We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New County Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
US$ 91
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$ 118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Perth(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 76
US$ 74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sunbank House Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 119
US$ 107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Parklands(Perth)
US$ 86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Salutation Hotel(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 91
US$ 77
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$ 87
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Travelodge Perth Broxden Junction(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 57
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Perth A9(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 61
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Perth Central(Perth)(Great Value!)
US$ 68
Travelodge
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Reviews (801)
Filter reviews
801 results
Traveller rating
255
270
152
59
65
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
255
270
152
59
65
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealon arrivalfirst floorcourse mealcar parkbit datedexcellent value for moneyfull scottish breakfastan overnight staycentral locationweekend breakshort stayblack puddingtwin roomstayed for one nightcooked breakfasttown centre
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
689 - 694 of 801 reviews
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Really nice hotel in Perth. Gentleman on reception was very helpful, directing us to a car park which wouldn't cost us a lot. All public areas were very impressive.
We were given a room on the second floor, but I had requested a low floor. We had just entered our room when the gentleman from reception arrived to say a mistake had been made and we could have a room on the first floor immediately. Room was lovely, good size and very clean. A small "ante room" with a sofa and table led into the bedroom. Bathroom was spotless. Lovely fluffy towels. Air con in room which was a bonus, even although middle of winter, the rooms were very warm and air con helped cool it down a bit.
We ate in the hotel and meal was lovely. Two courses £20.00. Service was excellent and staff again were very pleasant.
Usual fried breakfast with nothing to complain about.
Lots of bars and restaurants in immediate vicinity. Would stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a low floor as stairs are rather narrow and winding.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiggyMac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2012

May we take this opportunity to thank you for your recent review. We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and we look forward to accommodating you the next time you visit Perth.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

We stayed in the hotel, with friends. The location was great if visiting the town, apart from the parking, which was problematical. The room was small, to the rear, which we thought would have been quiet. Unfortunately, that is the case for traffic, but not for the "night owls" who seem to appear from the nearby disco/night club from 1a.m. onwards. I was glad to get home for a night's sleep. The internal stairs are a nightmare, very difficult to get anywhere, due to small treads and tight angles !!! The staff were delightful and the public areas are well maintained and very pleasant. We would go back, but probably use public transport.

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for one in the centre. There are a few that circle round an inner yard.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gastronaut_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2012

just had an excellent quality , and great value meal in Gavins Bistro at New County.
Super set menu and a specials board.
2 kids at 9 and 13 and 2 adults ate for £70 including gratuity and drinks.
friendly welcome , courteous service and high quality food all at excellent value for money

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank david r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Many thanks for your positive feedback about the service and the food you received and i will pass on your comments to my staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2012

Just returned from a nights stay in The New County Hotel to celebrate my friends 40th birthday. What a fantastic city centre hotel just 5 mins walk from the train station. Rooms were modern, comfortable and immaculately clean, likewise are the restaurants and public areas where the decor is gorgeous. Unfortunately didn't eat in the hotel as we had prebooked elsewhere, however we will def give it a go on a return visit if the breakfast was anything to go by!! The Staff were all very helpful and could not offer to do enough for us, all with a smile on their face! Would definitely return here and would have no hesitation in recommending the hotel for a good value weekend break, or more!!

Room Tip: If you do have difficulty with stairs ask for a room on the 1st floor as it is a rather steep staircase.
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Polly186531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General M, General Manager at New County Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Many thanks for the positive comments that you have given our hotel and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us.
I have passed on your comments to all the staff and we looking forward welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2012

We booked a long weekend for a birthday bash in Perth and we stayed in the New County, what a great choice. The room was very clean, warm and comfortable, the only thing missing was a bath mat for the tiled floor when getting out of the shower.
We ate in Gavin's Bistro each night and the food was first class, as was the breakfast with a very good choice on the menu, all served by very pleasant and helpful staff.
The only down side (if it is a down side) is no lift, but only having 2 floors it's not a great problem (don't, like me, forget your room key).
If you're travelling by bus or train this hotel is 5 minutes walk from both and in the town centre.
Whenever we are back in Perth we know where to stay, we will be back...

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BigMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews