We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolutely stunning cottage, location,amenities...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Nia Roo

Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay Kitchen at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
16 reviews
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Living/dinning room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Kitchen at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Kirtchen at Nia Roo,Bowmore, Islay
Double bedroom at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Double bedroom at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Twin room at Nia Roo, Bowmore, Islay
Bowmore Harbour Islay
Bath/shower room at Niaroo, Bowmore, Islay
Nia Roo garden Bowmore Islay
Lochindaal looking to Bowmore Islay
Ariel photo of Bowmore Islay
Geese on Lochindaal Islay
Lagavulin Jazz Festival Islay
Lossit Bay The Rhinns Islay
Sun Sea and Sand at Machir Bay
Finlaggan through the trees
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Islay, The Hebrides, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
DMN1234
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Absolutely stunning cottage, location,amenities top of the range.”
Reviewed 24 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Stayed her 14-18th March 16, absolutely stunning cottage,everything you need and more. The location is brilliant and dead centre of the whole island,great for exploring the island in any direction,if you don't want to travel to far , Bowmore Distillery is virtually on your doorstep,and all shops,pubs restaurants in Bowmore are within a couple minutes walk.we were fortunate enough to have a week of brilliant sunshine,visited so many stunning beaches,a few distilleries and cycled a fair bit as well. However I'm sure the island would be stunning in any weather. A must to see is Machir Beach,and the Military Cemetery close by the beach,Kildonan Cross/Church, and any of the distilleries,select this accommodation and your holiday will get off to a great start. And the wee dog loved it.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decanter of malt ,shortbread and dog biscuit,all went down a treat
Liked least: Heading for the ferry port on the way home.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Mar 2016
We live on a truly stunning island and are always pleased when visitors enjoy it, you certainly made the most of your time here. I am so pleased you all loved Nia Roo too (including your wee dog!) Thank you for reviewing both. All the best Jean
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in September 2015

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean & airy
Liked least: Nothing to moan about at all
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Oct 2015
Thank you Jacky we are so pleased you loved the cottage and are looking forward to having you back again next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Alex W
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal Nia Roo”
Reviewed 31 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

A group of 4 guys just returning from a week on the beautiful island of Islay. Nia Roo really was the perfect home for our week. We couldn't find fault at all. Highly recommend as a place to stay whilst touring the island. Fixed in a perfect location in Bowmore, it was the ideal base for our travels. A really well equipped and clean cottage that can comfortably sleep 4. Complimentary whiskey and shortbread was a really nice touch. Would love to return sometime in the near future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great amenities
Liked least: Didn't really get to use the garden
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Sep 2015
Thank you Alexander, I am really glad you enjoyed your week on our beautiful Islay and especially glad you found our cottage to be so homely.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison S
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 9 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My partner and I stayed here for one week in June it was both our first trip to Islay and we could not have asked for a better location to stay this cottage was in a great location and had everything needed it was very cosy and the bed extremely comfortable. Jean was very helpful and the Whisky supplied is a very nice touch, we would have no hesitation recommending this cottage and would book with Jean again next time we were coming back to beautiful Islay. Whisky is great on the Island and I enjoyed my visit to all 9 distilleries.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jul 2015
Thank you David for reviewing our cottage, I am so glad you had a great stay in Nia Roo and on Islay. I hope you did the distilleries justice!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
24 Feb 2015
Thank you Jeremy I am so glad you enjoyed staying in Nia Roo. We look forward to you coming back to stay with us and exploring a bit more of our lovely island.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing