We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a great time”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bay Caledonian Hotel
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Hartlepool
Level Contributor
47 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Had a great time”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We (husband and I in our early 60's) stayed at this hotel in February 2012 for a Monday to Friday break with Shearings holidays. Arrived late (8pm) and the meal we had straight away was as if it was freshly cooked and was ample and tasty. We enjoyed all our evening meals. Our room on the fourth floor, which we checked out after a couple of drinks on our AI package was just what we needed. No flat screen TV but who wants to watch TV when we were provided with three good nights very good entertainment and one night, not bad. Lovely clean sheets, comfy twin beds, bath, shower tea and coffee. The breakfast every morning was served to us by excellent waiting staff and was very good. The AI bar was excellent and only a bit of a wait when it got to near 10:30pm when the AI ended. The hotel is about two miles from the centre of Fort William and we shared a taxi with another couple for £5 each way. Bus was £1.75 each so taxi was cheaper. Lift broke on the Tuesday and because of my difficulties with walking and stairs they found me a room on a lower floor and offered to move our belongings. I cant fault any of the staff and they made our break.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joyce49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for all your positive comments about your recent stay with us at the Caledonian Hotel. It is great to see you had a good time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    131
    223
    111
    49
    25
See reviews for
52
307
37
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (251)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Blyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

First thing you notice when entering hotel is the smell. We've seen reviews mentioning a damp smell but it seemed more like drains to us. It was very noticeable in our corridor (floor 2), and in the lounge, sometimes entering the restaurant. Definitely a problem with damp as well as our bathroom had loads of black patches on the ceiling. The room was otherwise fine and the food good, staff friendly and the hotel in a good location opposite the loch. Could be a really nice hotel if these problems were sorted.

Room Tip: Back rooms face the car park only.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank growlermike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 28 March 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. The issue with the smell on entering the building has been rectified. I am pleased you found our staff friendly and the food good. We are indeed in a lovely spot opposite Loch Linnhe. Once again thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

lincolnshire
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

stayed at the caledonian on a shearings 5 day break the whole place smells very damp stayed there 2 years ago has gone down hill since then staff very good about time shearings gave it a makeover

Room Tip: ask to view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lincsclan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your recent stay. I'm sorry your holiday was marred by the smell of damp during your stay. The reason for this smell has been found and is in the process of being rectified.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BURNLEY
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I have just spent a 4 day Shearings new years eve break at the Caledonian with my wife and
two friends,The hotel is in a good position facing Loch Linnhe, The staff made us very welcome on arriving check in was smooth, The room we were allocated (311) was facing the back of the hotel was very clean, in the bathroom there was a good shower over the bath with plenty of hot water,In the bedroom there was comfortable bed also a flat screen television with, a nice suprise two bottles of wine and a bowl of fruit on the dressing table,
Dining room service was good with a varied menu including vegetarian, Entertainment in the
evenings was good,Bar staff worked hard, special thanks to Christophe for the cocktails,
I would recommend this well managed and clean hotel to anyone.

Well managed by Kunal Jhavar and Murdina Maciver.

Last of all the coach driver Dominic for safe journey and a interesting history of Scotland.

Room Tip: Good view Loch Linnhe from the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank THORNEYBurnley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
I'm glad you had a great stay at New Year. Thanks for the great comments on your bedroom and the food. I will pass your thanks onto Christophe regarding the cocktails. Have a good 2012.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire england
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2012

Had a great 5 days at this hotel with shearings.The staff were very helpful,and the food was very good for this type of break.The bedrooms were clean and serviced to a good standard.The entertaiment was average but everyone really enjoyed the scotch guy in a kilt,,he was fantastic.Got everybody joining in with him.The trips we took to Mallaig and Fort Augustus were excellant.
The variable meal times were good, as with other coach companys you have to be at the dining room on the dot and rush your breakfeast to be on time for the trips.
The bar staff were excellant and being inclusive they were kept very busy as you could imagine.The glass of wine at meal time was a very good idea,just that little touch to add to your enjoyment.
A great 5 day break and would certainly return to this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank annemalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_cal, General Manager at Bay Caledonian Hotel, responded to this review, 5 February 2012
I'm pleased you found your holiday to be an enjoyable one. Thanks for the great comments about the staff, especially the bar guys, they are kept very busy during the all inclusive bar. I will pass your regards onto Ronnie, your kilted entertainer, and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
4.2 km away
Premier Inn Fort William Hotel
0.3 km away
Clan Macduff Hotel
Clan Macduff Hotel
#7 of 21 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 770 reviews
4.4 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 960 reviews
7.9 km away
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
Inverlochy Castle Hotel
#2 of 21 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 532 reviews
6.6 km away
The Moorings Hotel
The Moorings Hotel
#1 of 1 in Banavie
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bay Caledonian Hotel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bay Caledonian Hotel

Property: Bay Caledonian Hotel
Address: Achintore Road, Fort William PH33 6RW, Scotland
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 21 Hotels in Fort William
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,034 - ₹ 11,224
Hotel Class:3 star — Bay Caledonian Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 82
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated directly opposite Loch Linnhe, you can admire the fantastic views of the beautiful surrounding wooded hills and mountains from this hotel. Along with the dining room and pleasant lounge area, all front facing rooms offer super views of the breathtaking Loch Linnhe. The comfortable lounge and ballroom host entertainment most nights, often with a distinct Scottish flavour which is perfect for unwinding after a day’s sightseeing or exploring. A number of rooms have been recently refurbished to increase the capacity at this popular hotel and there is a convenient lift that serves all floors. At nine miles long and over a mile wide and with Ben Nevis towering above, Loch Linnhe is one of Scotland’s natural treasures. The hotel is also just two miles south of the town centre of Fort William, known as the outdoor capital of Britain, and here you can explore the many small and interesting shops and museums. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bay Caledonian Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caledonian Fort William
Caledonian Hotel Fort William
Fort William Caledonian Hotel
Bay Caledonian Hotel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing