We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Horizon Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Western House Hotel(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$ 87
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 110
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 127
US$ 123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Ayr(Ayr)(Great Value!)
US$ 56
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
US$ 113
US$ 99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 147
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (571)
Filter reviews
571 results
Traveller rating
275
188
66
27
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
275
188
66
27
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvista restaurantattic roomdog friendly hotelsea frontsea viewlovely hotelshort breakbooked this hotellounge areaenjoyable staynight breakfamily roomisle of arrancomfy bedtown centrefirst classovernight stay
Filter
Updating list...
475 - 480 of 571 reviews
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Have stayed several times in and around Ayr and the Horizon beats the lot for quality and affordability. Food and service excellent, esp the dinner. Room was very quiet so slept well. Shower a bit lacking in power but that was the only concern for us. We'll definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seljangolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

Stayed here just for one night but felt it was quite on the pricey side considering what the room was like. Opening a dated window was a set of ladders and a brick wall so the curtains got closed to make the room feel nicer. Pillows weren't comfy as they were completely flat which shows its been well used, decor is terrible and bathroom especially urgently needs a refurb, even if its just fresh paint (not too expensive) would brighten it up. Decor also terrible, colour scheme just not fitting to an Scottish hotel. All little things I know but considering they are "little" it wouldn't take much to sort.

The biggest annoyance was that check-out time was 10am. Why? how can you enjoy your last moments when you need to get up so early? And our room was opposite a "store cupboard" obvously used by housekeeping as I heard the door slam shut 20 times in the space of 10 minutes around 9am in the morning giving me no choice but to get up and pack (possibly an idea thought of by the hotel to get rid of the guests on check-out?).

I have stayed in many hotels of all different stars but all the negative comments aside I did feel that having a 32" TV in the room was a massive plus! With most 3* hotels I have stayed in I have only seen maybe 21" TV's so this is what made this hotel stand out in comparison.

The MOD (manager on duty) was friendly on check-in always nice to have a good first impression on the staff.

Would I go back? Yes but obviously if it were to a room away from a store cupboard.

4* star given because of the TV size.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stormelph08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2012

This seafront hotel was perfect in every way. As a wheelchair user, it is so difficult to get a hotel which meets all your need, but the Horizon did it all. There is a ramp to the main entrance, a small lift to reception and a lift to help in and out of the bath. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable, the staff were extremely friendly and the food was just fabulous. We quite often stay at the Southampton Hilton, but this hotel was even better.

Room Tip: A seaview room would be nice because you can see all the way across the water to Arran.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheCrookses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2012

Great location right on sea front, easy walk to shops. Room was lovely with a sea view(had to pay extra for this but it was worth every penny). Food was excellent and staff were very helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank juan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

normally stay in the western house hotel for our trip to the races. the deal for this hotel was a good price. however you get what you pay for!!!!! staff very welcoming, cosy lounge area, lovely breakfast, but ........you seem to get the worst rooms ever when you use a promotional voucher such as groupon or itson. we were shown to the back of beyond in the hotel, the room was clearly for single occupancy although there was a double bed, you could not move around without banging into each other.during the night we had to switch off the electricity box which was in the wardrobe as the noise from it was deafening. these deals are clearly advertised to generate buisness, just a shame they dont aim for repeat buisness. back to western house next time. you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaznugent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews