We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place to spend time. I wouldnt let me dog stay there next time”
Review of Croit Anna Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Croit Anna Hotel
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I booked this hotel based on some average reviews and as it was one of the only places available on short notice. Now I know why this was. NO ONE WANTED TO STAY THERE>

I dont understand how other reviewers can give this hotel anything more then a terrible or poor.

This is one of the worst places you can stay in if you have paid for it or even free...

The rooms havent been updated since the 40s and they smell. We booked a luxury room with lake view and unless you are willing to spend all of you time looking out the window which is a decent view, the room itself is poisonous to look at.

What it lacked in style or character WASNT made up for by the staff either. They weren't really that helpful and lacked local knowledge. Although they weren't impolite or anything.

Breakfast: when the wife and I woke up from the terrible sleep that we had just had we were kind of looking forward to the breakfast. How wrong were our expectations I cannot begin to tell you.
I dont know how you can book sausages or an egg so that it tastes so bad. They provide you with a shot of orange juice and there are no refills. When asked for another option the lady just looked at us as if we had asked her to dance for us at 7 30 in the morning.
Food tasted terrible and I swear if my Dog was there with us he would have refused it too.

Over all definitely not recommended and would not be making the same mistake again. Anything is better then this place.
For the price you pay to stay here ( in off peak season) is far too much.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Mirza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eliothotel, Guest Relations Manager at Croit Anna Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 November 2011

Dear Mr Ahmad,

I note that you stayed at the Croit Anna Hotel in April and did not post your review until the end of November.

Whilst we appreciate constructive criticism, we feel that your review is completely unjustified. In the first place you did not book a “luxury room with lake view.” You booked a standard double room including breakfast, at a cost of £33 per person per night in an AA two star hotel. The hotel very kindly upgraded you to a loch view room free of charge.

The Croit Anna is refurbished annually and as the hotel was not built until the 1960’s the “40’s” décor is definitely incorrect. Leisureplex purchased the hotel 8 years ago and since then have completely rebuilt some rooms, refurbished all of the rooms, made structural improvements, and greatly improved the public areas at a cost of just under £1 million . The room you occupied was refurbished two years ago with a brand new bathroom, new furniture and carpet.

None of the bedrooms “smell” and if this was the case you should have reported this to the reception or requested a change of room. On 23rd November, the Operations Director for Leisureplex Hotels personally inspected the room you occupied and found it to be in excellent condition with no evidence of any bad odour. It is unfair of you to say nothing at the time of your stay and then to post a negative review some 7 months later.

The breakfast we offer consists of Fruit Juice, a choice of 6 Cereals, Porridge, Grapefruit or Prunes, followed by a Traditional British Breakfast consisting of Bacon , Choice of Eggs, Tomato, Fried Bread, Black Pudding and Baked Beans or Smoked Haddock with a Poached Egg, Kipper or Fresh Fruit. There is also an option for Vegetarians. As in any restaurant, if anything is not to your liking, it should be sent back to the kitchen and an alternative requested.

The AA inspector stayed at the hotel 10 days before you and awarded the Croit Anna a 71% Merit Score which is a very high score.

I see that your previous review was regarding a 3 star hotel which currently charges £105 per night. Perhaps you should only stay at 3 star hotels or above for future holidays.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (357)
There are newer reviews for Croit Anna Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 288 of 357 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

We booked the Croit Anna hotel when looking for somewhere fairly cheap to stay while visiting Fort William. It is mainly a coaching holiday hotel, but we were made to feel welcome even though we were not part of a coach party. The hotel is better than it looks from the outside. The rooms are warm, comfortable and clean, with everything you need from a basic hotel - nice bathroom, hot water, comfortable bed, TV, tea and coffee, kettle, hairdryer. Corridors, reception, bar and dining areas are dated and the bar has a leaking roof, but on the whole it is a warm, basic, comfortable hotel and perfect for what we were looking for - somewhere cheap to stay while on a walking holiday. Breakfast was good, with fast service. Staff were friendly. The hotel is in a good location, and is a good base for exploring, a short drive into Fort William and very handy for the hills and Ben Nevis. I would recommend this hotel if you want somewhere basic, cheap and warm to put your head down after a full day out on the hills and are not bothered about frills or luxury. If you are looking to spend time around the hotel and want modern hotel facilities, this is probably not the place for you.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SK74Bristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2011

It is always important to start with a positive; and the croit anna is nicely positioned overlooking the loch. The east european staff employed in the restaurant tried their best to serve the meals at the times allocated. Our room which ws at the front of the hotel, overlooked the loch and was always clean. However there were some negatives; the decor was decidedly dated; there were no phones in the room to make contact with reception; the meals were uninspiring and it appeared that the menus were the same in all leisureplex hotels and so there was no hint of scottishness; it is two and a half miles into the centre of fort william and the bus service only runs once an hour. Some of the rooms (ours included) are still single glazed and this can mean there is a fair amount of road noise. You also cannot even get a sandwich at lunchtimes unless you have ordered it the night before. There are some simple basic things that would not cost much money that the hotel could do to improve the stay of their guests.

Room Tip: choose a room at the front as they have a view; and ensure your room is double glazed. Avoid the roo...
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank phil b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2011

Although we enjoyed the holiday and went on all the included trips and one optional, felt the hotel was in need of refurbishment in some parts. Being in single rooms, on the first floor, at the back, the view was of foliage The bed was comfy though.. Best rooms are at the front on ground and first flooor level. The food was edible, similar to most coach trip hotels. Entertainment was good, some artists better than others. Only one night when none on. Good bar staff. Restaurant service good but sometimes more waiters/waitresses could have speeded up things. Reception staff very helpful. Trips were enjoyable though tiring, and our coach driver Brian very informative. Want to give special thanks to our waitress Patricia but spelt the Polish way! Some work must be done on the flat roof, as water was leaking though the ceiling in the dining room a few times onto people sat there, bins were placed under the said leaks, but maybe a new roof would be best solution! It gave us a laugh anyway! Fort William is a lovely place and easy to get to by bus from outside the hotel. The views from the hotel are lovely too.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucia1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2011

just back from holiday at croit anna great time hotel very friendly and clean. Bedrooms cleaned every day. good food friendly staff made to feel most welcome . will certainly stay at Croit anna hotel again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Ge0rdies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.5 km away
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel
#11 of 21 in Fort William
580 reviews
5.6 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
980 reviews
4.8 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#6 of 21 in Fort William
863 reviews
4.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,042 reviews
3.7 km away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Croit Anna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Croit Anna Hotel

Address: Achintore Road | Drimarben, Fort William PH33 6RR, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price Range: ₹ 5,886 - ₹ 9,137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Croit Anna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Croit Anna Hotel - Fort William [3 Alpha & AA Three Star] Situated on the shores of Loche Linnhe, three miles from the centre of Fort William, with spectacular views across the loch from all of the public rooms and most of the bedrooms, the Croit Anna offers a comfortable and friendly base in which to relax. 92 bedrooms with central heating and/or individual electric heating, bath or shower and WC. All rooms have tea/coffee making facilities, hair dryer and TV with radio channels. There is a panoramic lounge, two bars, terrace and entertainment most evenings. No lift but ground floor rooms available on request. Extensive car parking. A Leisureplex Hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Croit Anna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Croit Anna Fort William
Anna Croit Hotel
Hotel Croit Anna
Croit Anna Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing