We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great wee place in a very rural setting!”
other travellers have booked this property
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800 Main room - so cosy!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
77 reviews
'The Bothy' - peace and quiet
The original 'Wester Marchhead' built circa 1800
Main room - so cosy!
The view from The Bothy garden looking North
Lossiemouth West Beach - not another soul in sight!
Spring Rhododendron
Kitchenette
The bathroom
With shower
View from kitchenette into main room
The Bothy's stunning view of the Mosstowie Valley
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Elgin, Moray, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 77 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Gordon R
Munich, Germany
1 review
“A great wee place in a very rural setting!”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Fiona was a welcoming but unobtrusive hostess. The bothy was a cozy and an ideal place for getting away from it all for my son and myself. Sat-Nav is recommended although Fiona's information was most helpful. Many thanks!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peace and quiet
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Dec 2015
Thank you so much for taking the time and trouble to write a review. It was lovely to meet you both and I hope we will see you again in the future. We wish you and your family a very merry Christmas and a happy 2016.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jamandae1
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

What a wonderful find so peaceful and relaxing. From the lovely hosts, who left me in peace all week but where there when i needed them and you won't meet nicer people. To the Bothy so cosy with all you need and the most comfortable bed. Secluded and lovely views. Can't wait to go back.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
What a lovely review - thank you! We're delighted that you found The Bothy peaceful and cosy. And the best recommendation of all is that you would like to come back! We look forward very much to welcoming you again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham M
1 review
“Excellent”
Reviewed 18 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We were greeted by Fiona on arrival , very welcome after a long drive,
Milk and coffee were waiting for us in 'the Bothy'
Excellent base to visit relatives in Forres, we even saw some dolphins in Spay bay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: very small shower,
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
Tea, coffee and biccys - a must for our guests after a long journey!We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and how fabulous to have seen the dolphins here in the Moray Firth. Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review and we look forward very much to welcoming you both again. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
905melani...
Ontario, Canada
1 review
“Very Peaceful”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Thank You Fiona for a wonderful stay.
The Brothy was so cozy right down to the tea and cookies. It is the perfect place to stay for doing day trips.
You made our first visit to Scotland perfect.

Shawn and Melanie
Ontario,Canada

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The peacefulness
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
How lovely that you have taken the trouble to write a review on your return to Ontario - I am delighted that you enjoyed The Bothy - tea & cookies, all part of the service! It was great to meet you both and thank you for choosing to stay with us. We look forward to your return visit! Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steven D
Edinburgh
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great place to escape the rat race for a few days”
Reviewed 29 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Atmospheric & cosy little venue - ideal for cosying up & reading that book you never have time to start - & that's only if weather bad - Lossiemouth for ice cream, wide unusual streets, fast jets & beaches in the sun with findhorn & Forres also well worth a visit locally with plenty other places to explore if you have time - very relaxing spot

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2015
I'm always thrilled to hear that our guests have had a happy stay with us - thank you for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review for others to read. Kind regards Fiona
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing