We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (530)
Filter reviews
530 results
Traveller rating
262
171
61
25
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
262
171
61
25
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the penthouse sister hotel from start to finish prawn cocktail dinner bed and breakfast room was spotless leisure facilities first class wedding meal course meal overnight stay lovely meal attending a wedding following morning comfy bed itison deal member of staff
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 530 reviews
Reviewed 9 October 2018

I visit this area quite regularly for business and have been trying to find a hotel where I can get a good night's sleep and a decent meal.
Gailes looked promising from the web-site. It is in a quiet area and the restaurant seemed quite nice at first glance.
Sadly though it turned out to be pretty much the same as most of the other hotels in this area.
Namely;
1. Paper thin walls & creaky floors so you can hear every sound coming from the rooms left, right and above. I honestly thought there were 3 or 4 people in my room at one point.
2. Restaurant menu is fine but on one of the nights I thought the only way to get attention from the staff was going to be to run around naked screaming in a loud voice.

It's a pity but the search for a hotel in this area that I would like to stay at more than once continues....

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank abcadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Just home from having dinner at the Gailes Hotel. Not our first visit but it has been a while. Have to say that the new menu is quite exciting, some lovely dishes. Looking forward to another visit soon.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rjbxll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for you great review. Glad to hear the team looked after you so well and you enjoyed the choice and quality of food.

Hopefully you don't leave it as long till your next visit.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

We have been regulars for lunch, perhaps once a month or so, for several years. Staff are always friendly and attentive. The menu is fairly large with additional specials and we always manage to find something tasty and satisfying. The quality of the food is generally excellent, although there have been occasional hiccups when dishes have been sent back.

Despite these rare occasions, we shall remain regulars and always look forward to a nice meal.

We have not used the hotel.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for your continued custom. I am delighted to hear the team look after you so well and the range of food caters your needs.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Lovely rooms. Breakfast was excellent and lots to choose from. Staff very friendly and helpful. Stayed there while family attending a wedding. Easy to get to but a bit in the middle of nowhere though.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank MQ55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. I am delighted to hear the team looked after you so well.

Look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018 via mobile

I just want to thank the whole team at the Gailes for making my sisters wedding day an absolute success!!

The venue - beautiful
Service - flawless
Prices - very good
Our room - modern, clean, close to wedding
Food - 4 courses, great options
Breakfast - Just what we needed

Big shout out to the wedding planner, she was always there when needed, very
Helpful to all guests and especially those who were Disabled or just needed some help.

Also Colin the bar tender! What a guy, could not
Have been more helpful. Assisted taking drinks to our table and just made an effort to make conversation with us, constantly clearing glasses and asking if we were ok! Good asset to you guys!

Venue is beautiful, rooftop ceremony room was a surprise and is just amazing!!

Thanks again guys you done my sister proud

Brides brother room 14

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank jonboy1314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SimpsInns, Manager at Gailes Restaurant and Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Good Afternoon

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a great and comprehensive review.

We are all delighted that we were able to play such a big part in your sisters special day.

We look forward to seeing you back with us soon.

Glen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews