We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Unfussy Grub”

Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel
Ranked #56 of 207 Restaurants in Ayr
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: This is a relatively new restaurant that is annexed to the Horizon Hotel Ayr.
Reviewed 15 March 2017

The food appeared to be mainly traditional and home made, and was very tasty and well presented without trying to be overly pretentious. The fixed menu we used had 6 starters, mains and desserts and I could probably have stuck a pin in each of the courses to make my choices and been pleased with what I got
I had the Cajun chicken strips for a starter and they were delicious as was the small salad that accompanied it. My wife had the pate and enjoyed it although, a first for us, it came with garlic bread (Peter Kaye eat your heart out!).
My main was a home made steak and sausage pie with mash and vegetables and very nice it was too. My wife had the fish and chips and it looked lovely too.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Iain27wbt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C, General Manager at Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review. Glad to see you enjoyed the food and it is all home made and as you said very tasty. Maybe next time peter kaye will come with you....lol

Hope to see you back soon.

Kind Regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Had a look at reviews and decided to give it a try and glad we did,food was really good, ştaff were pleasant, premises was spotless,prices are reasonable, will go back again

Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C, General Manager at Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guests

Thank you for taking the time to review us. I am glad you found the hotel spotless, reasonable and staff pleasant.

The food we serve is all home cooked and I am glad to see you enjoyed it.
Hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2017

Excellent food. Just enough variety and choice of meals Very reasonably priced. Staff were very pleasant and courteous.

Thank elizabethd302
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C, General Manager at Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guests

Thank you for your review. I am glad to see you ate with us while you stayed and found everything to your liken.

Kind Regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017

Sunday Carvery meal excellent for quantity, quality and value.
Pre 5 p.m. Menu inadequate. Excellent service.

Thank barneyandnan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C, General Manager at Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guests

Thank you for your lovely review of the Sunday Roast. I will pass your thanks onto the staff whom you enjoyed excellent service with.

Hope to see you back again soon.

Kind Regards
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016

Very nice and modern surroundings also bar staff are really friendly and chatty we felt really comfortable in bar could not fault the service we were given.

Thank stevielucky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey C, General Manager at Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Dear Guest
Thank you for your nice comments on the staff and service you received when you were in the Vista Bar & Restaurant.

The staff are very courteous and friendly at all times and make your time with us more enjoyable.

Thanks
Tracey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Ayr, South Ayrshire
 

Been to Vista Bar and Restaurant at the Horizon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing