We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
If you are visiting the Outer Hebrides then Barra is a must

If you are visiting the Outer Hebrides then Barra is a must. You must also visit the neighbouring... read more

Reviewed 1 week ago
Jack L
,
Godalming, United Kingdom
Isle of Barra.

Fly in on Loganair's Twin Otter and land on the sandy beach. Smoothest landing I have ever... read more

Reviewed 17 December 2018
RoyalScot46100
,
Crewe, United Kingdom
Read all 79 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around The Hebrides
from US$ 650.62
More Info
from US$ 319.39
More Info
from US$ 853.03
More Info
from US$ 64.40
More Info
Reviews (79)
Filter reviews
79 results
Traveller rating
70
9
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
70
9
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews outer hebrides kisimul castle white sandy beaches south uist every corner small island airport cafe hebridean islands the hustle and bustle bucket list twin otter beautiful island fantastic scenery whisky galore seal bay castlebay bar normal life
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 79 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

We spent two days exploring Barra and Vatersay. Landing on the beach was an incredible experience. All the people we met in Barra were so friendly and it was lovely to enjoy the peacefulness and slower pace of island life. The beaches are some of the most beautiful I have ever seen - white sand and turquoise water, a truly beautiful spot!

On our first day we did a taxi tour with which was a great way to get our bearings and Rob our driver from Barra Taxi was really friendly and told us lots about the island.

On our second day we hired bikes from Tony at Barra bikes and spent the day cycling around the island - we went to Seal Bay and saw the colony of Seals and then across the causeway to Vatersay it was a great way to see the island!

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank Lisathenderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018

A Christmas present from my husband was a day trip to the Isle of Barra. The small twin otter plane took off from Glasgow airport and landed just over an hour later on the beach on the Isle of Barra. We had previously visited Barra 45 years ago and were keen to visit Castlebay. Purely by chance we saw Dan(from Dan’s Cabs) outside the terminal building. We really just wanted a taxi to take us to Castlebay but our trip with Dan was so much more than that. He took us via the west coast road pointing out places of interest en route and was even able to show us the Croft where we’d parked our caravan all those years ago. Arriving in Castlebay he agreed to pick us up a short time later, giving us time to have a walk and a cuppa and scone in the Post Office! The road back to the airport was via the east coast, again benefitting from Dan’s local knowledge about places of interest. Back at the terminal, we were able to enjoy another cuppa at the Airport Cafe before our wee plane arrived to take us home. What a magical day!

Date of experience: February 2018
3  Thank Sheila B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Spent three days on Barra. Took Logan Air from Glasgow to the island and landing on the beach which was a fantastic experience. We hired a car and rented a cottage close to Castlebay. The beaches were amazing; white sand and such blue water and the scenery was lovely. The locals were very friendly and if we have the chance we will be back again.

Date of experience: October 2017
3  Thank Philip A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2017 via mobile

We love Barra, we stayed at Borve Caravan Park for a week in June 2017 and vowed to return later in the year, we travelled down from
Lewis, through Harris, to the Uists, Eriskay then Barra for another 3 nights. The Borve caravan park has beautiful views, and Donald who runs it is so friendly and helpful. The facilities are clean with lovely hot showers. We spent a few hours in the Castlebay Bar with the locals on the saturday had so much fun. Would recommend trying a few Barra gins - lovely. Had a meal in the Kisimul Cafe had veg pakora and then chicken sag, best ive had. Staff are lovely and friendly. We will be back next year

Date of experience: September 2017
3  Thank Lynne63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

Loved this beautiful small island. The beaches are stunning! We were blessed with beautiful weather which made us think of the Caribbean beaches. Every corner you turn you get an other stunning view. Laid back atmosphere, a wonderful place to go and forget about the worlds troubles.

Date of experience: August 2017
2  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews