We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great as always ”

The Chestnuts Hotel Restaurant
Ranked #3 of 216 Restaurants in Ayr
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Scottish, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Lovely family run hotel with 14 en-suite rooms. Freeview / tea & coffee making facilities. Open from 10am serving coffees and Home Baking till 11.30Am...Lunches from 12-4.30Pm, Suppers from 5-9pm. Superb home-cooked food served in the Bar, Restaurant and Beer Garden. BT Sports in the Bar. Selection of Real Ales and Malt Whiskys. Walking distance from Beach, Town Centre, Parks and Golf courses. In the Heart of Burns' Country. Special Rates for Golf Parties. Selection of Supper dishes at a Special rate of £7.95 Between 5pm and 6.30Pm. F
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Went here for hubbies birthday. Food and atmosphere great as always.

It's one of our 'go to' places in Ayrshire!!

I had the Thai fish cakes and my hubby had Cullen skink and then the steak. Cooked beautifully and so tasty. My in laws had the gammon steak and liver and both were thoroughly delighted with theirs.

Afterwards we sat out in the delightful beer garden and enjoyed lattes and chat in the sun!

If you haven't been here, you must go!!!

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Brangane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (500)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

187 - 191 of 500 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

We went here for the evening of a friends birthday, the meal was very good and well cooked, and the customer service was absolutely first class. We supplied a birthday cake which they were very happy to serve up for us after the meal.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JoeGRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016 via mobile

Food is excellent , staff are lovely , have enjoyed every meal I've had in here .You can eat in the bar area , which has a lovely atmosphere or there is a separate dining room , would definitely recommend it .

Date of visit: July 2016
1  Thank Aileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

Cant go wrong here at all. We like to take friends and family here as a treat. The two course offers have always been lovely. Menu is excellent. Something for everyone. Lovely atmosphere in the evenings too!

Date of visit: September 2015
1  Thank Lisaloves_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

We use this hotel quite a lot and have never been disappointed. From 5p.m. till 6.30p.m . they have a cut price supper menu for around £7.99 which is good and from then till 9p.m. they have a dinner menu. The staff are always very friendly and attentive and the food does not disappoint.

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank JohnM42circus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Chestnuts Hotel Restaurant also viewed

 
Ayr, South Ayrshire
Alloway, South Ayrshire
 

Been to The Chestnuts Hotel Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing