We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“The standard by which others should be measured”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Lodge

West Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View Lounge and wood fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View
Lounge and wood fire
Lounge and wood fire.
Upstairs Bedroom
Upstairs bath
Patio
Kitchen
Dining area and sliding doors to patio
Downstairs bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
kellie50
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The standard by which others should be measured”
Reviewed 13 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

This 2 bedroom 2 bath cottage set the bar for our trip. Joan and John have great attention to detail. And the cottage has everything you need from fire starter to candles and even welcome local treats and a card. The living room warm and cozy and they bathrooms luxurious with a lovely modern soaker tub complete w bubble bath. Heated floors in the kitchen and bathroom a great treat. Olive oil balsamic vinegar salt and pepper and ice were appreciated as well. A visit to her b&b on grange and the new cottage and I don't know which one I liked best.

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annieh444
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
1 review
“Best Cottage EVER”
Reviewed 13 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

We had our first visit to Scotland in July/August. This cottage was beyond our expectations. The quality of furnishing was superb, right down to the crockery etc and attention to detail was amazing . We visited when the weather was not good but we wrapped up and it was a delight to return to underfloor heating and all the other comforts. The views from the property are fantastic and it is a lovely walk from the cottage to Fort William along the shore of the Loch (about a mile or so).
We visited Neptune's staircase, Ben Nevis range including gondola ride, Steall Falls, all of which I would highly recommend.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Q5451UCan...
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Luxury and comfort in stunning setting”
Reviewed 30 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

West Lodge is a traditional cottage which has been restored & refurbished to a very high standard. It is beautifully decorated and presented with a designer's eye for detail. Everything, from soft furnishings to toiletries, is of the best quality. Returning after a day out was delightful, knowing the comforts of the cottage were awaiting us.
We found the owners to be extremely helpful and attentive as well as being genuinely concerned to provide the very best service possible. Even the welcome pack provided for guests is impressive.
This is a superb cottage!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Combination of luxury and comfort
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
npashley
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stunning Cottage in Perfect Location in the Highlands”
Reviewed 14 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful cottage that has been finished to the highest quality. With great views out across the Loch and a nice short distance outside of Fort William it is the perfect base for walking and exploring in the Highlands. The open fire is a great addition and the beds are very comfortable. Both en suite bathrooms are amazing! The kitchen is very well equipped and all in all, this is the perfect place to stay in Fort William.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Quality of Accommodation
Liked least: Price
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
janineeli...
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite simply, excellent in every way!”
Reviewed 13 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

We loved our stay at West Lodge Cottage.
The decor and home comforts were astounding. The owners thought of every little thing to make our visit comfortable, including a very welcome 'Welcome Pack'.It is spotlessly clean which is very much appreciated. The bathrooms are luxurious, the beds are very comfortable and the cosiness and ambience of the cottage is amazing.It was lovely to return to the warmth on returning after a long walk. It is a traditionally styled with modern facilities including a fast Wi-Fi Connection.
The location is superb. It is walking distance to Fort William and a short car ride to the magnificent Glencoe. We were able to do long distance walking.
We saw deer first thing in the morning and the colours of dawn over the Loch were brilliant.
We were even blessed with sunshine, blue skies and snow on the top of the 'Devil's Staircase' Thank you for a wonderful stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$ 200
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing