We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Great location in Fort William” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alexandra Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Alexandra Hotel
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
96 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Great location in Fort William”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2012 via mobile

We arrived in a rain storm but that didn't dampen the staff's hospitality. Our room was rather compact for the two of us and two pieces of luggage you but very, very clean and neat. The lounges were inviting and cozy. The food was good...in fact, probably one of the better trad breakfats we had in our two weeks in Scotland
The hotel is very conveniently situated in Ft. william and our only regret was that it was on a Sunday so the majority of town was closed. Be sure to use the underground walkway to get to the train station though. We didn't and I am sure we aggravated a few local drivers by dodging across the road.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank StoneWiegman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

898 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    218
    369
    192
    78
    41
See reviews for
160
382
78
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Incline Village, Nevada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We stayed 3 nights before setting off on the Great Glen Way walk to Inverness
The staff was very accommodating the included Scottish breakfast delicious
The rooms are not large but very comfortable
The location is excellent in the center of town near all conveniences

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jpag007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auchterarder, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

This is a great hotel, in a great location. Short walk from the Loch, the train station and the main shopping area. Breakfasts are amazing, with every kind of food on offer from fresh fruit, nuts and yohurt to cooked local produce i.e. bacon and local sausages etc. Very comfortable beds and free Wi-fi available in the reception area. Staff very friendly and attentive. Overall a really good stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: If you get one of the bedrooms above the reception you can connect your computer to the hotel wi-fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary2610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
stoke on trent
Level Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

I probably reviewed this hotel before, cos we have stayed here in the past .. this time I thought it was noticeable how friendly and outgoing the staff were. I don't know if there have been some changes there, perhaps more training or other interventions but I thought it was a pleasure to interact with the staff in all parts of the hotel. Thanks.

I also overheard some American guests exclaiming at the need for refurbishement -- I think that showed a bit of a lack of understanding of the British / Scottish economy and what you can reasonably expect in this part of the wordl.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank suze58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

Stayed here in April 2012 a last minute stay due to a family illness however that aside I have to say that our stay was really comfortable. We arrived back late after being at the hospital most of the day and it was not a problem for the night porter to bring us drinks when needed and we had a nice little chat as well he was really nice.

We sat in the reception/lounge area with the real fire and it was really nice and cosy on a cold night to sit with family and have a chat.

The rooms themselves were really comfortable. Ok not "state of the art" like a travel lodge however they were clean and the shower although run from the bathroom tap at attached to the wall was better than my own one at home!

Breakfast was amazing. A really lovely breakfast buffet with more than plenty on offer and really friendly staff bringing toast and tea and coffee.

Overall a lovely stay here and would definitely recommend to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vici R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.4 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
4.3 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 501 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
BEST WESTERN Imperial Hotel
#16 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 636 reviews
1.4 km away
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
Ben Nevis Hotel & Leisure Club
#13 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
3.1 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alexandra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alexandra Hotel

Property: Alexandra Hotel
Address: Parade, Fort William PH33 6AZ, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price range (per night): ₹ 6,000 - ₹ 9,887
Hotel Class:3 star — Alexandra Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 93
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As Traditional Nineteenth-century Hotel, The Alex, as it is known locally, has been an iconic feature of Fort William for the past 125 years. Situated in the town centre the hotel is minutes away from the High Street, Bus and Train Station and Pier. With a welcoming staff team,good freshly made food and clean rooms, the Alexandra Hotel offers you a home from home experience with an old world charm ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Alexandra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alexandra Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing