We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we save up to treat ourselves to dinner here”
Review of Temple Gate Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Temple Gate Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“we save up to treat ourselves to dinner here”
Reviewed 1 April 2012

dinner is astounding, staff are friendly , ambience is excellent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deebee125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 16 April 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. Our Chef and his team are delighted to receive guest feedback which is further endorsement to the many Food & Service Awards bestowed on both Legends Restaurant and Preachers Pub. We serve an Early Bird menu until 9.30pm each evening so hopefully you will get an opportunity in the near future to join us once again in Temple Gate Hotel. We look forward to welcoming you soon!
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

797 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    381
    251
    87
    54
    24
See reviews for
175
308
39
64
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
DUBLIN
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 February 2012

My husband and I were wondering where to go for Valentine's when we spotted an amazing deal for this hotel - 4 nights for €150 BETWEEN us (no breakfast though). After a little more investigation into the location etc we decided to go for it and weren't disappointed.
Ennis town is a little puzzling when driving through it in search of the hotel but with the help of our sat nav we found our way around and into the hotel's free car park out front.
The exterior of the hotel could do with a lick of paint and the interior could certainly do with being brought into the 21st century. The reception was surprisingly more modern with a lovely cosy lounge room with fire and web access near the lifts. The staff were friendly and very helpful.
The room was spacious enough and warm with a double bed and a single one. We had all mod cons (but no mini bar). The room was cleaned and towels replaced every day. The only thing we didn't like about the bathroom was that the shower rail was rusty and the curtain had seen better days.
In the mornings, the town church bells toll. It's audible but not loud enough to upset anyone.
The hotel have a nice rustic bar and the food is quite reasonable although not memorable.

Location wise, you couldn't ask for better. You literally walk out of the side entrance, through a laneway and step into the town. i must mention that in that laneway there is a lovely little cafe that do really nice breakfasts and lunches and that's coming from a fussy eater! I think the cafe is called Mocha. The staff are very welcoming.

The town has a few bars - two of which are definately worth a drink in. Knox's is for people in their 20's upwards and serves food, shows live sporting events, has cocktail promotions and modern decor. YOLO is another little modern bar nearby worth a visit.
I would definately stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SWEETCAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel is an ideal base when visiting Ennis and our complimentary car park is much appreciated by
our guests. We look forward to welcoming you on many return visits to Temple Gate Hotel.

Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2012

We had a very pleasant stay in the hotel. It is ideally situated in the town of Ennis. It's in a quiet location but only a few steps from the town. The room was very comfortable. It does not have air conditioning, but that is rarely necessary in Ireland, and the windows open. The bar and the restaurant offer plenty of good eating options.

If you need wifi in your room make sure that you book a room with that facility. It's free, but only on some floors until the planned refurbishment has completed. It's available in public areas.

The staff were excellent - pleasant and helpful.

The car park was easy to find. It's in front of the hotel and was free!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Regular_Reader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 19 January 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us with the Trip Advisor community. Your comments have been graciously received by the team at the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea, Essex, England
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

On a recent trip to visit family in Co. Clare Ireland I stayed a couple of nights in The Templegate Hotel. After having been impressed on previous visits to both the restaurant and the Hotel Pub I decided a stay for a couple of nights was in order.

I was not disappointed; managed by owner John Madden and his son Paul, this hotel concentrates on service with a smile. From Mr. Madden Snr. down to the housemaids and kitchen porters you are met by smiles and the most helpful of staff - so very welcoming and all you would hope for in Ireland.

The rooms are more than basic and are comfortable – good value at the price. The food in both the Cordon Bleu Restaurant and the Pub is excellent value for money and again served with a smile and a friendly word.

The Templegate faces onto a little court yard from which an alleyway leads straight into the town centre, the shops and pubs. There are no massive international chain stores here just very friendly local establishments offering the very best that is Irish. A pub with restaurant to look out for is “Brogans” a two minute walk from the front door of the Hotel.

Visit the Templegate and enjoy Ireland as you would hope it would be.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AuPaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. Your feedback will inform future guests what to expect when visiting the hotel. The Madden family and the team here graciously welcome your comments which are a further endorsement of the awards for food and service bestowed on the hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed your visit to Ennis and looking forward to welcoming you on your next stay with us at Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Many modern hotels lack character, and are placed far from the historic center of town. This is an unusual exception. Although there is a new modern shopping mall next to the hotel, just on the other side of the hotel is the courtyard leading to the historic center. The location was perfect, as there are restaurants, shops, and sites just steps away. The staff at the hotel were friendly and pointed us in the right direction.
Would definitely choose this hotel again if I go back to Ennis (and I hope I do!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SiobhanHassett, Manager at Temple Gate Hotel, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. The hotel has a fascinating and eventful history and the gothic style has been preserved throughout the premises. Temple Gate is a family owned and managed hotel which sadly is becoming a rarity within the hotel industry and we believe this adds character and warmth to the hotel. We like to believe we provide our guests a "home from home". Your feedback has been graciously received by both the owners and staff and we look forward in welcoming on your next visit to Temple Gate Hotel.
Kind regards
Siobhán Hassett
Sales & Marketing Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
0.2 km away
The Old Ground
The Old Ground
#1 of 9 in Ennis
1,536 reviews
3.1 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
404 reviews
2.4 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
1.4 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
8.4 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Temple Gate Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Temple Gate Hotel

Property: Temple Gate Hotel
Address: The Square, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price range (per night): ₹ 7,374 - ₹ 22,123
Hotel Class:4 star — Temple Gate Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 Star Temple Gate Hotel welcomes you to a charming, family owned and managed Hotel in the heart of Ennis Town, Co. Clare. Offering the perfect location to explore the Wild Atlantic Way and the rugged West Coast of Ireland including The Cliffs of Moher. Temple Gate Hotel, Ennis offers a unique blend of warm hospitality and friendly service. Discreetly situated just off Ennis Town centre, a short walk through the warm glow of the Victorian lamps in the cobblestoned courtyard leads our guests to the heart of the historical and vibrant town of Ennis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Temple Gate Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Temple Gate Ennis
Hotel Temple Gate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing