We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bay Caledonian Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
skelmersdale
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2012

First appearances is that the hotel is a bit 'tired', having said that the service was excellent

Room Tip: top floor for the views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank terrySkelmersdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for your short but sweet review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

532 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    130
    219
    110
    48
    25
See reviews for
51
303
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (245)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
East Grinstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

I just got back from a 5 day trip with Shearings to this hotel.On arrival we were told they had one couple ill with Norovirus but they were in their room and the hotel had been thoroughly cleaned. During our stay my sister and 40 others caught the virus.One person was taken to hospital and we were confined to our room for days. There was no information and to say we felt isolated is an understatement. My sister was violently ill and very distressed, the hotel rooms were not cleaned properly, they should never have sent people into a hotel with Norovirus it was complete folly.The hotel was supposed to be closed for 2 weeks after we left but they are still advertising holidays there.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the refurbished rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
14 Thank Sheila W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. Firstly, I hope you sister is now fully recovered. Our hotel did suffer from an outbreak of the norovirus like many other places as seen in recent news reports. The main reason for outbreaks like this occurring is that people do not isolate themselves from others when they feel ill or that they think they are better when they are still spreading the virus, some do not even report they are ill at all. I am sorry you felt isolated in your room but all guests were provided with meals, water and extra towels as necessary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Hull
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2012

First appearances is that the hotel is a bit 'tired', having said that the service was excellent and friendly from reception to the restaurant. The room was comfortable, spacious and extremely clean. The food was excellent and the service in the restaurant was first class. The dining room is spacious and pleasant and there is a large lounge bar. There was no wifi available which was a little disappointing as most hotels now include that service.
I came with National Holidays and can thoroughly recommend the all inclusive package which was extremely good value for money.
The hotel is a good 45 minutes walk to the town - taxis cost around the £6 mark.
I would certainly use the hotel again.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Loch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank JohnHull73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 6 July 2012
It’s great to see you enjoyed your break at the Caledonian. I also think that our staff are first class, they enjoy their job and it shows in their attitudes. Thanks for the comments about the food, too. We do not have WIFI at the moment but we will look into this for the future. As you say you would use the hotel again, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2012

just back from a weekend self drive trip to this hotel. good views overlooking the loch. good food and service from staff. a long walk into fort william but worth the visit. a good tip is not to book shearing breaks too early as they discount the hotels nearer the time. i paid £35 extra booking too far in advance.

Room Tip: pay extra for a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
Thank you for your review. Comments like this make everyone feel appreciated for the job they do
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
warrington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2012

Just returned fom a 5 day break with Shearings.
I paid £84 extra for sole occupancy of a double room
with loch view which was worth every penny as the view
was to die for.
The room was clean bright and modern as was the bathroom
Evening meals were basic but adequate, Breakfast very good
with generous portions. Quick service and very pleasant staff
Some reviewers have complained that the hotel has a bad
smell but I can honestly say that I could detect no bad smell
whatsoever and neither could anyone else on our coach.
Unfortunately the hotel lacks a separate lounge area just
a large bar with lots of tables and chairs so there is nowhere
to relax in an armchair or sofa if you didn't want to go on the
trips out.
You get what you pay for and as the basic cost of this holiday
was only £139 it represented excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Loch view essential
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank tillytops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 1 May 2012
I’m pleased you found your holiday to be great value and enjoyable. Thank you for the good comments on the food and especially the staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#8 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 757 reviews
6.6 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 498 reviews
3.7 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
8.0 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#1 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Property: Bay Caledonian Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price range (per night): ₹ 3,845 - ₹ 11,209
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing