We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The best holiday cottage we have stayed in.”
other travellers have booked this property
Doonbank Bothy
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy Doonbank Cottage
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Bothy
Doonbank Cottage
River Doon
Woodland
River Doon
Woodland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Ayr, South Ayrshire, Ayrshire, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dee E
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The best holiday cottage we have stayed in.”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

We have been staying in holiday cottages in most parts of Scotland for over 12 years now, and can honestly say Doonbank Cottage is without doubt the finest we have found for both people and their pets. We have just returned from a truly memorable week. The weather was better than we could have hoped for, indeed it was a Scottish record breaker for March while we were there. Which was wonderful for us and our dogs, as it meant we could really appreciate the garden and eat outside, and the dogs enjoyed thier daily swim in the river.
It was still warm enough in the evening to sit and watch the wildlife, we saw the deer on most evenings, with the rabbits and pheasants, and just sitting there listening to the river, was so special, the memory will stay with us for a long time. We did visit Croy beach, because of the unusually hot weather, and again another dog friendly place. We could have visited more, but the cottage was so special, we just didn't want to be away from it for too long, and it became our home from home.The cottage is furnished to a high spec, with comfy leather sofa's and luxury bedding and towels.The amount of information in the study is invaluable for planning a days walk. Chris and Susan have thought of everything, as though we were their friends who are coming to stay for a week. The only sad part is having to leave this magical place, but the memories will stay with us ( and our dogs) forever.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie T
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Doonbank for dogs”
Reviewed 10 November 2011 for a stay in November 2011
5
people found this review helpful

What a fantastic cottage, gorgeous rooms, very spacious, had absolutely everything you need for a self catering holiday.We stayed with our 2 Tibetan Mastiff who had a fantastic time in the garden and woods.We stayed in November and were really lucky with the weather. Very close to Ayr beach and a short trip to Troon beach. Even though you were just off an estate you wouldnt know, even when we walked the dogs around the area we very rarely saw a soul.

The library is full of info on what to do and really helped us pick a few walks (and a very nice takeaway).

We will definately be returning, hopefully next year and would recommend (especially to dog owners).

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catwolf72
Derby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Dog friendly and then some!”
Reviewed 6 September 2011 for a stay in August 2011
2
people found this review helpful

My family plus our five boarder collies stayed here over the August Bank Holiday and had one of our best breaks yet. The house was clean, spacious and well set up with everything we needed and the grounds were absolutely fantastic for the dogs who I think had a better time than we did.
Easy to get to and perfectly situated for exploring the local area, we will certainly be revisiting the area and this property.

Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrminty10...
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Glorious Doonbank Cottage”
Reviewed 12 July 2011 for a stay in June 2011

The house is set in wonderful grounds and having good weather for
the week meant we could use it to the full. Great walks along the
river. Very relaxing.Easy access to Ayr as well just 10 mins drive
away. Ample grounds for our dog Sweep to roam freely as well.
Spotlessly clean.
As I mentioned earlier we used the cottage to the full and therefore
only eat out twice during the week. We went to The Rupee room for our
'traditional' golf holiday curry night which was really good value and
good food. On the Friday we went to the Brig O Doon House hotel. Lovely
setting and once again good value and good food. My youngest son is a
chef so a bit of a busman's holiday for him .
My two sons and I played golf 4 times during the week and found the
cottage to be a great base as the courses are within easy reach. My
eldest son John got engaged to his girlfriend whilst we were there
making the holiday even more memorable.
We all agreed that it was one of the best holiday's we had and I
enjoyed it even more as I won the 'Crilly' golf tournament for the
first time in it's 6 year history. So the cottage did me some good.

Once again many thanks for allowing us to use the property.

Value Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AJ1888
Falkirk, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Just what we both needed”
Reviewed 18 May 2011 for a stay in January 2011
4
people found this review helpful

This has to be one of the most relaxing breaks we have had.
Doonbank is a high quality accommodation, warm, comfortable and with so many personal bits & pieces it is not like a holiday let. The house looks even better than the photograph suggests. Unfortunately January is perhaps not the best time of year for a garden to look its best, so we look forward to revisiting perhaps in the summer or autumn.
The cottage is exceptionally clean, tidy, & spacious, but it also has a lovely cosy feel. We used the back door as it allowed us to kick of our boots hang up our coats & dry the dog before entering the fab kitchen, the kitchen is very well stocked with every piece of crockery & electrical equipment that you would need, we did not use the dishwasher as the view from the kitchen window with all the birds feeding made doing dishes a pleasure .The study has board games & books from floor to ceiling with something for everyone. The d/room has a lovely big table with fabulous views of the woodland & the river, our dog Macey became a permanent feature in front of the open fire from 7pm onwards completely exhausted from her river side walks, the fabulous beaches & her constant exploring of the cottage grounds. The bedroom in which we slept had a very comfortable king-size bed & was very tastefully decorated. Ayrshire is a beautiful part of the country with some fabulous local restaurants,we enjoyed meals in the Wildings restaurant & The Brigodoon Hotel.
The only disappointment was how quickly the time past, we could easily have stayed longer. We will definitely be back again this year...............

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing