We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely peaceful in the forest by Loch Ness”
other travellers have booked this property
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
Rowan Cottage
Your Highland Hideaway!
Charming timber cottage for 4 near Loch Ness.  Dogs welcome.
Rowan Cottage
Rowan Cottage in the 1930's. Great Uncle, Father and other relatives enjoy the sunshine!
Part of the garden at Rowan Cottage
Sitting room
Sittling room
Sunroom
Dogs welcome!
Double bedroom
Relax....
Winter wonderland
Rowan Cottage in Spring
Fun in Loch Ness!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cabin -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Loch Ness, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Andrew B
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely peaceful in the forest by Loch Ness”
Reviewed 1 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Just back from a great stay at Rowan Cottage. The cottage is lovely in a very quiet and peaceful location in the forest just a few minutes from Loch Ness. Janet the owner was really friendly and helpful with information and leaving goodies for the family and dog. We loved the views from the garden of the forest and our labrador dog, Amber loved the garden.
Rowan cottage is in Inverfarigaig forest and we went on many lovely walks that included fabulous views of Loch Ness. Just up the road is Foyers which has a beautiful waterfall and a couple of nice places to eat lunch and have a tea and cake. The cottage is equipped with everything you could possibly need for your stay. The children 12 and 10 loved looking at the stars at night with the telescope. The cottage has a good internet connection and WIFI as well as free satellite TV and board games that kept us amused at night after we returned from dinner that we had at The Dores Inn or Whitebridge Hotel.
An excellent stay and we hope to visit again.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2016
Thank you for your lovely review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back.
Kind regards
Janet
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
madrigle6...
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Absolutely fantastic holiday !”
Reviewed 17 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We have just returned from a wonderful week away at Rowan cottage....Janet made the cottage so comfortable and welcoming for us with an amazing welcome pack ...which even included treats for our dog , tea and biscuits for me and whiskey for my husband ! ...we were all absolutely delighted ! ...the cottage was perfect for us and we had a very relaxing time there...We wished we could have stayed another week or two ! It was so cosy and very well equipped with everything you may require from a home from home. The location is fantastic with lots and lots of wonderful doggie walks all around the area...even from the doorstep you can explore the beautiful Farigaig Forest...the views from the porch are breathtaking ...I would never tire of waking up to that view every morning !...we very much look forward to returning in the summer to enjoy long summer evenings sitting on the porch and watching the local wildlife and as the sun goes down....bliss....This truly is a unique cottage with huge character and charm ...the owner Janet is so friendly and helpful and it is a joy to find accommodation as wonderful as this that welcomes your four legged friend(s) too !! We can't wait to return....

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything !
Liked least: Having to return home at the end of our stay !
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Dec 2015
Thank you! We are so pleased that you enjoyed your holiday at Rowan Cottage and we look forward to welcoming you back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sarah C
1 review
“The ideal scottish cottage experience”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

We stayed in Rowan Cottage for 3 nights and had a wonderful time. We used the cottage as a base to explore the surrounding area and took day trips to near-by Loch Ness and Inverness before traveling on through the highlands.
We were welcomed to the cottage by waiting treats (shortbread, a dram and some snacks for our canine companion) and enjoyed cosy evenings in watching some TV, movies from the DVD selection available, playing boardgames and reading a book on Scottish history that was to hand.
The grounds were perfect for exercising our dog and he loved bounding through the heather.
Additionally the kitchen came complete with everything you'd need for your stay and we were able to prepare all our meals with the utmost convenience.
The owners were lovely and very generous in providing folders of local information for hikes, drives, tours etc and ensuring our stay was as comfortable as possible.
And, a final bit of praise, the bath and shower were both excellent!
Rowan Cottage couldn't come more highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Waking up to stunning views and utter tranquility
Liked least: I nearly lost a trainer to a hidden bog near the back of the land - explore with wellies!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
64Shelley...
Wantage, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect hide away”
Reviewed 30 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

An amazing place to stay. The home comforts and wonderful welcome gifts made it memorable. We were lucky with the weather and enjoyed the changing scenery. The owner is very knowledgeable and informative about the area. A joy to have stayed there. My only problem is it is too far to pop back to.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It was modern but had it's unique history still.
Liked least: Lack of wildlife - we were just unlucky
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Purplewol...
1 review
“A perfect getaway”
Reviewed 26 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Rowan cottage was absolutely fantastic. Amazing location, charming log cabin and incredible 'garden'. Everything needed was there and more. Loads of brochures and info on area meant we had plenty to do. There was a nice welcome of drinks and snacks and the owners were incredibly helpful. We didn't have the best weather and yet loved every second of our holiday. The cottage was a fantastic place to go back to after a day's exploring this amazing area. Thank you xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing