We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“drinks all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Horizon Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Horizon Hotel
Ranked #7 of 18 Hotels in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Carnoustie, Scotland, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“drinks all round”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

Spent Saturday in this hotel with ork maes had a meal and few driks, servie was top notch and the staff were all welcoming and happy to help. We had great table service and assistnce from the staff. The young barmen Craig was very helpful and enthisiastic in his job and all staff were friendly and we were very pleased we will return :)

Room Tip: Definitely a place for a good time :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

458 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    217
    154
    56
    19
    12
See reviews for
86
251
9
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Selkirk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have stayed several times in and around Ayr and the Horizon beats the lot for quality and affordability. Food and service excellent, esp the dinner. Room was very quiet so slept well. Shower a bit lacking in power but that was the only concern for us. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank seljangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayrshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here just for one night but felt it was quite on the pricey side considering what the room was like. Opening a dated window was a set of ladders and a brick wall so the curtains got closed to make the room feel nicer. Pillows weren't comfy as they were completely flat which shows its been well used, decor is terrible and bathroom especially urgently needs a refurb, even if its just fresh paint (not too expensive) would brighten it up. Decor also terrible, colour scheme just not fitting to an Scottish hotel. All little things I know but considering they are "little" it wouldn't take much to sort.

The biggest annoyance was that check-out time was 10am. Why? how can you enjoy your last moments when you need to get up so early? And our room was opposite a "store cupboard" obvously used by housekeeping as I heard the door slam shut 20 times in the space of 10 minutes around 9am in the morning giving me no choice but to get up and pack (possibly an idea thought of by the hotel to get rid of the guests on check-out?).

I have stayed in many hotels of all different stars but all the negative comments aside I did feel that having a 32" TV in the room was a massive plus! With most 3* hotels I have stayed in I have only seen maybe 21" TV's so this is what made this hotel stand out in comparison.

The MOD (manager on duty) was friendly on check-in always nice to have a good first impression on the staff.

Would I go back? Yes but obviously if it were to a room away from a store cupboard.

4* star given because of the TV size.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stormelph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Motherwell
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2012

This seafront hotel was perfect in every way. As a wheelchair user, it is so difficult to get a hotel which meets all your need, but the Horizon did it all. There is a ramp to the main entrance, a small lift to reception and a lift to help in and out of the bath. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and the food was just fabulous. We quite often stay at the Southampton Hilton, but this hotel was even better.

Room Tip: A seaview room would be nice because you can see all the way across the water to Arran.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheCrookses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa de las Americas, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great location right on sea front, easy walk to shops. Room was lovely with a sea view(had to pay extra for this but it was worth every penny). Food was excellent and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank juan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ayr hotels
1.6 km away
Western House Hotel
0.5 km away
Fairfield House Hotel
0.8 km away
Savoy Park Hotel
Savoy Park Hotel
#1 of 18 in Ayr
4.5 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 km away
Mercure Ayr Hotel
Mercure Ayr Hotel
#14 of 18 in Ayr
3.5 of 5 bubbles 649 reviews
3.6 km away
Premier Inn Ayr A77/Racecourse Hotel
0.2 km away
The Arrandale Hotel
The Arrandale Hotel
#13 of 18 in Ayr
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Horizon Hotel

Property: Horizon Hotel
Address: Esplanade, Ayr KA7 1DT, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Ayrshire > South Ayrshire > Ayr
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Ayr
#8 Family Hotel in Ayr
#9 Romantic Hotel in Ayr
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,995 - ₹ 8,957
Hotel Class:3 star — Horizon Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Horizon Hotel is the ideal location and a popular venue for holidays, short breaks, and activities, weddings and business functions.Offering quality and affordability, the Horizon Hotel is an award winning three star Scottish Hotel providing Scottish hospitality, and friendly efficient service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Horizon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Horizon Hotel Ayr, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing