cereals, fruit and cheeses. All the staff are extremely helpful and friendly, nothing is too much trouble for them. Ian and Una the owners are always very pleased to see us, make us feel very welcome and ensure we enjoy our stay. The food in the restaurant is excellent and reasonably priced and there is often live music both in the front bar and the Residents Lounge.The Hotel overlooks the Village Green of Blarney which has plenty of shops, pubs and restaurants and is a five minute walk from Blarney Castle. There are also regular buses from Blarney to Cork City which is about a thirty minute drive away.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent, but if you don't want to listen to the Traditional Irish music which ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MJC1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Public Relations Manager at Blarney Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. We pride ourselves in offering good customer service to all our guests and delighted to see guests return . Our staff here are excellent and are always only too delighted to help out guests in any way possible in order to enhance their stay. Thank you once again.

Regards Una Forrest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

I arrived with my 3 children last week, and was very surprised at the hotel. The hotel is steps away from blarney castle, and has an excellent location. It is also right behind the blarney woolen mills. We were met and taken up to our room by a very nice receptionist. The room was quite large, and had a typical cottage type feeling. The furniture and decorations are a few years old, but nicer then most of the places we stayed at outside the cities. The room was clean, and we had plenty of room for our family of 5. I loved the pub downstairs, and we had an excellent time sitting around and enjoying time with the locals. There was live music, so if you are not interested in irish music then ask for the room that is not over the pub. We had the room over the pub, and enjoyed listening to the music while we were going to bed. The food was incredible, and I could not believe the quality. It was as good as some of the finer restaurants we dined at in Dublin. I cannot wait to come back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimandthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibsonia, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed 5 nights of a 12 day trip to Ireland. This charming hotel was by far the best one of our trip!
The hospitality shown by all the staff was superior. All the staff truly made you feel welcomed .
We ate all of our meals there. The food was absolutely delicious, from the full breakfast and the dinner menus. The pub was very nice and the entertainment was quite a bonus! If we get a chance to go to Ireland again we would defintely stay again and we highly recommend this hotel!!
We loved Ireland and thank you for adding to making our trip such a pleasure.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pegrob_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Blarney
Centre
The River Lee
The River Lee
#2 of 23 in Cork
3,464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Montenotte
The Montenotte Hotel
Sunday's Well
The Kingsley
The Kingsley
#5 of 23 in Cork
1,136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blarney Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blarney Castle Hotel

Property: Blarney Castle Hotel
Address: Blarney Castle Hotel The Square, Blarney, Ireland
Phone Number:
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Cork > Blarney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Blarney
Price range (per night): ₹ 8,637 - ₹ 11,216
Hotel Class:3 star — Blarney Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blarney Castle Hotel was established in 1837 and is still run by the Forrest Family. Blarney Castle Hotel is ideally located on the village square of the picturesque village. We offer excellent guest accommodation. Our restaurant The Lemon Tree Restaurant is opened daily from 7.30 Am till 9.30Pm daily, 7 days a week. Breakfast is served to guests and is also opened to the public. We offer a superior breakfast in the area all of which is cooked to order with a simply delicious choice. All of our produce is sourced locally and we pride ourselves in offering good value for money on our excellent quality of food. Lunch is served daily both in the Main Bar and The Lemon Tree Restaurant from 12 noon onwards till 9.30Pm daily. Our main bar is known locally as "Johnny's" is an unspoilt bar in the village and offers an excellent selection of beers, wines and ales. We have Traditional Music playing every Tuesday from 9.30Pm. On Wednesday(Summer Months only) at 8pm we also have Set Dancing together with Margaret Mccarthy and Music to entertain our guests and locals alike. We also have music on Saturday and Sunday. We also have a function room called the "Killowen Room" which can cater for parties and family occasions with a maximum of 120 guests. Free wifi accessibility throughout the hotel. Blarney Castle Hotel continues to be the focal point in Blarney for the locals and also with guests passing through to visit the Blarney Castle or to visit the Blarney Woollen Mills . ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Blarney Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing