We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Temple Gate Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 133
US$ 92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 110/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 316
US$ 115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 103
US$ 92
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$ 185
US$ 163
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 211/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 118
US$ 106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 143/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$ 174
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$ 104/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Clare Manor Bed and Breakfast(Ennis)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 42
Booking.com
View Deal
Fealys(Ennis)
US$ 93
Booking.com
View Deal
Reviews (902)
Filter reviews
902 results
Traveller rating
428
283
109
57
25
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
428
283
109
57
25
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslegends restaurantpreachers pubformer conventexecutive floorcentral locationcentre of townlovely hotelwould highly recommend this hotelhotel restaurantshannon airporttop classcounty clarereception areamain coursesaturday nightbar foodchapel
Filter
Updating list...
680 - 685 of 902 reviews
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I were wondering where to go for Valentine's when we spotted an amazing deal for this hotel - 4 nights for €150 BETWEEN us (no breakfast though). After a little more investigation into the location etc we decided to go for it and weren't disappointed.
Ennis town is a little puzzling when driving through it in search of the hotel but with the help of our sat nav we found our way around and into the hotel's free car park out front.
The exterior of the hotel could do with a lick of paint and the interior could certainly do with being brought into the 21st century. The reception was surprisingly more modern with a lovely cosy lounge room with fire and web access near the lifts. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room was spacious enough and warm with a double bed and a single one. We had all mod cons (but no mini bar). The room was cleaned and towels replaced every day. The only thing we didn't like about the bathroom was that the shower rail was rusty and the curtain had seen better days.
In the mornings, the town church bells toll. It's audible but not loud enough to upset anyone.
The hotel have a nice rustic bar and the food is quite reasonable although not memorable.

Location wise, you couldn't ask for better. You literally walk out of the side entrance, through a laneway and step into the town. i must mention that in that laneway there is a lovely little cafe that do really nice breakfasts and lunches and that's coming from a fussy eater! I think the cafe is called Mocha. The staff are very welcoming.

The town has a few bars - two of which are definately worth a drink in. Knox's is for people in their 20's upwards and serves food, shows live sporting events, has cocktail promotions and modern decor. YOLO is another little modern bar nearby worth a visit.
I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SWEETCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis and our complimentary car park is much appreciated by
our guests. We look forward to welcoming you on many return visits to Temple Gate Hotel.

Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel. It is ideally situated in the town of Ennis. It's in a quiet location but only a few steps from the town. The room was very comfortable. It does not have air conditioning, but that is rarely necessary in Ireland, and the windows open. The bar and the restaurant offer plenty of good eating options.

If you need wifi in your room make sure that you book a room with that facility. It's free, but only on some floors until the planned refurbishment has completed. It's available in public areas.

The staff were excellent - pleasant and helpful.

The car park was easy to find. It's in front of the hotel and was free!

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regular_Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2012

Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us with the Trip Advisor community. Your comments have been graciously received by the team at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2012

On a recent trip to visit family in Co. Clare Ireland I stayed a couple of nights in The Templegate Hotel. After having been impressed on previous visits to both the restaurant and the Hotel Pub I decided a stay for a couple of nights was in order.

I was not disappointed; managed by owner John Madden and his son Paul, this hotel concentrates on service with a smile. From Mr. Madden Snr. down to the housemaids and kitchen porters you are met by smiles and the most helpful of staff - so very welcoming and all you would hope for in Ireland.

The rooms are more than basic and are comfortable – good value at the price. The food in both the Cordon Bleu Restaurant and the Pub is excellent value for money and again served with a smile and a friendly word.

The Templegate faces onto a little court yard from which an alleyway leads straight into the town centre, the shops and pubs. There are no massive international chain stores here just very friendly local establishments offering the very best that is Irish. A pub with restaurant to look out for is “Brogans” a two minute walk from the front door of the Hotel.

Visit the Templegate and enjoy Ireland as you would hope it would be.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AuPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will inform future guests what to expect when visiting the hotel. The Madden family and the team here graciously welcome your comments which are a further endorsement of the awards for food and service bestowed on the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ennis and looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Many modern hotels lack character, and are placed far from the historic center of town. This is an unusual exception. Although there is a new modern shopping mall next to the hotel, just on the other side of the hotel is the courtyard leading to the historic center. The location was perfect, as there are restaurants, shops, and sites just steps away. The staff at the hotel were friendly and pointed us in the right direction.
Would definitely choose this hotel again if I go back to Ennis (and I hope I do!)

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel has a fascinating and eventful history and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the premises. Temple Gate is a family owned and managed hotel which sadly is becoming a rarity within the hotel industry and we believe this adds character and warmth to the hotel. We like to believe we provide our guests a "home from home". Your feedback has been graciously received by both the owners and staff and we look forward in welcoming on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Small rooms, they looked much larger on-line. The have a great pub and the food is also good.
Great location to see Ennis. Hotel & Parking lot hard to find.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TravSFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis town and touring County Clare. The car park although located just outside the hotel front door may sometimes be difficult to find. Regretfully we are limited by the town council on the number of directional signs to the hotel. A good directional reference for Temple Gate is that the hotel lies opposite the Tourist office. I have shared your comments with the hotel team and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the near future.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews