We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“a great house which offered something for...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Castleview

Castleview built in the early 1880s
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Castleview built in the early 1880s
Entrance Hallway Drawing Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
40 reviews
Castleview built in the early 1880s
Entrance Hallway
Drawing Room
Dining Room
Kitchen with gas AGA
Kitchen with AGA
Bedroom 2
En suite for bedroom 2
Bedroom 6
Shared bathroom for bedrooms 3, 5 and 6
Phillipe Starke en suite for Master bedroom, 4
Upper landing
Balcony on upper level with view over private, enclosed garden to rear of property
Sitting room with sofa bed
Billiard Room
Original Victorian bathroom for bedroom 3. Bath and shower cannot now be used
Original Victorian bathroom for bedroom 3. Bath and shower cannot now be used
View of garden from Balcony
Large south facing rear garden
View across garden to back of Castleview
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
6 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 16
Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 40 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
fiona r
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a great house which offered something for everyone - cosy & friendly !”
Reviewed 2 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

we had a lovely family w/e - great kitchen to hang out in, great dining room to eat in - all together, great attic conversion snooker room ... some great competition over the w/e !

thanks for making our w/e really enjoyable ..

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your family weekend trip, it would be our pleasure to have you come stay again in the future - Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BJ_McBlue...
Kirkintilloch, Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“An unforgettable 60th Birthday Weekend in Castleview!”
Reviewed 23 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My wife's 60th Birthday meant a special celebration, so after much researching we rented Castleview for the weekend. Along with 5 other couples we had 3 nights of fun in a great venue.
Castleview is deceptively big, with a great sitting room and an equally big dining room. The sitting room has an open fire, which really kept us warm. Likewise the kitchen has an Aga, which was both warm and really good fun to cook on.
We did our own food on the Friday evening, and brought in professional caterers on the Saturday night. We did our own Murder Mystery over dinner on the Saturday evening which was a great laugh.
The rooms are all well appointed, with most en suite, and bed linen and towels are provided.
All in all a great venue and so close to Stirling town centre (5 minute walk) for anything else you may require.
We would all recommend the house for a big get-together and indeed would return for future visits.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Having all our friends with us in great surroundings
Liked least: The Victorian bath/shower was temporarily out of service - we would have loved to have tried it!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2018
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay for such a big occasion - Castlevew certainly has ample enough room for a large family get together and we are glad you took full advantage, we would love to welcome you back again in the future, Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katkat529
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seriously, the best place in Stirling!”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We found Castleview when looking for a place that could house at least 6 of us, and was close to or in Stirling. Having never been to Stirling, we were sort of flying blind and went off of the description and other reviews. I couldn't have been more pleased with the Castleview property. Our group expanded from just the 6 of us to 10, once my daughter showed the place to her friends. They decided to stay with us as well... and, well, why not? There was more than enough space! Even with 10 of us in the house, you never felt crowded. You could always find a quite area to read and relax.

We are a family that loves to cook, and the pleasure of cooking on an AGA was real treat for all of us. The massive dining room easily sat all of us, plus 4 friends we had over for dinner. The AGA turned out enough food for everyone and no one was tied to the kitchen too make these feasts happen.

The rooms were all quite comfy. The only tub we didn't use was the one that is quite antique as it was having some draining issues. But, there were plenty of baths/showers that no one ever waited to use one. The rooms were all heated with the radiators, which once we figured out how to use them, we were comfortable all week! This home has all the modern updates that you want for comfort, but really retains the look and feel of when it was built - quite a wonderful character home!

Castleview is a short walk to everything. Our family already misses our stay and will definitely be planning our return. Our friends that live in Stirling were amazed at the house as well. They said, "this house is in the poshest square mile of all of Stirling", and were amazed that we found such awesome accommodations. Lastly, my grandson (3 years old), summed it up best by saying, "I want to stay here forever!"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: AGA Cooker
Liked least: Lots of stairs!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SHELAGH D
Coatbridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“FAB PLACE FOR CHILLED OUT WEEKEND”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015

We booked Castleview for a staff retiral and were not disappointed. House was lovely, cosy and huge!!!!! We had a great time and loved being able to all sit round huge dining room table together - then chill out in front of roaring fire. House had everything you could wish for!! We have already looked at dates later in year. Very handy for all amenities. We loved it!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Mar 2018
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! we are glad you enjoyed your stay and we would love to welcome you back again in the future. Best Wishes
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicola M
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 19 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

A group of 14 of my family and friends hired Castleview to celebrate my 30th birthday. Trying to find somewhere to house such a large group did prove to be a bit of a challenge as I didn't want people to spend too much money so soon after Christmas, this house was a brilliant find!
We were greeted on arrival and given some information and a tour of the house - we were amazed at the size! The house was perfect for what we needed and very reasonably priced! Everyone had a bed to sleep in and, surprisingly for the size of the house, was very cosy. The kitchen is to die for and was spot on for feeding a very hungry large group of people. We will definitely recommend the house to our friends and look at re-booking in the future - we have already tried to book for new year 2015-16 but unfortunately it's not available. Great house! Thank you for having us!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The kitchen!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Feb 2015
Delighted that you enjoyed Castleview. I should point out though that the house is not yet booked for next new year, 2015/2016!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing