We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place we stayed in scotland! Charming, friendly & helpful”
Review of Rhu Mhor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Fort William
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rhu Mhor
Ranked #51 of 111 Fort William B&B and Inns
Hatch, Utah
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best place we stayed in scotland! Charming, friendly & helpful”
Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed at the Rhu Mhor for 3 nights and didn't want to leave.
Our room was lovely and spacious, with tea, coffee, hot chocolate & cookies each day.
The baths were clean and rewarding after a long day's walk.
The breakfast (either cooked or continental) was simply delicious! Ian was a great host - funny, informative and all around great. They even baked sugar-free scones especially for our diabetic needs.
To sum up, like the heading says - this is THE BEST place to stay in the Fort William area.
Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liormk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    23
    1
    3
    0
See reviews for
16
38
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Aberdeen
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at Rhu Mhor the first time we did the West Highland Way in 2008, and have spent so much time thinking about Margaret's homemade potato and soda scones that we had to go back. Hence, we ended up at Rhu Mhor while on our honeymoon last month.

Walking into Rhu Mhor is like visiting your granny. It's comfortable, welcoming and there are no pretensions. Ian and Margaret are the perfect hosts and you will find when you go for your breakfast that Ian is genuinely interested in his guests. He is also ready with some quips ("Three Chimneys, oh no, I'm an egg and chips man" for example), and is never seen by his guests wearing anything but his kilt.

Margaret and Ian are eager to please and nothing is any bother - you know they mean this. We requested the much- dreamed of soda scones and got some with our delicious breakfast.

Rooms are basic and there are no TVs, but if you're the sort of person that goes on holiday to watch TV you probably shouldn't be staying here anyway. More importantly, the rooms are spotlessly clean - Ian inspects them after cleaning.

For a genuinely Scottish welcome, stay at Rhu Mhor. You will feel like a welcome guest instead of the product of a sausage factory, like some of the places on the West Highland Way that feel you should be grateful to stay with them. One warning though, you need to be in by midnight and there are no exceptions. In Fort William though, I'd be surprised if you can find anything to keep you out past midnight!

Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank RubberduckyAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2011

The perfect way to end the way! Ian is a charming host and was very helpful organising taxi
rides for weary feet! Very wet waterproofs were whisked away and appeared the following
morning dry! The rooms were very comfortable with a lovely hot shower. Breakfast was great
we opted for a continental - a variety of fruit and lovely home made scones and cheese - lots of it! Two relaxing lounges and soggy walking attire not a problem in either of them!
Easy on the pocket as well! A wonderful stay!

Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Mcfrog_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, UK
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2010

The best place we stayed along the West Highland Way, and a wonderful end to the walk. What a relief to get away from the flower fairies and bossy notices we'd encountered in other B&Bs and arrive at restful Rhu Mhor!

The room was tranquil and spacious with comfortable beds and a bathroom you could turn round in. The shower wasn't brilliant, but that's the worst I can say about it. Loved the fact that there was no television in the room, but a selection of books.

It's that kind of place - faintly quirky, but charming. Ian manages to be amusing without being the slightest bit pushy or ingratiating - a hard trick to pull off - and the breakfast, cooked by Mrs McPherson, was absolutely delicious. It's worth going just for the home made scones. There are visitors' books going back to the 1940s, and clearly we weren't the only ones who found it a great place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clearhorizons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2010

Ian made us very welcome, had a very clean comfortable room, had tea and bisuits served to us in the lounge at 10pm, then had an amazing breakfast the following morning with homemade scones. Great start to a weeks walking holiday.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jinty24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
0.6 km away
Nevis Bank Inn
Nevis Bank Inn
#4 of 21 in Fort William
551 reviews
0.2 km away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#10 of 21 in Fort William
1,027 reviews
0.7 km away
Travelodge Fort William
Travelodge Fort William
#9 of 21 in Fort William
493 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Imperial Hotel
Imperial Hotel
#18 of 21 in Fort William
726 reviews
0.3 km away
MacLean Guest House
MacLean Guest House
#13 of 111 in Fort William
204 reviews
1.0 km away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#14 of 111 in Fort William
118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rhu Mhor? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu Mhor

Property: Rhu Mhor
Address: Alma Road, Fort William PH33 6BP, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 111 B&Bs / Inns in Fort William
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Rhu Mhor Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing