We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best!”
Review of Rhu Mhor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhu Mhor
Ranked #50 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 October 2011

A fantastic way to end our walk of the West Highland Way. We arrived soaking wet and Ian, our host along with his mum, insisted that we left all our wet clothes and boots where we stood, which was in one of the lounges, so he could take them to dry. This was immediately followed by tea and biscuits and a friendly, funny and informative welcome chat from Ian. Everything that followed was perfect. Rhu Mhor in every sense has real character. We were even welcome to use the comfortable, warm TV lounge in late afternoon and early evening while waiting for the overnight sleeper to Euston, well after we had checked out - a service way beyond the call of duty. A huge thank-you to Ian and his mum.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank RichardMary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for Rhu Mhor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 77 of 88 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2011

Staying with Rhu Mhor was a highlight of our trip to Scotland. Ian and his mom are welcoming, informative , and a lot of fun. The B&B is spotless. The food is excellent. The location is ideal, especially if you're on foot. The hosts are extremely walker friendly, and they even tolerated us tandem cyclists ;-) We stayed at the beginning and end of our trip, heck, I'm ready to go back !
Now if Ian would set up a wireless Internet system his place would be absolutely perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Pikiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2011

This was our best accommodation in Scotland. Best people we ever met there. Everything is perfect - rooms, breakfast, manners...

Room Tip: Everything is so perfect !
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomáš P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Rhu Mhor for 3 nights and didn't want to leave.
Our room was lovely and spacious, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate & cookies each day.
The baths were clean and rewarding after a long day's walk.
The breakfast (either cooked or continental) was simply delicious! Ian was a great host - funny, informative and all around great. They even baked sugar-free scones especially for our diabetic needs.
To sum up, like the heading says - this is THE BEST place to stay in the Fort William area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank liormk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Rhu Mhor the first time we did the West Highland Way in 2008, and have spent so much time thinking about Margaret's homemade potato and soda scones that we had to go back. Hence, we ended up at Rhu Mhor while on our honeymoon last month.

Walking into Rhu Mhor is like visiting your granny. It's comfortable, welcoming and there are no pretensions. Ian and Margaret are the perfect hosts and you will find when you go for your breakfast that Ian is genuinely interested in his guests. He is also ready with some quips ("Three Chimneys, oh no, I'm an egg and chips man" for example), and is never seen by his guests wearing anything but his kilt.

Margaret and Ian are eager to please and nothing is any bother - you know they mean this. We requested the much- dreamed of soda scones and got some with our delicious breakfast.

Rooms are basic and there are no TVs, but if you're the sort of person that goes on holiday to watch TV you probably shouldn't be staying here anyway. More importantly, the rooms are spotlessly clean - Ian inspects them after cleaning.

For a genuinely Scottish welcome, stay at Rhu Mhor. You will feel like a welcome guest instead of the product of a sausage factory, like some of the places on the West Highland Way that feel you should be grateful to stay with them. One warning though, you need to be in by midnight and there are no exceptions. In Fort William though, I'd be surprised if you can find anything to keep you out past midnight!

Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank RubberduckyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.4 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
739 reviews
0.6 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
575 reviews
0.3 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#14 of 21 in Fort William
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
6 Caberfeidh
6 Caberfeidh
#54 of 111 in Fort William
105 reviews
0.9 km away
Ben Nevis Guest House
Ben Nevis Guest House
#18 of 111 in Fort William
179 reviews
0.3 km away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu Mhor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
200
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu Mhor

Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rhu Mhor Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing