We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Accomodation has everything needed for a...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Brough

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
7 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Shetland Islands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Irene5w
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Accomodation has everything needed for a comfortable holiday stay.”
Reviewed 2 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Located 5 minutes drive from Toft ferry terminal. Peaceful location close to otter spotting area. John is very helpful and willing to share his knowledge of the islands, local history and where to visit. 'Starter' groceries were most welcome.
Would visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thankyou for that Irene, it was a pleasure to meet you. I hope to see you both again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Reviewed 24 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: The wildlife
Liked least: The wifi is a bit on the slow side....
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
27 Sep 2016
You were a pleasure to host, I hope to see you here again. Thankyou for your visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Christoph...
New Forest, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A naturalist’s paradise!”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Unspoilt views across to the nearby shore and over the sea to other beautiful islands.
My wife & I enjoyed wonderful walks from the house.
We had a great welcome from our Landlord John. Unasked, he had ensured enough food, milk, etc. to get us by until we could shop the next day.
When John heard we hoped to see Otters, he pointed us in the direction of his special place within 10 minutes easy walk. From landing at Sumburgh to our first encounter with these delightful animals, it was under two hours.
We received a phone call from John to let us know Orcas were in the vicinity. We enjoyed an hour plus of performance from 4 Orcas including a calf almost in view of our Livingroom. A ten minute walk had us close enough for photographs just yards from the shoreline. There were seals a plenty, divers, geese, skewers, plus, plus.
The accommodation was spotlessly clean. The cooking facilities were basic but adequate, with an oven/microwave/grill and a single plate induction cooking ring.
We had the most tremendous time imaginable. A BIG thank you to John and all the lovely Shetlanders!!

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Sep 2016
Thankyou for that review Chris. It was a great pleasure to meet you and I'm delighted that you enjoyed your time here. I hope to see you again. All the very best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ional519
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic location - very peaceful and beautiful views”
Reviewed 16 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We had a lovely 4 nights with John at Brough. The apartment is on the far north of the mainland with views out over Yell sound and the north ferry at Toft. The apartment had all the basics required although cooking facilities are fairly minimal which meant we didn't manage a lot of cooking.

The views are lovely and there are some great walks straight from the house down to the sea with an iron age Broch that can be explored. I saw several otters in the area which was great.

A good base to visit the north islands and explore the northern end of the mainland. Is only approx.35mins to Lerwick though on very scenic roads.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Minimal kitchen and not the most confortable beds.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 May 2017
Thankyou so much for lovely review, you were a pleasure to meet, come back any time
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
985bea
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017
Google Translation

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jul 2017
Thankyou for your kind review, I hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing