We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect weekend getaway”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Secret Bothy

traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century fully equipped for fine dining at home
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
traditional stone cottage, dates from mid-19th century
contemporary interior, rejuvenated in 21st century
fully equipped for fine dining at home
wood burning stove with complimentary logs
each double bedroom has own TV and en suite
walk-in showers and underfloor heating
each double bedroom has hair dryer and bathrobes
spa bath, walk-in shower, toiletries, bathrobes, heated mirror
nespresso machine and complimentary coffee capsules
complimentary hamper on arrival
no need to bring the kitchen sink, all the essentials (and extras) are already here
rebuilt back of cottage overlooks productive walled garden
neighbouring Blair Castle, 10 minutes from Secret Bothy
local resident
nearby Carn Liath, the lowest of Beinn a'Ghlo's 3 summits
nearby Glen Banvie, an easy walk through woods and open moorland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Hk26
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Perfect weekend getaway”
Reviewed 10 December 2014 for a stay in December 2014

Fantastic place with all mod cons and lovely little extras. Had a super weekend staying here. Despite the snow outside we were extremely cosy and comfortable in the bothy. Lovely setting and brilliant hosts. Will definitely return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Thank you very much for your review. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Killiecrankie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conanpr
scotland
1 review
“Short Break”
Reviewed 8 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Superb accommodation setting picturesque with wildlife on your doorstep.
Roaring log burner plus underfloor heating made the bothy cosy on coldest of evenings.
Excellent hosts made us welcome and we will return for sure.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Too many to list
Liked least: No problems
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2014
Many thanks for your review. We too are looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
loubilouA...
aberdeen
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Perfection - a hideaway in an excellent location”
Reviewed 11 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

3 night stay with husband and 3 year old and Loretta the owner was fantastic from the minute we booked. Very luxurious accommodation with all facilities you would need, underfloor heating, spa bath, and incredible stove. Lovely garden to use, wonderful welcome hamper. hidden away but minutes from Pitlochry. This is very well priced considering the level of accommodation out there and we would only look to book here in the future!! If you are looking to stay in perthshire , whatever the time of year, this is the place. Robes, slippers, comfy beds, TVs in the rooms and a fab coffee maker. Thanks Loretta for a perfect stay!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2014
Thank you for your enthusiastic endorsement. We look forward to seeing you (and family)again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VICKI G
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 13 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here for three nights and really didnt want to leave!
The hosts made us feel really at home. Plenty of extra added luxury bits and all the comforts you could think of. Lush gardens full of produce. Surrounded by woodland you could almost think you were middle of nowhere. But its a great base of exploring Killiecrankie and Pitlochry and everwhere in between. Amazing inside and out.
We cant wait to get back next year, if we can wait that long.
A real wee gem. Great value for money.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We too are looking forward to your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vesta200
1 review
“Beautiful cottage in a nice tranquil area”
Reviewed 12 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Just back from are second stay at this cottage and would highly recommend it! Cottage is well appointed with all the comforts you'd expect plus a few very nice touches. It is secluded enough to make it feel special but close enough to the town of Pitlochry so there is lots to do on a holiday and I am always greeted with a warm welcome on arrival and felt so at ease straight away. Thank you for a fantastic stay

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2014
Thank you for your kind comments. We are delighted that the cottage lives up to its billing and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing