We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A darling town and a beautiful hotel/event venue”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Reviewed 23 April 2012

Ennis is a wonderful place to visit and stay. The Temple Gate Hotel fits in perfectly as it is large and professional and clean and all that you expect in a nice hotel/venue, yet it doesn't feel like a big hotel in this quaint, darling town. Its just a short walk from the restaurants, boutiques and pubs. The rooms were updated and well cared for, the lobby and event space was comfortable, parking was free, the staff was very accomodating and the food was SPECTACULAR! The only slightly negative thing about our 3 night stay at the Temple Gate was that the wifi (which was FREE, what a great bonus!) was a little spotty/slow. We were part of a group of about 50 who were there for a wedding.... the reception was in the old sanctuary banquet space. What a LOVELY venue and the food and staff was truly remarkable.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ktotrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your stay with us. Guest feedback is valued testament to the awards bestowed on the hotel. We were delighted to host your wedding party. The Great Hall with its stained glass windows and vaulted ceilings is a unique Wedding venue. The hotel team graciously receive your complimentary feedback. We look forward to welcoming you on return visits to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (857)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

632 - 636 of 857 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2012

I stayed here with a large group of friends for a birthday weekend and we enjoyed this hotel. The evening meal was delicious and enjoyed by all. Rooms excellent and hotel is right in the town centre. The staff were outstanding - so friendly and helpful. I would return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sherman21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2012

Thank you for posting your feedback following your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with the team at the hotel of which they are very appreciative. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you on a return visit in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This hotel is right in the centre of Ennis with free parking, free Wifi and easy access to the town. The service was friendly and the hotel was very cozy. Our room was pretty standard but was very clean and comfortable. We had dinner in Preacher's Pub which is the hotel bar which is absolutely lovely. This was one of my favorite hotels we stayed in during our trip to Ireland in 2012. I highly recommend it (and dinner in Preacher's).

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WhitRPh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2012

Thank you for sharing your experience at Temple Gate Hotel with the Trip Advisor community. It will inform future guests what to expect when they stay at the hotel. Your feedback on accommodation, food and service are graciously welcomed by the hotel team. We are delighted for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate hotel on your next visit to Clare
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed at the Temple Gate while traveling with a tour group. Hotel was clean and staff friendly. Nice location right in the center of town Could easily walk anywhere you wanted to go. The pub located within the hotel was nice and offered good food at a reasonable price. Hotel was within walking distance to many pubs so drinking and driving was not an issue. Check in was a breeze and staff delivered our luggage within minutes of our arrival.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PENNY G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community following your recent stay at Temple Gate Hotel. The hotel proximity to the centre of Ennis town and the award winning Preachers Pub are popular reasons for choosing the hotel when visiting the town. Our complimentary guest car parking is also a popular offering. We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to hotel in the future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2012

Stayed here two nights in March. We were touring with a group. Check in was as easy as could be. They had all our room keys ready and waiting for us. The staff were curtious and friendly. Hotel is a little dated but it didn't bother us. We had two rooms that were both clean. The location was nice as we could go explore the town with out a car. The breakfast was included in our tour. There were enough food choices to fill everybody for the morning. We loved the decor in the preachers pub and got a great meal there. I would highly recommend this hotel to a friend.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jojo5ooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2012

Thank you for taking time to share your positive feedback following your recent stay. I have shared your comments with the rest of the team in the hotel which they graciously welcome.We are located just off the centre of Ennis town so it is an ideal base when visiting the town. Our complimentary guest car parking is very popular with our guests. We are in the process of completing a refurbishment of the hotel which will be competed very soon. We look forward to welcoming you on a return visit to Temple Gate Hotel in the near future and are appreciate of your recommendation of the hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.2 km away
Old Ground Hotel
Old Ground Hotel
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,650 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
502 reviews
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
7.5 km away
The Inn at Dromoland
The Inn at Dromoland
#2 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price Range: ₹ 5,736 - ₹ 27,776 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing