We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect cottage to explore Skye and gairloch”
other travellers have booked this property
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Relax in our comfortable seating with our signature Harris Tweed and a real fire. This largest bedroom has a 6ft super king bed and plenty of space for a cot if required.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Front of house - set against woodland overlooking Loch Alsh with views to Skye
Relax in our comfortable seating with our signature Harris Tweed and a real fire.
This largest bedroom has a 6ft super king bed and plenty of space for a cot if required.
Real log fire
The TV room/Snug makes the house popular with families.
This bedroom can be configured as a double (6ft) bed or two single beds, made up with cotton linen.
This twin bedroom is made up with crisp pure cotton linen and with blackout blinds.
Well equipped kitchen to take advantageof super local produce.
There is ample drying space both inside and out
View over Lochlash to Glen Elg penisula and Skye from the house
Well behaved dogs are welcome in public areas at a small extra charge
Eilean Donan Castle is just 5 miles away - get up at dawn for the best photos.
View over Lochalsh towards Skye.
Deer come close to the house. This very wet one hopped over the fence into the garden
There is a network of livestock and traffic free paths direct from the house.
The delightful Glen Elg Ferry in its new 2014 livery.
The Skye Bridge is just 5 miles away.
Otter at Glen Elg.  The area is great for wildlife watching on and off the sea.
The house has plenty of space for families to gather or escape for a while
House in the snow.
Being close the to coast, the house is rarely inaccessible but the area is lovely in the snow.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Kyle of Lochalsh, Lochalsh, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Babs J
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Perfect cottage to explore Skye and gairloch”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Second visit to Varis and every bit as good as last year the new windows have improved the views so much. Accommodation is brilliant and the cottage is very clean with crisp white linen,very comfortable beds and the kitchen is very well appointed.
Wonderful weather so we really enjoyed the evening sun in the garden with pre dinner drinks and snacks
Barbara Eason

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 May 2017
Thanks Barbara.
Returning this year was itself a great endorsement and I'm glad you found everything in order. See you again soon, I hope.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catriona...
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Awesome Family Self Catering in the Highlands”
Reviewed 5 May 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We visited the house for 1 week over my youngest daughter's 5th birthday as she loves fairies (and there are fairies on Skye hehe)

Booking the house was really easy and I was delighted that we could bring our doggy too....

On arrival the house was spotless, and a lovely welcome note including a few balloons, marshmallows and sticks (for burning on the fire) - a lovely touch for my daughter's birthday.

The fire was also stocked and there was a very good comprehensive welcome book with how everything worked etc.

Great comfortable beds and general lodgings with a lovely big sitting/ dining room, snug, good sized kitchen and those all important 2 bathrooms. The bedrooms were also well proportioned.

Needless to say the fire was a favourite as was the lovely garden grounds which lead to great forest trails. The views were also magnificent and an added touch was the eco friendly emphasis on the property.

Will definitely stay again...

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2017
Thanks Cat. It's great to be able to make children feel especially welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jeremy D
2 reviews
“Great accommodation in a fabulous location”
Reviewed 17 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

I've been meaning to go back to this area for over twenty years - I definitely won't be leaving it so long again. Its a fair trek from our home (~600 miles), but well worth it. The location is perfect - we explored all of Skye and most of the surrounding mainland. We also managed to fit in a scenic route home via the Cairngorms! We are a family of five and this accommodation is a great size for us - we never felt squashed. I love the separate snug with a tv - sometimes the kids used this whilst we sat in the lounge enjoying the fire or the view. If you pushed me for a criticism, it would be that the electric shower isn't as powerful as the mains pressure water, but this wasn't an issue for us as we used the bath predominantly. I hope to return to this area soon and I'd be more than happy to use Varis again if its available.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thanks for that Jeremy. We have learnt that guests like the choices we give by having the giant sitting/dining room and the snug TV room - and by having the choice of a shower room and bathroom.
We've plans to upgrade the shower room so hopefully 5 stars on your next visit.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLoonAb...
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“One of the best!”
Reviewed 4 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

In many years of holiday rentals I can safely say that this was one of the best furnished and equipped houses we have rented. Presentation was superb, including a welcoming tray of local produce and a bottle of wine. Staying here was a real pleasure - if only the weather had been more welcoming! A very comfortable house and thoroughly recommended.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you so much. We try - not for absolute perfection (as its OK to drop crumbs on the floor) but to ensure you enjoy being in the house as much as being outside - especially when the weather is uncooperative
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John B
West Kirby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal For Us”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Varis at Balmacara was ideal for us just set midway between the castle of Eilean Donan and Kyle of Lochalsh and the Skye bridge with easy access to the mainland and Skye.
It is dawgie friendly with a large hill with deer directly behind and to the side of the property, wifi included and is spacious and comfortable, we'd certainly use the property again if visiting Skye.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jun 2016
Thanks so much. Look forward to seeing you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 150
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing