We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Expedia.com$110
Hotels.com$110
Travelocity$110
Vio.com$98
Agoda.com$88
Orbitz.com$110
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Other miscellaneous taxes and hotel fees which are not fixed or due at time of booking may be payable at the property at time of stay. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (565)
Filter reviews
565 results
Traveller rating
190
157
108
52
58
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
190
157
108
52
58
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bar milano conservatory restaurant for sunday lunch main restaurant lovely meal steak pie buffet style wedding ceremony curtains function
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 565 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2022

This hotel was pre-booked by our travel company but we had a very poor experience. Our initial room was a double, quite small but okay it was only 1 night. We were staying on a Saturday night and there is a bar connected to the hotel. The outside area was right next to our room window separated by a wooden barrier. The music and people were really loud (the bass had us practically bouncing in bed) and was open till midnight. We're 30 yrs old and still love a party but don't understand why there is a bar 1 meter from hotelrooms where people come to SLEEP! We went down to the front desk to see what could be done and they offered us another room on the top floor (same side of the hotel) to see if it was less noisy. Staff were really lovely at least. It was marginally better, but it was a twin. We didn't mind sleeping in separate beds but the noise was still really loud and the beds and pillows were hard and uncomfortable. Shower pressure was not great either. Breakfast buffet was at least very tasty but all in all we didn't have a good stay.

Date of stay: September 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank rowanv469
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2022

Hi Rowan, thank you for your review and comments about our staff and breakfast. Please accept our apologies about the noise from our popular Milano Bar as it can get busy on Saturday nights. We do have the sound barrier of the fence, the DJ is in doors so there are multiple barriers to keep the noise contained but we will look in to your comments and see if we can improve in any way so that the noise doesn't travel. Unfortunately all our top floor rooms are twins but we are looking to upgrade these rooms in the near future with additional sound proofing and upgraded beds and bedding. We are sorry we didn't meet your expectations on this occasion and do hope that on your next visit you will be able to see the upgrades that we have made. Regards Manager@TheAvobridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2022 via mobile

On the first day I rang for extra tea bags and milk, I was met at the door by a miserable receptionist who informed me I was only entitled to have TWO tea bags as complimentary for each day
I ask the receptionist WHY, as I have NEVER experienced this in any hotel before!!!!, she would not budge and left me feeling very upset at her attitude telling me off!!!!!!!
Later that evening I asked a gentleman named Osman in the evening who was an absolute delight if I could have more tea bags from behind the bar, only to witness him being told off after by a man with a beard in front of me (I think he was in charge) I felt so bad and I apologised to Osman for putting him in that situation he was upset but told me not to worry Osman was a happy gentleman making me feel welcome in the hotel and such a happy obliging host
This became a joke with other guests having the same issues
I met some lovely people the breakfast was the great start to the day chatting and discussing our days out etc, at our table where we shared our great experiences of the previous days with each other
The next morning we were met by another rude blonde young lady who refused to let us sit at our table that we had been sharing for three days she was young with another person with an attitude
We met Mary on our first day she was the most fantastic host Mary spoke to us everyday and made our trip in the hotel better, each day Mary remained so kind and helpful Mary explained different history cultures etc and if she could help especially managing our rooms which she kept spotless and such a friendly person, what a wonderful lady she is, so kind and helpful, well done Mary
The hotel needs to change the attitude of staff, it ruined our stay being watched by certain staff just in case we asked for a tea bag
Your hotel is only as good as your management I would recommend that those who were brusque with their manner take a leaf out of Mary’s and Osman’s book
I understand that people working are on certain rules but surely TWO tea bags really ‍♀️

Room tip: A large van was parked in the disabled spot outside our front window he was a workman he was noisy and woke us up early each morning
Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank P1721ZSchrism
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Hi Chris, apologies that you had some issues in relation to tea bags. They get replenished each day but please accept our apologies that you were made to feel this way. It is certainly not procedure that you can only have two tea bags per day. It may be that their stock was running low but again please accept our apologies. We are glad that Mary and Osman made you feel welcome and were great hosts. I will pass on your comments to them both. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2022 via mobile

Had lunch here with my fiends on Saturday. I had the crispy chicken for starters which was nice. My friends had the bruschetta with was far too oily and they didn’t like the sun-dried tomatoes. Two of us had steak pie which came with four very small cold wedges and stirfry veg which was peppers, onions and carrot. Although the steak pie was nice we didn’t eat the veg or wedges.
Told the server and he said that he would tell the chef.
Steak pie comes with either mash potatoes, roast potatoes or boiled potatoes, l felt as if I should have been eating Mexican.

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank margaretgY195ZB
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Hi Margaret, thank you for your review and apologies that you had some complaints about our food. I will pass these comments on to our management team to look in to. We hope you can try more of our varied menu on your next visit. We also have a BBQ station that is open at weekends and our pizza's in Milano are of the greatest quality. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2022

Very nice hotel.
Staff excellent.
Had two dinners Pasta being the Vegetarian dish twice. Vegetarians don't only eat pasta!
Nice room but automatic light for bathroom--- this meant a full on light in middle of night.
Pillows hard.
Lovely outdoor seating to eat at lunchtime.

Date of stay: August 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flowerpot111
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Hi, thank you so much for your review and comments about our excellent staff and beer garden area. We are looking in to upgrading much of our lights in the near future so we will add this to the upgrade list. We hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2022 via mobile

Arrived at approximately 2230hrs to be met by the night porter. I required a room for the night due to family circumstances. Simon was so helpful and couldn’t have done enough for me. Room which I stayed in (57) was spotless I genuinely couldn’t have complained about anything. First class service from the night staff at the Avonbridge. Girl I spoke with in the morning so polite and friendly absolutely no issues at all. 10/10

Date of stay: August 2022
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank R8676NCjordank
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Avonbridge Hotel, Other at Avonbridge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2022

Hi, thank you so much for your review and Simon will be delighted about your comments and we are glad he was helpful and you had an enjoyable stay. We do hope to see you again soon. Regards Manager@TheAvonbridge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews