We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fab place, fab location, fab hosts!”
other travellers have booked this property
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
62 reviews
View from The Cow Shed living room across Glen Garry
Cow Shed livingroom
Cow Shed Bedroom with super kingsize or twin beds
Cow Shed Entrance & courtyard
Cow Shed kitchen
Spacious bedroom (super kingsize or twin) at the rear
The wood burner takes logs & coal
Open plan livingroom / kitchen
Cow Shed wood buring stove
Cow Shed bathroom with modern electric shower
Cow Shed decking, ideal for taking in the fabulous sunsets
Cow Shed bedroom
Cow Shed dining
Morning river mist seen from The Cow Shed
A frosty view from the Cow Shed looking north up the glen
Aerial shot - The Cow Shed is in the building group just left & below centre
Summit rocks on Ben y Vrackie, above Pitlochry
View of Glen Garry (our glen) on a walk out from The Cow Shed
Lettoch Cottages
Beinn A' Ghlo - our local munro
Beinn a' Ghlo - our nearest munro is 10 minutes drive away
Lettoch is almost dead centre of the shot, taken from the other side of Glen Garry
Morning mist. Shot taken from the front door looking south.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Pitlochry, Perth and Kinross, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 62 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Emma W
Newport, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fab place, fab location, fab hosts!”
Reviewed 27 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We've just come back from a week at the Cow Shed, and I only wish we could have stayed another week!

We had a friendly welcome from Kirsty, who had just left us some fresh bread and cakes, which were very gladly received. The accommodation itself is immaculate, beautifully presented and in the most beautiful location you can imagine. Everything we needed was provided, even the little things that you normally wish you'd remembered to bring, like hand soap, kitchen roll etc - it's attention to detail like this that really makes a difference. Every room was decorated and furnished to a really high standard, with a lot of thought obviously having been put into the place.

The view from the deck at the front is breathtaking, and we were so lucky to have great weather, enabling us to sit out on the deck in the evening, beer in hand.

There is so much to do in the local area; endless walks, beauty spots, castles, shops etc etc etc. A lot of local information is provided in the Cow Shed, leaflets, walking booklets, even a bespoke Ordnance Survey map!

We saw Steve and Kirsty a couple of times during the week, and they were very friendly, even worrying about us when they thought we had been caught up in a massive hail / rain storm!

I wouldn't hesitate to recommend the Cow Shed to anyone who wants a luxury relaxing break in a lovely spot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JuneK1863...
Whitby, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect”
Reviewed 23 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We have just had the pleasure of spending a week in the Cow Shed - such a pleasure that we are returning in 6 weeks time and planning a holiday next year! The Cow Shed provides the best planned accommodation for 2 we have enjoyed in many, many years of self catering. It is spacious and well equipped with wonderful open views. We particularly liked the shower room with a good shower and very useful shelving next to the hand basin. Small points, perhaps, but they make such a difference to the enjoyment of self catering. In the kitchen there were treats from the excellent bakery and tea room in Blair Atholl awaiting our arrival and toiletries in the shower room. As if the Cottage itself was not enough to make a return visit attractive an added bonus was the open, friendly and very welcoming personalities of the owners, Kirsty and Steve. The Cow Shed is 5 star in every way!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality and layout
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2013
Looking forward to having you both back. Fingers crossed the weather's not too hot for walking! See you at the end of August.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison K
Redcar, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Had a wonderful holiday at the Cowshed and already planning next visit.”
Reviewed 13 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

Steve and Kirsty made us so welcome with the lovely breads, cakes, bagels, milk and eggs and were very friendly and helpful during our visit. The Cowshed was spotlessly clean with lots of extras like soaps and shower gels, DVDs and books, binoculars and information about local walks to name but a few.
The spacious and well equipped kitchen made cooking very easy and we made all our evening meals in the cottage (though there were pubs and restaurants within a 5 minute drive). As we visited during a heat wave we enjoyed sitting on the decking every evening watching the sun set.
Walks and wildlife are plentiful too, some on the doorstep and some only a 10 minute drive away. All in all a brilliant holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Clean, well furnished and equipped, comfortable beds, friendly owners
Liked least: Can't think of anything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martfink
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“One of if not THE best holiday cottage we have stayed in..........”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

We were welcomed by Kirsty as the first guests at The Cow Shed and instantly made to feel at home.

The cottage has been very thoughtfully renovated and is well appointed with more than adequate space for two people. The log burner in the living area is a lovely addition and alhough we didnt need to supplement the other heaters we lit it anyway.

The kitchen is well stocked even for the most adventurous chef and shares the same stunning views over the valley as the living space.
The bedroom is again spacious with a HUGE comfortable bed. Toilet and shower room was well finished and had a great shower which sadly too many rentals lack.

We were only there for a long weekend so didnt get to explore as much as we would have liked and would certainly take the bikes next time we stay. Good places to visit include;

Old Mill Bakery & Teahouse - Great cakes and breads and the rarity that is a good cup of coffee in Scotland!!
Blair Castle & Gardens
Ben Vrackie (half day walk)
House of Bruar
Pitlochry (shops, dam and fishing)
Queens View (with a bungee jump en route if you dare!!)

In summary, a perfect luxury home from home cottage, very well appointed and we will be back very soon!!

Thanks to Kirsty & Steve for a great stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Only having a lonmg weekend to stay!!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
Martin /Susan, you set a great trend as our first guests because everyone else coming behind you have also been great. Thanks for the lovely comments in the visitor book and for setting this exciting venture of ours rolling. Hope to see you again sometime. All the best, Kirsty & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jarob2423...
NE Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“One of Scotland's best”
Reviewed 21 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

The Cow Shed is one of the best self catering properties I have ever stayed in. The cottage is immaculate, beautifully presented and in a fantastic location. It is also extremely reasonable in price, considering the quality on offer. The complimentary bread was fantastic and the wood and coals for the fire was extremely generous. Holidaying in Bonnie Scotland has never been so good!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2013
Thanks for the review James. Enjoyed having you guys here. Good luck with your new adventure this year! All the best, Kirsty & Steve.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing