We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ranked #14 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 2 May 2012

We booked a three night dinner, bed and breakfast break at this hotel at an excellent price. We were given the Sir Jimmy Saville suite which was very spacious. The food was excellent with a good choice and a supplementary menu you could also use at a reasonable supplement. The regular staff were very efficient but there were problems when they were off duty. We had our dog with us and it was good to be able to have her in the lounge area. We enjoyed our stay so much that we stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: Room 16 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brydens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (999)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

708 - 712 of 999 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2012

We originally booked into this hotel for 2 nights but only ended up staying for 11/2. The decor is dated and in need of modernisation. The bathroom was in need of repairs and the windows in the room didn't close tight. We had booked a double room and were given a twin with the beds, which weren't the same height, pushed together and a sheet over the top (not a mattress topper). In the hotel literature it states that there is internet throughout the whole hotel but when we arrived we were told that it was only available in the lobby. The staff were polite though and when we said that we would be checking out early but after the checking out time we were offered a partial refund. This could be a really nice place to stay if the owners spent some money on it updating it before it gets too many bad reviews.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank skygirl1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding party. First impressions on the phone were good, flexible as they allowed us early entry so we could change for the wedding..but then things started to go downhill. The hotel itself is large and more like a motel to be honest. It's very dated with decor looking tired although room itself was very clean. Paint peeling off walls all over the place and leaks in the ceiling. The main problem seemed to be the lack of customer care with a lot of the staff. At the evening meal we were only given one tiny jug of milk for 9 people on a table. Had to ask 3 times for some more, staff just did not seem bothered. The main issue was at breakfast. Was directed to a table then forgotten about. Went up and got a cooked breakfast which tasted excellent but once again had to go and ask for toast 4 times and coffee 3 times and we had finished our breakfast by the time it came. When the girl finally brought our toast it was almost thrown onto the table with a loud "here's your toast" no glasses for the juice had to ask twice for them. When another brought another pot of coffee for another person at the table she put it down right in front of their 4 year old daughter! Thank god she did not try and grab it....the staff all need to go on a customer service course...not one said hello or good morning to us and when I checked out and made my feeling known about breakfast the girl on reception said she would tell the manager, asked for my money and then left..not even a good bye...this is the reason a lot of British hotels close down....you have to offer the customer a excellent experience...complacency will not be accepted nowadays, thinks have moved on but I'm afraid this hotel hasn't.

Stayed: April 2012
Thank Nessie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

I decided last minute to go for a drive with my girlfriend and my mum decided she wanted to come along too, so we set off towards Fort William and decided to book somewhere for the night once there. This hotel was only around £50 - £60 per room for a night so we thought we would give it a try.

The first impression was fantastic because the staff were really friendly and accommodating and upgraded both rooms for free so that we could all be in the same part of the hotel, which was a brilliant start. The food served in the restaurant was brilliant quality and at around £15 per head was great value for money.

The rooms were nothing special, but were clean and had all the facilities you would expect in hotel accomodation, however the pool and jacuzzi, were in great condition so the quality was where it counts.

The next day we decided to try and book a second night at the same hotel so we could travel further north but have somewhere decent to stay the next day. once again the staff renewed our booking and managed to shuffle things around so we could keep the same rooms and again at no additional cost for the upgrades.

We ate in the bar on the second night and the food was really good and quite large portions. The only downside was that the crowd in the bar was a bit more lively but it was a bar after all!

I would recommend this a good stop off if you are looking for somewhere cheap but comfortable to stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peter N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We arrived at this hotel after a long journey to be told we would be better off carrying our own luggage as if we had to wait for a porter it would be a long wait. After struggling 200 yards to the annexe with two cases and two carry bags and a wheelchair for my elderly moither I discovered that we had been given a double bed, this was changed into twins but made us too late to change for the evening meal. The restaurant manageress was rude and we were made to feel like naughty children for daring to take a cup of coffee to our table instead of the lounge, the rudeness continued the next day at breakfast when we were told we couldn't sit together (5 of us) as we had to sit in the places set up. We refused to move and were shouted at again. In this day and age I thought hotels were trying to get customers not drive them away. One of our rooms had no heating, one no hot water, a huge gap in the window frame, no TV connection and hit and miss Wi fi. The reception staff are sulky and un helpful. Not a pleasant experience at all. There is a bucket to catch drips in the ladies powder room as the ceiling is leaking, there is a bad smell of damp in the entertainment lounge and its very cold!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank witcheshouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.8 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#3 of 21 in Fort William
610 reviews
0.8 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
587 reviews
1.4 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
728 reviews
2.5 km away
Cruachan Hotel
Cruachan Hotel
#13 of 21 in Fort William
565 reviews
2.0 km away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club

Address: North Road, Fort William PH33 6TG, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Fort William
Price Range: ₹ 5,157 - ₹ 12,893 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club 3*
Number of rooms: 117
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just on the outskirts of Fort William, at the foot of Ben Nevis, Ben Nevis & Leisure Club offers stunning views of the mountain and is close to the ski slopes of the Nevis Range. The Ben Nevis Hotel and Leisure Club offers a restaurant, a bar, free parking and a Leisure Club with a heated indoor swimming-pool. The hotel’s restaurant, with its views over Ben Nevis, has a table d’hôte menu. Guests can relax in the bar area, and a full Scottish breakfast is served every morning. Access to the Ben Nevis Hotel’s fitness centre is free to all guests. Facilities include a 15-metre long swimming pool, a sauna, as well as a steam room and gym. All the traditionally furnished rooms have a bathroom. Free Wi-Fi is available in public areas and also in Superior Rooms as well as all bedrooms if you book direct. There is also tea and coffee-making facilities and a work desk for guests to use. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ben Nevis Hotel And Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing