We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (700)
Filter reviews
700 results
Traveller rating
185
288
134
59
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
288
134
59
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews national holidays shearings holiday driver steve shearings hotels evening entertainment shearings group coach trip self drive weekend break half board loch view buffet breakfast bus stop front facing meal times hotel staff a ground floor room
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 700 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We have just had a 5 day trip to the Caledonian hotel Fort William with Shearings. What a well organised trip it was. The driver Pat was excellent and kept us entertained and well informed.
We never saw our cases until we arrived at the hotel and back home. The interchange was easy to find your coach and run with military precision.
The hotel was nice, clean, friendly staff and the views overlooking the Loch were amazing.
Food was good with different choices each night.
The inclusive trips were brilliant and the scenery out of this world.
Thankyou Pat thr driver and Shearings staff for a brilliant holiday.

Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
Thank calandtom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bay Caledonian H, Assistant Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Calandtom for your lovely review, I am pleased to hear you enjoyed the views of Loch Linnhe.
Your kind comments will be passed to all the staff and to Pat your driver.

We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

As ever , it was the Shearings people team that made the holiday,Caledonian is perfectly organized with friendly hard working staff . A modern, renovated hotel with comfy beds, great sleep quality , great standard of rooms , housekeeping and cleanliness, well organised dining room and excellent entertainment and hardworking bar staff , pleasant efficient reception .

Location superb and a beautiful 40 minute walk towards the sunset was a highlight of the holiday on our last day.

The day trip scenery was pure treasure at every turn, Bonnie, Bonnie Scotland is indeed a joyful country to visit. Fort William plenty of shops and pubs , all you could wish for in a holiday and more.

Our driver, Stretton Steve made the long drive there and back easy despite challenging, rainy conditions on the way back over those wild and windy tops with s bends galore!

Thank you to all for all your hard work, this holiday was perfect.and much appreciated.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissJM25, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Jackie W for a lovely review , I will ensure all the staff and Stretton Steve get to hear your comments .
Many thanks hope to see you again soon.
Jane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We went on a shearings coach trip to Fort William and stayed at the Bay Caledonian hotel . Really enjoyed this holiday even though the journey was quite long it was well worth it. Hotel was clean and quite modern, friendly staff. Breakfast and evening meal was good and the entertainment was really enjoyable.. Fort William and surrounding areas were very picturesque and our coach driver Steve (Stretton) was very informative. Great time had.

Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank bk28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissJM25, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear bk28

Thanks for taking the time to post a review, its great to read you enjoyed your stay with us hope to see you again in the not too distant future.

Regards
Jane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room on the third floor was right opposite the door to all rooms and therefore a little noisy. The hotel was forty minutes walk from Fort William town centre, so there was nothing else to do in the area. This was therefore good if you like walking and enjoy getting some exercise, but not a great location. The staff were good enough but the food very average.

  • Stayed: November 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissJM25, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear David W

Thanks for taking the time to post a review. We are on the outskirts of Fort William the no 44 bus passes the hotel every 2 hours but as you say its a 40 minute walk to the town. Sorry to hear you though the food was average. We have some of the best scenery in the UK surrounding the hotel and fort William and yes its great for walkers.
Regards
Jane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2018

We stayed here from 26th October til 29th October and had a lovely time the food was very good and the room was recently refurbished with beautiful views over the loch. The only thing I would change is next time I would ask for a room with a bath , I really missed this as room just had a shower, albeit a decent sized one. I have to say though breakfast is buffet service and some people were so greedy I don't think I have seen plates piled so high with food it was disgusting , also there was a small fridge outside the dining room with yoghurts, people were definitely taking more than just one for breakfast, a cheap lunch? They had a system in the summer if you wanted a yoghurt you asked for one and it was brought to your table with the foil opened so you couldn't take it away, then there was plenty for everyone! All in all a really enjoyable break even the weather was spectacular. Lynda b

Room Tip: Loch view definitely best, although some rooms at the back have nice views of the forest
  • Stayed: October 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MissJM25, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Jim B
Thanks for taking the time to post a great review. Next time you book give the hotel a call and request a room with a bath .As to your comments about our Buffet breakfast we are making slight changes of how we do things going forward.
Thanks again
Jane
GM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews