We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“An experience not to be missed”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Eagle Bay Cottages

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
53 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Isle of Lewis, Lewis and Harris, Outer Hebrides, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 53 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Tourist43...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An experience not to be missed”
Reviewed 13 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018
5
people found this review helpful

A never to be forgotten week in Lewis. Eagle cottage has everything a discerning person could imagine and desire. All has been catered for from the jaw dropping view of the ever changing loch to the comfort and luxury of the cottage. David and his wife afford visitors all possible comforts and maybe even more than one feels deserving of. The generosity is palpable and one cannot help but feel truly blessed to have spent a week of your life here. We did manage to see one golden eagle(well I think it was) today our last day and it was such a delight that sent shivers down my spine. This is a must for your bucket list.

Date of stay: July 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SnowshoeS...
Westford, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Absolute perfection”
Reviewed 1 July 2018 for a stay in June 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Eagle Bay Cottage is probably the most delightful rental we've ever had for several reasons. Kathleen and David have such attention to detail and that and just the pleasure of dealing with the both of them are at the top of the list. From a practical standpoint, the things, both big and small, that make a stay perfect are - absolutely spotless everything! Even the windows are cleaned each and every visit, no small chore in this wonderful place. Sharp knives in the drawer. We enjoy cooking in most evenings after hill, coastal or beach walking and that small attention to detail makes the cook's life ever so much easier. Everything necessary for the kitchen is there. A comfortable super king bed and pillows - A fabulous bath area and sauna - amazing design layout of the entire place to take in incredible views over the loch. This is Vacation!!!

We also thought the arrival champagne and tea cakes and fruit and some practical necessities that were there for our use were such thoughtful and welcomed extra touches. Kathleen and David have simply thought through everything to make each guest feel special.

As for Hebridean weather - We're used to the Highlands and even though all sunny days would have been magical, we have more than one very memorable story we can now tell. One adventure was being caught in a pelting rainstorm with accompanying wind on Uig Beach which went away as quickly as it came after leaving us covered in sand and laughing out loud. But the thing is that truly bad weather at their place would have just been inside time at one of the loveliest locations in Scotland. How bad would that have been?!

In short, if you want the lovliest of views over a loch, superb and helpful hosts, complete quiet that is the most astounding thing, and a feeling of absolute peace, this is the place for you. We will definitely be returning. Thanks, Kathleen and David!

Sherry Charley

Date of stay: June 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AliGEngla...
England
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Absolutely amazing”
Reviewed 24 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
4
people found this review helpful

Absolutely amazing location & views. Properties throughout were pristine & really well designed. Fully kitted out with all you could need. Welcome goodies were scrumptious & really enjoyed the champagne alfresco. Absolutely silence & heaven. David, the owner was welcoming & knowledgeable. Bathroom: goodies & soak tub with a view. Shower excellent. Lewis & Harris spectacular. The pictures about the beaches don't do them justice. Dalmor Beach was my favourite but went for a paddle on most of the biggest & recommended ones. Fish & Trips boat trip was excellent & went from the pier just down the road. Scallop Shack was worth the trip. A week wasn't long enough & the journey there & back was so worth it. My kind of dream home.

Date of stay: June 2018
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deliabryc...
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Five Paintings”
Reviewed 18 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

My title refers to the views from the lounge ...
We work hard all year and want to have the best holiday we can in the best self catering accommodation we can ...
Kathleen & David have thought of everything you could possibly need in
Airidh na Síth ... We particularly loved that they had thought of a picnic basket and all that you need in it ...
There are so many “wows” about
Airidh na Síth but our advice is this is the place to stay in Lewis ....

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AndyB588
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of our favourite places on earth! ”
Reviewed 12 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018
3
people found this review helpful

Having visited Eagle Bay Cottages a few years ago and fell in love with the Islands of Lewis & Harris, we promised ourselves we’d return. It only took a couple of years. Of all of the amazing places we have visited around the world, this is the only place we’ve returned to. The cottages are stunning! Finished to the highest standard, with everything you could need. Set in the most beautiful location with breathtaking views from the large bay window it’s easy to spend hours just looking out over the sea loch (especially when there’s a storm raging!) Both times we have visited have been in winter months and I think this adds to the beauty of the place and it wild charm! The island has some amazing walks, some of the best beaches in the world and the local seafood from Stornaway fishmongers is a good as you’ll find anywhere! David & Kathleen have got this place just right. They are great hosts and couldn’t be more helpful. I think this is somewhere we’ll visit a few more times yet!

Date of stay: June 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in India. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.