We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (262)
Filter reviews
262 results
Traveller rating
95
85
37
25
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
95
85
37
25
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviews west port gammon steak set menu a late lunch breakfast was excellent pudding one night stay a wee bit comfortable room full scottish breakfast andy specials chips ales butter ensuite loch
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 262 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2018

After a walk round Linlithgow Loch, myself and a friend decided to pop in for a spot of lunch and really glad we did. We both had tomato soup to satert for which was heart and tasty - served with homemade bread & butter. Again we both both selected from the £6.00 main dish specials and again both of us were left very satisfied. I opted for the homemade burger for which was fresh and succulent, my friend opted for the scampi for which he really enjoyed, both were served with chips. The young lady who served us did this with a smile and couldn't have been more pleasant. If i happen to be in Linlithgow again in the near future, i know where I will be going to eat.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Graeme B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, General Manager at Westport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Graeme,

Thank you for such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Visited the West Port on Saturday night for a meal. Hadn't booked but there were plenty of tables free and were quickly seated. Very efficient and friendly welcome.

Good varied choice on menu. I went for calamari and my wife had mushroom bruschetta. For mains, I had haddock, wife had beef pie. Very generous portions and well presented. Mushy peas portion was a little bit measly. My wife then had sticky toffee pudding which she said was excellent.

All in all a good dining experience, but (and West Port are not alone in this regard) but I wish restauranteurs would stop treating non drinkers as a cash cow. My pine of Amstell was £3.60 which is reasonable, however my wife ordered a blackcurrant and lemonade and was charged £2.75.

I'm sorry but there is no justification for that level of charge for a soft drink. We hear how many pubs are closing due to new drink drive levels, but if you treat designated drivers with this type of charging, you have nobody to blame but yourselves if your clients do not come back.

In conclusion, no complaint about the food but the soft drink experience does nothing to instil a desire to return

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chubgraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, General Manager at Westport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Thank you for taking the time to review us and glad you enjoyed your visit with the exception of the soft drink price, we will of course feed that back to our central pricing team.

Some really nice comments in there so look forward to seeing you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018

With no previous knowledge or research we went as a couple for Sunday lunch. Usual fare, the meats were Ok but the veg was overcooked and bland. No apple sauce available for the pork. Overpriced for quantity and quality.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, General Manager at Westport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi John,

Thank you for taking the time out to review us and we take all feedback on board. Hopefully we will see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2018

Great food and nice staff always happy when we come for dinner, we do not blow the budget when we go so always leave full and happy. great range of drinks and Scottish food. would recommend if you want a weekend treat or a quick weekday dinner

Stayed: April 2018
Thank Abi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, General Manager at Westport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a lovely review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

This visit was for a birthday meal covering 3 generations. The staff serving were great, the choice and quality of the food was good. The only slight issue was the booking was made through a central booking system and 3pm for a 5:30 table and they had not passed the booking on to the Westport. The manager was very apologetic, it is a new system to them.
A good high chair was available for our 15 month old son and the staff were happy to help making feeding home easy with extra plates etc.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Roblx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WestPortLinlithgow, General Manager at Westport Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi,

Great review, thank you. Remember you well and it was a delight looking after your party that evening.

Look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews