We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Well appointed, cosy and gorgeous views.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of West Lodge

West Lodge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View Lounge and wood fire
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
31 reviews
West Lodge
Patio and Loch View
Lounge and wood fire
Lounge and wood fire.
Upstairs Bedroom
Upstairs bath
Patio
Kitchen
Dining area and sliding doors to patio
Downstairs bath
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Fort William, Lochaber, Scottish Highlands, Scotland

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 31 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Frith G
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Well appointed, cosy and gorgeous views.”
Reviewed 4 February 2015 for a stay in December 2014

For a "cottage", West Lodge was beautifully appointed. The kitchen contained all the amenities as well as an additional fridge and washer/dryer if one was intending to enjoy an extended stay.
Bathrooms were new, modern and spacious...luxurious! Right down to the provision of gorgeous Penhaligon's body creams and bath products for guest use and enjoyment.
Staying in winter we really appreciated the underfloor heating in the kitchen and downstairs bathroom. The open fire was a favourite with us and many a game of dominoes was enjoyed infront of the crackling fire, glass of red in hand and views of snow falling on the peaks on the other side of Loch Aber, which is literally just across the road!.
We had a magnificent time and hope to get back again soon. We would highly recommend West Lodge.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
markyboy5...
Droitwich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant place to stay”
Reviewed 1 December 2014 for a stay in November 2014

West Lodge is simply stunning, it has been decorated to the very highest of standards, impeccably clean and the views across the loch are breath taking.
West Lodge has everything you need and more for a very relaxing or energetic stay in the highlands, it was like staying in a very modern version of a hunting lodge, just brilliant.
Only real disappointment was, we had to leave!!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gorst1706
Preston
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
Reviewed 17 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Absolutely loved our stay at west lodge, travelled extensively and stayed in various self catering accommodation in Scotland and this was by far the best we have stayed in. Great location for day trips, walking, outdoor activities or a hike up Ben Nevis. West Lodge is a 20 minute walk into Fort William town centre which offers plenty
of options for eating out or a wee tipple. The Campbell's have thought of everything to make this adorable cottage feel like home... I am a little torn as to if I would have preferred internet access, quite liked the fact I was cut off from cyber space but it would have been convenient to make plans and check the mountain weather forecasts. Would love to go back for another
stay in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bob T
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A luxury scottish gem”
Reviewed 5 September 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had previously stayed at Mrs Campbell's other property the old Byre and knew to expect the highest standards of comfort and attention to detail. We were not disappointed. West lodge is a truly stunning cottage. The bathrooms are sumptuous ....just what you need after a hard day in the hills. The cottage is very convenient for the facilities in fort William and you are spoilt for the choice of outdoor activities in the area. This truly is one of the most amazing places we have stayed in Scotland and we plan to return soon.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gcoren
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014
1
person found this review helpful

West Lodge is an idyllic, chocolate box cottage overlooking Loch Linnhe. It's west facing aspect ensures that you can watch the sun go down while enjoying something to drink on the cottage's terrace.

The owners have done a superb job of making this place feel both spacious and intimate. The bedrooms are a delight and have very comfortable beds, ours with a lovely Harris Tweed headboard along with wood panelled walls. Both en suite bathrooms are equipped with sizeable showers and freestanding baths along with underfloor heating. Special attention to detail even goes as far as supplying Penhaligon's toiletries, this shows that the owners understand their market and it's expectations.
The decor throughout is all very Farrow and Ball and the colours chosen compliment the views of the surrounding countryside, which can be enjoyed from the window seat in the living room. There are plenty of opportunities to light candles and in the winter a wood burning fireplace in the living room means that those wishing to stay in the colder months can keep nice and toastie whilst enjoying a dram or two ! Our weather was too good so we didn't use this, sadly ! Equally there is a good flat screen tv and hifi with an all important iPod docking facility. the living room is furnished a lovely comfy Harris tweed sofa and two accompanying armchairs in which to lounge and relax.Wall lights and lamps further enhance the cosy ambience.

What's great about West Lodge is that it it manages to to be both contemporary but also pay respect to it's surrounding and heritage. There is thankfully no twee, pastiche mementoes or chintz which could so easily mar the experience.

The kitchen / dining room is light, airy and well equipped with an induction hob, fan assisted oven and microwave. There are plenty of pots and pans and certainly enough crockery, glass wear and cutlery. From the kitchen bi-fold doors open onto a small terrace with views of the Loch. There is a nice round stone like table and curved benches, and yes we even ate alfresco in Scotland !!

For us it was the perfect bolt hole and really made our holiday to the western highlands a joy. If you decide to go, then please look after it, it deserves to be loved. Do this and you will be rewarded with a wonderful stay.

As an aside, if you are driving up here via the M6 then we'd strongly suggest you to stop off at Tebay services enroute and stock up on provisions. It's an excellent place with a proper butcher's, cheese and deli counter. In fact it's virtually better then Waitrose ! Then, once north of Erskine enjoy the A82 and the majesty of Loch Lomond and Glen Coe.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Not much, internet access would be good, but not a deal breaker.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday home? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing