We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“rude and awful people and smelly place”

The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
edinghburgh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“rude and awful people and smelly place”
Reviewed 4 November 2011

well i have just read the reviews and thought oh my lord how true they are the people who own this place they call a bunkhouse are awful i have never in my life been talked to such rudness and arrogrant in my life this place is so run down the place is a mess when you pay for somewhere to stay it should be at least clean and nice staff but this place is awful the showerswasnt working probly the bed covers were full of stains and may i just add my friends bed had what looked like pee stains and pubic hair in there so he had to sleep on the floor we told the cleaner the next morning who just looked at us as if we were the ones in the wrong and just said to us well its nothing to do with me the other review i read that there was pans under the toilets well there is pans under the toilets and the furniture has got holes in and the sofa in blacksmiths ive thrown better looking things out in skips i would seriously recommend not staying here this place is dirty unkemp and the owners and staff are just basically there to take your money but i admit fortwilliam is a lovely place BUT I WILL DEFINTLY NOT BE STAYING AT THIS BUNKHOUSE AGAIN...............

Room Tip: just dont even stay in this place its a exprience i will not forget and a bad one at that
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lynette w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpach12, Owner at The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
You do not say when you arrived to stay with us in October / November so it is difficult to for us to factually trace this back. Neither can we find a record of anyone with your name staying with us.

There is no way that the bedding was covered in stains or hairs - the bedding is changed and freshly laundered after each client leaves. You did not mention any of this directly to us - our Polish cleaner did not relay this to us - which normally she would have done. You did not say that anyone had slept on the floor. Everyone is told to contact us if there is a problem - we are only ever a couple of minutes away.You could have called us abou the shower if there was any problem. You chose not to to do this.
As it happens we had only just had an independent inspection which in no way reflects the claims you made about our property.
There are not pans under the toilets. We do have some plastic containers under some of the metal fittings because of condensation drips - especially in cold weather when all the heat is turned up.

Given some of the ongoing comments we have from other clients elsewhere your assessment of the accommodation just does not stack up.

We are never rude or arrogant - we cannot afford to be. We do have a high level of repeat business so we cannot be that bad!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50

31 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    7
    5
    3
    10
See reviews for
2
1
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2011

me and my friends stayed here we were greeted by the owner john cutherbertson he was rude and total ignorant and the staffwell they were just as bad neways after a long slog up ben nevis we got back and the showers were shocking hardley any water came out and when we did find some one to complain to all we got was theres nothing wrong with them and the toilets oh my dear lord they were filfthy there was pans under the toilets collecting water what had been dripping and the furntuire was mankie and the bedding had stains on and the cleaner well she wasnt helpful at all last year i came here and there was another cleaner geordie girl who was lovely and friendly helped you out the place was spotless when she was there now the place stinks of old forgies home i will defo not be staying here again needs health and saftey to visit

Room Tip: just do not go here its awful
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank emma s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpach12, Owner at The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
You do not say when you actually stayed with us or which property you stayed in.

It is unfortunate that you felt that John and I were rude or arrogant. This is certainly not our intention. You perhaps mis understood our atttitude after a hard day on hill.
If you did let us know that there was something wrong with the showers then this would have been attended to as soon as practical. Occassionally clients may say that the showers do not work - mostly this si becaude they are not being operated properly. The showers and toilets are throughly cleaned each day after each booking. It is more than likely that other clients had used the shower rooms before your arrival - we simply cannot clean the showers / toilets after every use.

We do not have pans under the toilets but we do occassionally have plastic containers under the metal fittlings to catch any condensation drips - which can happen when there is colder weather and and all the heat is turned up.

We cannot see how there could be stains on the bedding as this freshly changed and laundered after each booking.

You may have misunderstood our cleaner as unhelpful - her English was limited and she was very reliable. Certainly one of the bets we have had over a number of years.

Regretfully you comments simply do not stack up with independent comments we receive from clients elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Fort William hotels

Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2011

This isnt the worse place to stay in the world. it was reasonably clean and was the right kind of place if youre gonna be dragging in your mucky boots but just be prepared to meet the two rudest people on the planet. dont expect a warm welcome from these two! they are so so so very strange and rude. they give off the vibe that they instantly hate you and that you are severely inconveniencing their lives by your existence! we used the smiddy bunkhouse for a night's stay after Ben Nevis, and it was ideal for that purpose. use of the kitchen, etc was really handy. just dont expect the owners to be anything but rude and unappreciative of your custom!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The other reviews seem a little harsh, so I thought I would offer my experience.

At the end of the day, this is a bunkhouse, so don't expect the Hilton. It is low cost accommodation, with quite a few bunks crammed into each dorm. The bedding is clean, the bathroom is disappointing, with the kitchen adequate for us.

Our only mistake was not checking that the dorm would be shared with others and we had the unfortunate experience of a work excursion partying until 5am, not accepting that we all had a right to a decent night's sleep. The next night was a joy though, with some nice foreign compatriots to share with.

We didn't have any issues finding the office. Let's face it, if you can't find it, don't bother thinking about climbing Ben Nevis....

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Redspecial2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2011

Lazy staff with vague directions to room resulting in us having both the wrong key and wrong door- unknown to us!

4 am in the morning we were greeted by a staff member who demanded we leave immediately.fair enough its happened but there are far nicer ways to solve the problem than shouting your head off at 4am !

In the morning she declared this has never happened in 30 years and that it was entirely out fault. frankly with their attitude im surprised they get any repeat custom at all! No wonder shes jaded after 30 years of being that grumpy though

Prior to this i sat on the bed in my room and immediately went through it ! The spars collapsed ( im 12 stone) the toilet and showers were not clean and the list of rules on the walls prohibited any form of fun or activity !

Plus sides - linen was clean and there was a big car park for your car ....

Wouldnt suggest you stay here even if its the only place left !

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Trail_rat1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpach12, Owner at The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review, 17 January 2012
We will deal with your comments on a factual basis.

It was most unfortunate that your group could not follow very clear directions to access your hostel accommodation when you arrived late at night. We agreed to leave a key for your group and it was very clearly explained in several telephone calls which accommodation your party had been allocated. I made it very clear that your party was not to go to any other accommodation in the complex - particularly as you were arriving late after stopping off for food and the pub. I specifically asked that if there were any problems then you were to telephone us at any time. It appears that for some inexplicable reason the key I left for you did not work (when I tried it next morning the key worked prefectly well!!)

Instead of calling me as requested you went round the accommodation and found a key I had agreed and arranged to leave for another group arriving from Ireland at about 3.30 am. By this time you had quite unilaterally taken occupation of one of our pre-booked apartments for other clients. We did not wake you up - the other party did. We assume that you refused to vacate their acoomodation and that is why they called us. THEREFORE your party did not stay in our hostel or bunkhouse any way!! I was awoken at 4am by the group from Ireland who could not get into their apartment accommodation because you were sleeping in their beds. We did not demand that you vacate the apartment. In fact we left you in the apartment and found beds elsewhere for the other group. Yes - I was understandably grumpy in the circumstances and cross given the attempts made to accommodate your late arrival but in no way were you turfed out of the accommodation in the middle of the night.

Your explanation - from the female I had given arrival information to - was that she had been confused.

In no way was the bed broken or the accommodation unclean in any way before your arrival. The group whose accommodation you took over did not complain or even ask for a refund. They did not complain about a broken bed. You did not tell us that you had broken a bed.
No-one in your group complained about the apartment you stayed in or offered an apology to us for the avoidable inconvenience you caused us and others.


We do not have rules on the walls - we do have information for the benefit of all our customers. It is unfortuneaate that your party chose to take this information in the wrong way.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fort William hotels
2.9 km away
Bank Street Lodge
Bank Street Lodge
#17 of 21 in Fort William
3.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
1.6 km away
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
Chase The Wild Goose Hostel
#9 of 29 in Fort William
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
0.7 km away
Kilmalyn Guest House
Kilmalyn Guest House
#66 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 37 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.2 km away
Corran Bunkhouse
Corran Bunkhouse
#2 of 29 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
0.4 km away
Mansefield Guest House
Mansefield Guest House
#24 of 111 in Fort William
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
3.2 km away
The Brevins Guest House
The Brevins Guest House
#15 of 111 in Fort William
5.0 of 5 bubbles 101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Turn Your Opinions into Points!
Turn your opinions into JPMiles
Turn your opinions into PAYBACK Points
*You can enroll in only one programme at a time to earn rewards for reviews.
JPMiles / PAYBACK
50
JPMiles / Payback Arrow
Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel

Property: The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel
Address: Station Road, Fort William PH33 7JH, Scotland
Region: United Kingdom > Scotland > Scottish Highlands > Lochaber > Fort William
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 29 Speciality Lodging in Fort William
Price range (per night): ₹ 5,120 - ₹ 8,554
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Smiddy Bunkhouse & Blacksmiths Backpackers Hostel Fort William, Scotland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing