We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was disapponted”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kilkerran Guest House
Ranked #41 of 52 Ayr B&B and Inns
Reviewed 30 August 2017

I booked a downstairs room with kingsize bed and ensuite as i have trouble with stairs, i also need help washing etc so obviously i need an ensuite, when we arrived i was taken into second adjoined house and up a flight of stairs, i told her that i had booked a downstairs room as i have real difficulty with stairs, i was told that she had given my room to a disabled couple and it wasnt available, i was not happy i asked about ensuite and the room didnt have 1 i had to share bathroom with 3 other rooms, i told her i needed ensuite and booked an ensuite she said i could have the room at a reduced rate or i didnt have to stay and she wouldnt charge me,it was 4 oclock in afternoon were was i going to find another hotel, so had to make best of it,as i need help with the bathroom we tried to use sink in room and no hot water, neither was it hot in the bathroom,i reported it but still no hot water up to leaving, the radiater was never warm so had chilly room it was hard work for hubby looking after me, the hotel itself was nice and clean in all areas, breakfast was very good had choce of what we wanted from cereal to fried breakfast, all well presented staff were lovely and had a smile, it would of been a lovely stay if we had the room we booked

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lindylouharker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (59)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 59 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

We were pleasantly surprised at a lovely gift from our daughter, of a night away in a Prestwick guesthouse, namely the Kilkerran Guest house.
Situated on a busy main road, parking is available to guests, very handy.
We got a friendly greeting from Margaret, who showed us our room at the top of the stairs.
Our room (no.4) was a decent size, comfy twin beds, clean, bright and was furnished with a wardrobe, chest of drawers and tv. There was also a small washbasin and mirror. The toilet and bath/shower were shared between three rooms.
Adequate soundproofing made for a pretty good sleep, considering the proximity of the main road.
And to breakfast! The small dining room accommodated 12 guests, but was not too cramped to move. Cereal & fruit juice were available, but we opted for the full Scottish! Sausage, bacon, black pudding, tattie scone, mushrooms, tomato, beans & egg how you wanted it, plus plenty toast, tea and coffee. Happy campers!
To summarise - pleasant stay, could maybe do with a wee makeover, excellent breakfast, good value for money.
Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Kenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2017 via mobile

Fantastic 3 night stay Margaret and her staff helpful and nothing any trouble room clean only thing was the stairs which Margret rectified no problem. Enjoyed our stay lol booked for next year again many thanks Margaret and her team mike&janie x

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank cairnmount
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2017

Was concerned about previous reviews - I shouldn't have worried. We had the downstairs on suite, with a lovely sized Queen Ann bed. The room was lovely and clean and well stocked with tea and coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was superb, and Margaret even sent me on my way with a good few slices of black pudding to bring home!! Nothing was too much trouble for Margaret and the girls. THANK YOU for a wonderful stay. BE ASSURED we will be back - David and Anne New Tredegar, Wales.

Room Tip: Downstairs on suite is ideal for a couple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DavidBeynon102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2017

Booked a two night stay at this B&B. Stayed one night then left the following morning. The Place was in a state of refurbishment and extention. The room was adequate but dirty. An inch thick of dust was found down the side of the bedside cupboard and old wrappers from previous occupants. The bedding appeared clean at first but on closer inspection it was stained with what looked like hair dye. Shower in the morning was luke warm at best and mostley cold. Breakfast was adequate. There was a tele in the room but only one channel could be found and the volume couldnt be changed. The box probably needed new batteries and it was damaged. Avoid this pace till they at least find the hoover!!

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracey L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
2.2 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 17 in Ayr
910 reviews
2.5 km away
Chalmers Bed & Breakfast Ayr
2.5 km away
Inverlea Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 km away
Western House Hotel
15.7 km away
Ardwell Bed & Breakfast
1.6 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 17 in Ayr
722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kilkerran Guest House? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kilkerran Guest House

Address: 15 Prestwick Road, Ayr KA8 8LD, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Ayr
Price Range: ₹ 2,314 - ₹ 4,371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Kilkerran Guest House 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kilkerran Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kilkerran Guest House Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing