We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Highly recommended! 👍🏼”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Moorings

lounge and dining area
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch looking across living room towards kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
64 reviews
lounge and dining area
Stunning views across the sea loch
looking across living room towards kitchen
beautiful ever changing scenes on the Loch
View from upper Mezzanine bedroom
Kitchen and stairs to mezzanine floor
our development
actual holiday home
view or TV up to you to decide
Changable Mood lighting to all the home
view back to the single beds
large shower room
view from from window
view in winter from front living room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 64 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
LeviSewel...
Hebburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Highly recommended! 👍🏼”
Reviewed 13 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This is the second time myself and my partner have stayed in this lodge within 6 months - we just had to go back! I cannot fault the accommodation in any way. It is a very well kept, clean lodge. Chris is very friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble. Da offers amazing massages which I would highly recommend also. The location couldn't be any better and this is definitely a place we will frequently be returning to. I can't wait until we can book up again!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2016
Thanks Levi looking forward to seeing you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachael P
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“There are many places to stay in Fort William. But you should really stay here.”
Reviewed 6 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

Stayed here in February and had a great week. The house is first class, perfect for returning after a day in the hills (the steam/shower was very welcome). The view is wonderful and we even managed a short February BBQ on the loch side. Chris and Da are great hosts and gave us some great tips.
The location is excellent Fort William is somewhat rundown, but it has everything you need and the surrounding landscape is stunning. We managed 2 days up high in the snow - Glencoe is 45 mins and Nevis Range about 10 minutes. I can recommend the train to Malaig (especially if you have Harry Potter fans with you) and the walk to the waterfalls.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
The sauna shower is proving a big hit with many folks who stay here.
Thank you for your great review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daprince6...
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“There are other cottages in Fort William. Stay in this one.”
Reviewed 4 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

At the risk of repeating everything else in the previous reviews this place is mint. February Half term, we skied and we looked out the windows and we had a really nice time. Friendly couple handy for the bright lights of Fort Bill and the train to Mallaig. It really is as good as it looks and nothing in this life ever is except oddly this. Book it or someone else will.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Steam shower was fun but always being warm was better.
Liked least: It is on the main A road but to be honest you don't really see to hear it.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your beautiful review, we hope to see you again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adam E
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
1 review
“Perfect property for relaxing break”
Reviewed 4 January 2016 for a stay in December 2014

We booked in for Christmas having been wowed by the online photographs both of the property and views from it.

We had superb communication from Chris the owner from the first point of contact. His wife Da met us on arrival and was very warm and welcoming. My wife had forgotten her hairdryer and Da was more than happy to lend her one.

The house is new but not lacking in character. It has been beautifully designed and we spent plenty of time in each room playing games, watching films, reading and generally having fun.

The steam room inside in the double shower is excellent. I used this daily and the radio inside the shower is a nice added bonus.

The Open plan living is perfect for a couple with two children s we interchanged rooms depending on what we fancied doing. We did spend a lot of time inside due to the wet blustery weather but were never bored.

I can't say enough about this house as the photos say it all really. It's a great location, the prices are brilliant, the owners get the balance of interaction just right jd everything within the house is set up to make for the most relaxing holiday. It's a home away from home.

Directly across the road there is the beach on the loch. We spent lots of time with the children skimming stones here. You can also walk along the beach into town which takes bout twenty minutes. We would also run into town too as there is a suitable footpath.

Also, my wife would recommend Da's massages. A week on her body feels better than ever!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The airy open plan living which created a sense of space
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thanks Adam when your happy we are happy too, only wish the weather had been better for you.
Hope to see you again sometime in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tony M
1 review
“Recommend to anyone. Such a beautiful place.”
Reviewed 27 December 2015 for a stay in December 2015

My girlfriend and I stayed here for almost a week and loved every minute. Both of us were 18 at the time of going and had the most brilliant of times. The home itself has stunning views and the bedroom has a huge TV with Netflix and dozens of channels if you're wanting to relax. When going out, the town of Fort William is very pretty and with the Nevis Range easily accessible, it makes for a very beautiful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The entire bottom floor war perfect. Kitchen, bedroom, living room. Amazing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Jan 2016
Thank you Tony for your welcomed comments, we really enjoyed having you here please do come again
Yours Chris and Da
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing