We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not Long Enough”
Review of The Old Ground

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Old Ground
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Certificate of Excellence
Co Louth
Level Contributor
94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Not Long Enough”
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We checked into this hotel for one night only. Unfortunately it was not long enough. We were given two single beds and when asked for double it was changed without any hassle. We ate in the bar and the food was fab. I had fillet steak and my partner had chicken kiev, both were delicious. Nicest steak I had in quite some time and even though the bar was busy with food the service was excellent. The hotel has a very friendly atmosphere. We later walked around Ennis which is a lovely town. Slept very well our only regret was we didn't have long enough as we had to travel home the following day. Hotel lobby is very comfortable with lots of armchairs and sofas. Looking forward to a return visit.

Room Tip: We saw two rooms and both were lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FiFi64CoLouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

1,536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    920
    444
    98
    49
    25
See reviews for
303
657
61
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

We had a family reunion in this hotel on 31st Aug/1st Sept.We travelled from all over the world and arrived late in Shannon. Our parents are both over 80 plus and came too. Absolutely every request we had was attended to by the staff. The staff were so friendly and welcoming.It was like we were so special.We arranged a dinner for saturday night. It was excellent food and so relaxing. The next morning the breakfast table was set again for all 14 of us without even asking! This was the icing on the cake! Normally family get togethers are a bit stressful. Not this one.
Thanks to everbody in the hotel, especially Mary in Reservations

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YoungAtHeart460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Really pretty little neighborhood surrounding this old-style comfy home away from home. Narrow streets with brightly painted shops, old churches, and flowers everywhere! Hotel lobby has numerous couches to relax on. Chairs and tables outside too. Quiet bar and great restaurant on the ground floor. Architecture is an old ivy-covered central building with multiple new wings and extensions added over time, makes it a bit of a puzzle to find your room, like a little doll's house with the up and down staircases. They have lifts too but you have to find them first. The rooms themselves are great, and the Wi-Fi works fine.

Room Tip: tell them you can't walk far and need to be very close to the lift in the lobby
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eric_NYC_2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
271 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012

Old world hotel with new world creature comforts. Excellent be, great shower. Centrally located in Ennis allowing easy walking throughout the town Great pub with live Irish music. breakfast excellent. Easy transit to Shannon Airport which is about 20 minutes by car. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Doubleeagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

This hotel is for those who love an older building with all of its unique character, yet with every modern amenity. Our room (booked through Trip Advisor) was the find of the century. We did not want to leave. Incredibly spacious with windows facing front to O'Connell street, and back to hotel park grounds. The main market area of town with all the pubs and stores is right out the front door. We loved the place and plan to make Ennis our center of travel on our next trip to Ireland.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ennis
3.0 km away
Hotel Woodstock
Hotel Woodstock
#2 of 9 in Ennis
403 reviews
0.2 km away
Temple Gate Hotel
Temple Gate Hotel
#3 of 9 in Ennis
797 reviews
8.4 km away
Dromoland Castle Hotel
Dromoland Castle Hotel
#1 of 2 in Newmarket-on-Fergus
3,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 km away
Treacys West County Conference & Leisure Hotel
0.6 km away
Ashford Court Boutique Hotel
2.6 km away
Auburn Lodge Hotel & Leisure Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Ground? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Ground

Property: The Old Ground
Address: Old Ground Hotel O'Connell Street, Ennis, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Munster > County Clare > Ennis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Ennis
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,700 - ₹ 14,792
Hotel Class:4 star — The Old Ground 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4* Old Ground Hotel is located in the centre of Ennis town, just 20 minutes from Shannon International Airport. With 83 newly refurbished deluxe rooms, a restaurant with superb cuisine, it is within easy reach of The Wild Atlantic Way, The Cliffs of Moher and magnificent and challenging links golf courses. The Old Ground Hotel is an elegant and stylish retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Old Ground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Ground Hotel Ennis
Old Ground Ennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing