We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New County Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbank House Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 120
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salutation Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 174
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Parklands(Perth)
US$ 86
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Perth Broxden Junction(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 61
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Perth Central(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
255
270
152
59
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
270
152
59
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealon arrivalfirst floorcourse mealcar parkbit datedexcellent value for moneyfull scottish breakfastan overnight staycentral locationweekend breakshort stayblack puddingtwin roomstayed for one nightcooked breakfasttown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I booked the New County because it was central and cheap after my daughter was invited to Perth for a birthday party. I have to be honest that I didn't have any great expectations but I would come back here in a heartbeat. The twin room was comfortable and very clean (beds were very comfy) and the lounge and bar were also very pleasant. I'd hired a road bike for the weekend and they didn't blink when I asked if I could store it somewhere on the ground floor. Breakfast was good (just what the doctor ordered after partaking of a beer or three post cycling) and the staff couldn't have been friendlier. It's not the Hilton, but for the money I paid it was a super couple of nights. Highly recommended

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New C, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear GeorgeM

Thank you kindly for your awesome review
very much appreciated
i am glad everything was too your satisfaction and i am pleased we managed to store your bike safely
look forward to seeing you again in the future

Kind Regards
Richard Green
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

My partner and I had booked just for 1 night on our way through Perth, however, was not quite to the standard we were expecting. Accessing the entrance to the hotel was a little tricky due to pavement works at the time, however, there was no indication as to how we should access the hotel otherwise... but this was a small issue. The main lobby/reception area was actually rather nice and looked like it had been recently updated, however with this comes some assumption that the rest of the hotel is like this - which unfortunately, it is not (although the room info pack does say there are renovations to be done). The room itself was pleasant albeit quite outdated, however, there was a slight stagnant smell of cigarettes about the bathroom and some areas of mould in the tile sealant. There were fresh towels and coffee/tea/milk available and clean well made beds and the breakfast had a decent selection of cereals and snacks and a tasty cooked breakfast (though a little on the small side - not sure you'd usually get 1/2 a black pudding!). There was, however, a couple of bigger issues. The first being the lack of hot water during our stay which we did enquire about 2 times and were assured it would be sorted, though unfortunately it wasn't. The explanation we were given on check out was that the boiler was old and had 'packed in'. Sadly, if we had read the previous reviews we would have realised this has been an issue previously and wouldn't have stayed. Unfortunately whilst the receptionist was very apologetic there was no offer of any sort of discount on our stay (despite the inconvenience for all guests) and complaining is not something I like to do, especially in front of other people. I feel this issue could have been handled a little better and resolved to ensure a more pleasant trip. The second issue was the noise levels within the hotel - I know the structure of the place is a little tricky to re-do but I could hear the next room snoring and people walking up and down the corridors in the night - just be aware the walls are a little thin! I'd recommend people to do their research before booking a place to stay as this was a little expensive for the quality.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Manon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

To start with this was the worst experience I’ve ever had in one of the Perth hotels . I have been traveling to Perth for years and had no alternative but to book this disgusting hotel , NEVER AGAIN ! It won’t put me off going to Perth as I love the place . Cleaners don’t do what there supposed to they seem to spend all there time at the rear entrance hanging and lazing around . If your thinking of making a complaint be aware the manager is intimidating and allows the other staff with no experience to make decisions. The rooms are a mess , the shower works when it wants to . It is impossible to actually contact the owners of this place do they really know what they are paying this dreadful staff for !

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank 284betty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New C, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Dear 284Betty

First of all my cleaners do a wonderful job and secondly they do not hang about and laze around
they have their break at the rear entrance to which they are entitled to do so and i can assure you that is not all the time
and i am not intimidating as you says and i allow staff to make decisions that is not true at all
i am very approachable and listen very carefully to all guests queries and complaints
should you have approached me you would have had no problems and my staff will verify that
you also says the rooms are a mess in what way are they a mess
ive never had any complaints over the weekend you stayed
again i have had no complaints about showers not working
and i also write that we do not have dreadful staff here
we have very hard working staff including myself
who work very hard
again did you mention anything on check in or check-out
about your so called room being a mess
rather than write untrue things on trip advisor
which can be very damaging for a business

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2018

We came to Perth for a short break and got, what appeared to be, a very good deal to stay at this hotel. It was only £117 for 3 nights in a double room. If you are thinking of staying in Perth then make sure THEY give you money to stay here because no one should have to put up with this in the 21st century. Quite the worst hotel we have ever had the misfortune to stay in. Reception staff surly, and miserable, with poor levels of basic English. Dingy rooms which, not only need some TLC, but some understanding of what visitors/customers actually want. Noisy plumbing in the room next door was not attended to, until the 3rd day of complaining. Pathetic and Shambolic. For a hotel to be like this, in such an excellent location, I could go on, but would there be a point. Do not go.....even if you get what appears to be a good deal. Mr Angry

Room Tip: Choose another Hotel
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank DuncM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2018 via mobile

my advise is to avoid this hotel completely . my wife tryed shower in the morning didn't work she had left it hanging down and the knobs still on . returned back into bathroom to find it flooded she tripped and knocked a can of beer over that was sitting on the sink . I offered to clean the mess which wouldn't take long .nothing was damaged . The staff were very rude and aggressive and made it out to be a huge thing . They charged me 100 pound for there faulty shower .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
5  Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New C, Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2018

Dear David

A Very untrue statement you have written and i have photographs and other staff members to prove it
you say it was one can of beer knocked over
well why was it all over the tiles and ceiling and all over the door and all over the floor
there was nothing wrong with the shower when my staff checked it
it was working perfectly
also the room was a mess
there was also pills lying on the floor
and also a bag with a broken mirror in it
a member of staff could have had a very nasty cut if they had lifted the bag
the room couldn't be sold because of the mess
and the fumes of strong alcohol etc
and it took my staff 3 hrs to clean the guiuness stains off the tiles,ceiling and doors
and there was also stains on the carpet from spilled alcohol
the reason you where charged £100 and it wasn't for a faulty shower - it was to cover costs for not being able to sell the room in the evening
and to bring an extra member of staff in to clean the mess in the room
and none of my staff where rude or aggressive
Also my Night porter informed me in the morning that you came back in to the hotel
at around 2am very drunk and was playing a guitar in the function room and making a noise
that also resulted in a customers complaining to me
when they checked out in the morning


Kind Regards
Richard Green
Duty Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews